spouse understanding partner's extra marital affair

Hi all,

so i was watching the film Zeher yesterday..Emran Hashmi film.

For those who don’t the story…

In a small town in Goa steeped in azure seas and sultry secrets, the chief of local police station, Siddharth (Emran Hashmi) finds himself caught in the eye of a storm…and about to get blown away.
Siddharth, who is going through a divorce with his wife, Sonia (Shamita Shetty) whom he still loves, finds himself involved with a local married woman named Anna (Udita Goswami). Unable to cope with the pressures of his wife’s success who is in the special police force, he continues his secret and dangerous relationship with Anna.
Things get even more complicated when Siddharth realizes that Anna’s husband, Shawn (Sameer Kochhar) is a wife beater and Anna is dying from cancer. Being a good soul, Siddharth does not have it in him to abandon this woman who seems to have given him some affection in recent times.
In the heat of the moment, Siddharth takes an irrational decision to give Anna the money he recovered in a drug raid, for her medication in a final effort to save her. Things are not what they seem since Anna dies in a fire that very night. Siddharth now races to uncover a murky tail of drug money, murder and deceit, because all the evidences points to him.
With his wife heading the case, Siddharth is now in a race against time to find out the real truth behind Anna’s murder, recover the drug money and also win his wife’s love back.
After a bunch of wild goose chases, Siddharth finds out that Anna is very much alive and was actually controlling Shawn and Siddharth in the whole plot for getting the Insurance money. Siddharth finds this in just nick of time and while confronting Anna with the truth, Anna points a gun at him. In the scuffle that follows, Sonia shoots Anna and she provides the alibi for him stating that Anna’s death was an accident.
*The movie ends with Siddharth recovering the lost drug money and his wife.

so in the film at one point, siddarth’s friend tell him to confess the afair to his wife..siddarth says how can he say it to his wife she wont undersdtand…so the friend replied…

**woh tumhari biwi hai..agar woh tumahre takleef ko nahi samjehgi to kaun samjhega

**so this made me think! really, do guys really expect wife to understand an extra marial affair and help you when you are in trouble due to the affair?
how easily it was assumed in the film that the wife would understand and help him rather than sulk in..

in real life, ignoring the murder scenario and police involvment..would you say wives are better at undertsanding the affairs and moving on?

have your say!

spouse understanding partner's extra marital affair

I don't think so..
I can't seem to get past the exaggerated movie line but depending on a persons circumstances, I would think most would not be able to move past a cheating situation. I think factors in a person life would affect whether they chose to forgive or leave.

Re: spouse understanding partner's extra marital affair

Bollywood and most other forms of media perpetuates the stereotype that a good woman needs to forgive and forget while men have no such pressure.

A girl I know divorced her husband for having an affair and she got so much flak for having no sabr, not thinking about her baby daughter, not giving her husband time to change but you can bet that all the people who were siding with her husband would have adviced her husband to throw her out of there even had been a single rumour against her.

So it's just sexism, nothing more.

an entitled, selfish douche bag of a man would, yes.

^ and yes what Strange One said. sexism.

Trying to relate Bollywood movie to real life eh? I hope you don't follow some of the plots...kabhi try nahi kerna bhai...

I don't think many women will be understanding after learning that you have had an affair with another woman.

Re: spouse understanding partner’s extra marital affair

LOLZ!!! How many men would help their cheater-wife “understand” the affair and to help her “cope” through this praablum of hers? :chai:

Wha.. what is going on..

Too much bollywood naat good faar mind.

Re: spouse understanding partner’s extra marital affair

Which takleef?

The one he felt when having an affair?

Of course any sane lady will help* him out :chai:
might not be the help you were referring to

I am gonna try this today when I reach home. I have script ready

"Janu tum samjhti keyun nahi ho. Thora understand karoo. Anila meri zarorat nahi, meri majboori hai. No one in the world understands me better than you. I hope tum iss baat ko bhi samjhoo gi. Aur please yee duppata sar sai leya karoo."

and I'll let you know about her reaction tomorrow.

Lol I understand the intent is serious

But really using a sleazy movie as an example ????

i once heard this song "teri nani mari to mei kya karoon" and this thread reminded me of it.

I still can't get past how stupid the storyline is... How does billy sell this crap???

Bolly *@@ spell check

I know a woman that forgave her husband for going after another woman right in the beginning of their marriage. I give faithfulness and fidelity way too much importance to be able to understand a woman forgiving that. We ain't no saints to be able to handle it and adjust to life after that. I'm guessing she would see the other woman as the devil woman even if she was the one that called him out to the wife and she would never see her precious little angelic husband (scumbag squared) as the one that didn't respect the bond of marriage and the vows that were taken.

The infidelity would eat me up from inside. I would be completely dead to the person that did it and whatever love I might have felt would die with the infidelity.

sidenote: don't watch bollywood movies or atleast see them as fantasy and far from reality

What an idiotic idea!

Guys don't think about their wives feelings or opinions when they cheat. It's like a invisible blindfold is put on their eyes and then no repercussions are thought of prior to the affair. It happens in a dizzying frenzy of carnal lust. I don't think it makes a difference even after one is confronted about the affair. They'd probably lie about it and pretend their all fine but back in the recesses of the mind there occurs more dubious plans to cheat and find "more" love. I guess that's just how the brain functions.

"Hope this answers the sister's question"..

hehe ..yes :)

if i hadnt watch that scene...i would have thought of it lol

makes me think how the directors put this line as such an obvious thing to say.

the film..or my post?