Spoon Culture and Copy Cats

Observed some people trying to copy western culture and eating even Roti with fork :bummer:

One of colleague was having chicken salan with roti and there was no need to use fork, but he kept on moving boti with fork to dip niwala in saalan :hoonh: (No, I don’t stare people while they eat. Its just something abnormal that got my attention)

I think zindagi ka maza zindagi ko 5 ungliyon se chakhne main hai. Whats your views on this issue?

Re: Spoon Culture and Copy Cats

well it really depends on each person’s likes and dislikes.
I used to like eating with hands uptil abt 2 yrs bk i think,but now i prefer spoon.It started when i had to eat in the car while goign from one workplace to the next , i had lil time to eat n i had to eat car mai , so hand was impossible.It became a habit.
Now when i eat salan roti or daal roti , i break roti in small pcs , pour lots of salan/daal over it…mix it with spoon/fork and eat it.My parents and siblings get annoyed , but i like it tht way.
Ofcourse i eat with hands at times too , but i prefer with spoon/fork.

how do you break roti into pieces? with hands or knife? Its considered bad in some cultures to cut roti with knife

i break it hath se for salan or daal.

oh yes..i heard abt tht too and i donno why is it so ..elders used to tell us not to cut roti or any form of it with knife ,but some forms of roti are like maybe too big and you have to cut it for putting in the hotpot , or cut the bun into half etc etc.
I dont understand teh logic of not using knife , it will look hideous if done with hand.

Eating salan with a spoon just doesn't sound right. :)

I observed that people now eat Pizza without using knife.

using fork to sideline aaloo to dip niwala in saalan is more odd :)

but i thought pizza was supposed to be eaten without knife :bummer: just pick up the slice ,take it upto your mouth and bite :smiley:

well , if the roti is already broken and soaken wet in salan , its actually pretty easy and yummier to eat , cuz you get more salan with each niwala :smiley:

How about eating fruits like watermelon, mango and even banana using fork?

You mean after cutting it in pieces? That's fine.

oh oh :bummer:

'cuz im not a mango fan my grandad , dad and mum cut mango in tiny pcs and give me to eat , with fork .Even watermelon , cut into small pcs and i eat with a toothpick or fork.
Haan banana normally khati hoon :smiley:

But one eat these with fork, etc consider others paindoo who use their hands to eat these fruits

ofcourse not :nahi:

How can you not be a Mango fan? :smack2:

I eat pieces with fork, but the whole thing with my hands. So am I a Half-Paindoo? :slight_smile:

You are in transition phase :)

everyone says that to me , and keeps reminding of what a blessing i’m missing on 'cuz i dont like mango :frowning:

half paindo :hehe:

its really a personal choice i feel.One should do what one is comfortable in as long as he/she isnt invading another person's rights.

Right, but coming to next aspect of the discussion this eating with spoon and forks is totally a non-desi thing. Go to any temple and you observe people getting Parsad in hands and eating that with hands. But we find elite class of desis disliking practice of eating with hands and calling it unhygienic.

nothing unhygenic about it.
In all the parties i attend , be it desis or arabs , I see some ppl using hands to eat and some using spoons.
As i said its a personal choice and ppl who look down on others 'cuz they eat with hands or eat with spoon (yes ppl look down at you for that too) are just ppl who need excuses to feel superior.

I think spoon users are looked down (in Desi society) because they do something against the already accepted norms of that society and I don't agree to this notion too.