shaadiyon mein sirf karchay hi karchay hotay hain! lol
ya........ true say......... but wohi baat hai na...... jitna gurr dalo gaye utna meetha hoga....... but then that meetha can upset ur digestive system!!!.......... so utna karo jitna munasib ho.........
Re: Split debate-Spending thousands on a wedding dress
heheh my dad always says miyani ravi say har kaam karo i think there should be budget for everything one can go above a lil but not too muchand i think everyone knows going above and beyond so why not leave the decision upto the individual . sometimes most of us make mistakes and learn and sometimes we learn from others ppls deeds hehe
these days all the bid designers are chrging a phenomenal price for everything and as long as there are ppl willing to pay them teh price they ewant they will be charging :)
With all this debate of spending or not spending on a wedding dress, here are some tips I found for buying a desi wedding outfit ( any kind):
Fix a budget and stick to it. If you keep looking you will definitely find something within the limit you have set yourself. (No price is right or wrong as it, indeed, is your big day but please, stick to limit.)
If you choose to have a designer/consultant. Spend time with him/her so that he/she knows exactly what you have in mind.
Check the fabric as it is sometimes ignored due to the heavy embroidery.
Ensure that the lehenga has a strong comfortable lining, which is important as it upholds the weight of the garment. The lining could be of satin or any soft fabric that sits gently and falls well. Inexpensive lehengas tend to be unlined.
Turn the lehenga inside out to check if the seams are well finished and that the waistband can carry the weight of the heavy embroidery. This is essential in order to avoid an embarrassing wardrobe malfunction on the day!
Make sure that the zardosi or beadwork does not prick or hurt your skin.
Often the shirt has embroidery under the arms, which can be uncomfortable to wear.
Lastly, check that the beadwork is well stitched into the fabric so that it doesn’t fall off easily.
i agree with u mahismart on all the points but thankGod most of the good designers do focus on all these but like if u know and u mention this to them so theyre more careful because they know that they cant get with danda work.
i guess Limit is the most important things always one shoudl stick to it or atleast try
If you live in the US and dont know much about kapra and kaam, its difficult to understand whether what you're getting is quality or not. Up until a few weeks ago, I didnt know there was such a thing called Fake Jamawar! I saw it compared to the real thing and sure enough it was fake.
I have a budget that Im working with and Im not going over that no matter what, lol. I dont want to spend soooo much on this wedding that I compromise other goals I have set for myself. We've had several weddings in the family already so Ive gotten really good with bargaining and finding deals. If you use the same vendors repeatedly, they cut you slack and take care of you.
Im having it at the family hall and the owner knows us now. The day before my event, there is another wedding and they're paying for these beautiful chairs that are otherwise $20/chair to rent. Im getting them for free because all he has to do is leave them out on additional day! Just an example of how to finagle you way into a good deal.
Getting back to the topic: Yes, checking the material is important for a long lasting outfit that gives and gives.
Make sure the stones are not pasted on...they have to be sewn on and check all sides of the sharara/gharara to see if the glue they use to paste stones on has spread and ruined the outfit. That happens a lot and we dont notice because we like the overall effect.
Also look for the wearability. Im not a big fan of buying something that just sits there after being worn only once. For all that money, I want flawless work that I can show off again and again. But thats just me. Since I dont wear shararas/ghararas generally to events Im not really focusing on that part of it too much. Im concentrating my kaam on the shirt and dupatta. All Im hoping for now is that it turns out alright. Inshallah!
Excellent advice and suggestions mahismart **and **PSquared.
The thing I hate about debating is that you usually can't change anyone's mind, and people only get entrenched into their initial beliefs. You girls did a great job in turning this into constructive conversation!!
shc i agree with u with teh way psquared has said all of this it makes sense instantly :)
Psquared so when is the big day? ure right if u do research it helps u out along way.
my best friend just got married a while ago and she had a very limited budget so we also here in khi did alot of research and all went to the right stage decor, favours to the right designers and mashallah on off kartay howay on weddings u do tend to spend a lil more but at teh same time research takes u a long long way in the process
Thank you girls!
I come from a family of 4 sisters...so you can imagine my poor father and his bank account after each wedding! Through my sisters and family, Ive collected a lot of stuff over the years that we have stored in the garage now as "wedding and mehndi stuff"...lol. These things include large trays for clothes, decorative bowls and plates for mehndi, mithai trays, decorations I bought during this past Christmas sale, stage decor, etc. I plan on adding to it as time goes on for other girls to be able to use. The first wedding in the family cost us an arm and a leg because we didnt know what we were doing. Someone charged us close to $1k for the stage alone and we paid...didnt know any better. So, I made up my mind that Im not going to pay so much for things I can do myself easily.
Plus it frees up the money to use on things that matter...like photography and videography. Dont get cheap pictures people!!! Thats all you have left of your big day.
hmm.. i also have the problem of my wedding dress, I found a perfect wedding dress that I think is “the one.” The only problem is it is online. The price is perfect, everything is perfect about it except I can’t see it before buying it or try it on. Aggrr…What do I do? I really want this dress.
Thank you girls!
I come from a family of 4 sisters...so you can imagine my poor father and his bank account after each wedding! Through my sisters and family, Ive collected a lot of stuff over the years that we have stored in the garage now as "wedding and mehndi stuff"...lol. These things include large trays for clothes, decorative bowls and plates for mehndi, mithai trays, decorations I bought during this past Christmas sale, stage decor, etc. I plan on adding to it as time goes on for other girls to be able to use. The first wedding in the family cost us an arm and a leg because we didnt know what we were doing. Someone charged us close to $1k for the stage alone and we paid...didnt know any better. So, I made up my mind that Im not going to pay so much for things I can do myself easily.
Plus it frees up the money to use on things that matter...like photography and videography. Dont get cheap pictures people!!! Thats all you have left of your big day.
SK, my big day is on June 28th, 2009 Inshallah.
Reha that is really a smart idea on your behalf! In my family we've never had any wedding here in Canada we always go to Pakistan for the weddings so my wedding is a first. I've been engaged for 2 years now and I wish I had spend these two years wisely and collected "things" for the wedding! This year on christmas I bought things for mehndi etc.. but seriously now when I think back, there was so much I could have done and gotten.
Now I'm taking advantage for the valentines day sales for chocolate at my local Lindor choclate store for party favors!! I feel bad asking my Father to spend so much on me, because I believe that once we're old enough we should take care of our own needs and not be all mummy mummy daddy daddy type!