Spanking Kids In Public

Today went to WALMART to buy some stuff ,their saw a mother slapping her daughter just because she was tired and wants to go home:eek: i am against of spanking kids ,but some parents dont mind spanking kids .not even in public.

so tell me how do you feel about those parents who spank and Yell at their kids in Public???or is it ok to spank them so that they can learn discipline?

Re: Spanking Kids In Public

agar desi thi to allah ki maar uss par...islamic daire se nikal gaye manhoos...

non-desi thi to kia hi kehna...lucky daughter jis ko mata-jee ne chapair mar ke mumta ka yaQeen dilaya...

nope the couple was italian and one of the shoppers asked the girl ,that if she wants they can call police:)

maybe this certain shopper gets bonuses from police for having ppl arrested...the more you have arrested, the more points for you.

wow! what did the girl say?

well i didnt bother much ,as i have seen a kid taken away from a desi family as then the couple had to take one month classes and after that they gave them their kid back.and guess what they did.they simply ran back to pakistan.

now back to the topic:)
so tell me how do you feel about those parents who spank and Yell at their kids in Public???or is it ok to spank them so that they can learn discipline?

Spanking kids of young age is not considered an offense or taboo in US. Slapping is considered offensive. As per American law if the parents spank , slap or lightly hit kids which does not result in an injury , or bruise it is not illegal.
Read an interesting blog here:
When Is Spanking Child Abuse? - Motherlode Blog - NYTimes.com

i'll let my kid spank me for bringing him/her into this world...

^^ i thought ur a male

discipline of any kind should be done behind closed doors, when there's only the parent and child and no one else around. to do it in front of others, especially in a public place constitutes for the beyzatee of the child. children should not be humiliated in front of others.

It's not a good idea to spank your kids in public. It's bad for the child, it's bad for the parent. If my kid ever behaves badly or throws a tantrum in a store, i always take her to the side and try to explain or yell at her.

I agree with both. Sometimes its important to spank if they ar bothering you and misbehaving not because of they tired and want to go home.

I won't spank or slap a child if he/she is tired and want to go home. But if they embarece me due to Zid to buys something or for other reason to give him/her lesson or to teach I won't mind spanking and slaping me no matter if someone calls police.

If police will come I'll say its my responsibility to teach her if he/she misbehaving. If she won't misbehave or give me tuff time why would I spank. I don't want to spoil my child. Ha ha ha. and they will run away. Now waking up after my dream.

Bahtar hai buchchon ko ghar la kar achchi tarha peetay (sorry guys apna to yayhi rule hai, Maar kay agay bhoot bhagay). Aik do baar buchchay ki achchi tarha pitai ho jaay budtamizi ki to majaal hai kay jo budtamizi karain. Hamaysha kay liaay budtameez bananay kay bajaay jootay laga kar aik do baar main seedha kar do agar zuban say samjhanay say naheen samajhta to.

Once I slapt a bully in school and Principal was asking me to appoligize to that boy and I said I won't. He said his parents will call police I said I don't care let them bring police. I'll teach both a lesson. ha ha ha.

I said I won't ever apologize to him or his parents no matter what. I didt that for his own good.

So that principal send me home as he told me that his parents are coming to meet you after school. I said ok I'll meet them to teach them lesson to. (I think he principal did drama). He said he applogize to his parents.

In Pakistan I did spank to a kid (I'm not hitting type person and don't like to hit, but when someone need a lesson to correct them then I don't mind hitting).

His mom came and start like a jahil and budtameez aurat. I said mujhay to class sahi say chalana hai aap ka buchcha diturb karay ga to tameez bhi sikhana mera farz hai agar aap nain apna farz poora naheen kia to. Aap nain tameez sikhaya hota to mujhay aisa karnay ki zaroorat naheen hoti. That lady keep bukwasing and principal was trying to calm her down and I left.

From next day that boy become a well behaved boy. What I use to give as home work he use to to all no matter how much homework I gave. He was the who use to complete lots of hard work in homework.

He start respecting and loving me since then.

All the teachers were mad at me why you hit him and made murgha. lol

Next I told those teachers now he is my best student now.

The mother slapped her daughter in a public place....OMG!!!!!!!!! In my opinion, that is so wrong. I know that kids can be annoying, but there other ways of dealing with the situation. I've seen parents push grocery carts containing that are screaming because mommy bought a dreaded vegetable, or crying at the top of their lungs because because mommy didn't buy popsicles, or singing at the top of their lungs to the radio song being played throughout the grocery store. Sometimes I think it's funny and other times I find it irritating and feel sorry for the mom. And for those moms who patiently push the carts while gently but firming their kids.......WOW, I admire their patiencs and calm.

But slapping.......and that too just because the kid is tired.....AARGH, that is messed up! In Islam it is discouraged to slap someone in the face. And parents sometimes don't realize that their actions can have devastating effects on their kids. Parents don't think that many times kids DO NOT FORGET incidents like this. Public humilation like that is not only degrading, but it hurts a person's self-esteem....especially a child's....beause at that age much of their self-worth is established by parents. And what kind of message is this mom sending her child? Instead of teaching her daughter about patience and compromis.....she's teaching her daughter agressive and inappropriae behaviors! Mommy should have taken some Midol for her PMS before heading out in public with her little one!

Saieen,

So far, I've enjoyed reading ur responses. You crack me up!!!!!!

Saieen, your posts crack me up, LOL!

Child buttock-battering vs. DISCIPLINE:

Child buttock-battering for the purpose of gaining compliance is nothing more than an inherited bad habit.

Its a good idea for people to take a look at what they are doing, and learn how to DISCIPLINE instead of hit.

I think the reason why television shows like "Supernanny" and "Dr. Phil" are so popular is because that is precisely what many (not all) people are trying to do.

There are several reasons why child buttock-battering isn't a good idea. Here are some good, quick reads recommended by professionals:

Plain Talk About Spanking
by Jordan Riak,

The Sexual Dangers of Spanking Children
by Tom Johnson,

NO VITAL ORGANS THERE So They Say
by Lesli Taylor M.D. and Adah Maurer Ph.D.

Most compelling of all reasons to abandon this worst of all bad habits is the fact that buttock-battering can be unintentional sexual abuse for some children. There is an abundance of educational resources, testimony, documentation, etc available on the subject that can easily be found by doing a little research on "spanking".

Just a handful of those helping to raise awareness of why child buttock-battering isn't a good idea:

American Academy of Pediatrics,

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry,

Center For Effective Discipline,

PsycHealth Ltd Behavioral Health Professionals,

Churches' Network For Non-Violence,

Nobel Peace Prize recipient Archbishop Desmond Tutu,

Parenting In Jesus' Footsteps,

Global Initiative To End All Corporal Punishment of Children,

United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child.

In 26 countries, child buttock-battering is prohibited by law (with more in process). In fact, the US was the only UN member that did not ratify the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

lol spaking yur children is always out of anger rather than discilpline. If you want your children to listen you at all, it should be through respect, not fear. SPanking children has a temporary effect.

samjhaao magar pyaar se...kuchh logoN ke liye "pyaar se" means spanking hehe

I know that it’s natural for ALL of us to lose our tempers and end up saying/doing things that we later regret. But we should make the effort to control ourselves.

The reason I say this is because…apart from angry moms…I’ve encountered other people who do not hesitate to scream at their relatives, friends, or spouse in PUBLIC. And these are people that are old enough and should know better. They may find instant relief after getting the anger out of their system…but the person on the receiving end has to deal with shame, humiliation, and blow to the self-esteem which lingers long after the angry public outburst. Such people…eventually…start losing friends.

So moms who smack their children in public frequently don’t seem to realize that they are TEACHING their kids that it is okay to lose your temper and disrespect someone in public. And when the child mimics the same behavior in the future…the parents will stare back dumbfounded…wondering where he/she learned it from.

Mom always had the option of taking a time out break. Take your kid outside…to a more private area…and set the ground rules again. One of the reasons why teachers/parents have trouble with kids is because ground rules and expectations are NOT set in the beginning. Talk to your child privately. The car is an option…although it’s not wise to drive under stress. Don’t make yourself and your child a public spectacle. Majority of the on-lookers will be more inclined to sympathize with the person being yelled at (kid or otherwise) than the screamer.

In other words…if you know that you will be going with your child to Walmart…talk to your child about what kind of behavior you expect from him/her **BEFORE **going to Walmart. We do that with other things as well. For example…parents teach their kids table manners, what do do in case of a fire, when to say please and thank-you, how to conduct themselves a guests…and similarly kids can be taught how to conduct themselves in a public setting. And young children have to be reminded of rules and it can help to touch base with them BEFORE going out.

Child discipline is definitely needed but that doesnt always mean spanking the kid. There are other forms of discipline. However, I'm not against spanking. Though spanking a kid in a public place is a big no-no.