South Beach Diet Phase 1-motivation

So after a bout of emotional eating and gaining a few lbs when i have another 2o to lose, i am trying to be serious about losing weight. I am starting SBD Phase 1 which is the strictest part of the diet and goes on for 2 weeks. Its about avoiding carbs in some forms for 2 weeks to get rid of cravings and then slowly introduce good carbs back in your diet after that 2 week mark. I go on another forum to get meal ideas but would like to post here for motivation and encouragement. I hope thats ok? Anyone who wants to join me is more than welcome to do so.

So breakfast time was really hard since i wanted to have my usual jam on bread, or a muffin etc. INstead i had an omelette with veggies and cheese and doodh patti. Snack was almonds and string cheese. Lunch was bean dip with veggies and so yummy. Dinner will be daal and tandoori chicken and more veggies (roti for the husband). Sounds good?

Re: South Beach Diet Phase 1-motivation

Sounds good. A word of caution though...carbs aren't evil, but like everything else, they must be taken in moderation. I've heard that a lot of people felt that 1 week of phase 1 was sufficient and went on to successfully control the carb cravings and lose weight throughout the rest of SB.

Do whatever feels comfortable for you. Good luck!

Mistral, i think i misspoke earlier. SBD doesnt restrict ALL carbs (like you can have most veggies which also have carbs, for example). My eating habits are really bad and i just love love love cakes, cookies etc. I am hoping this will work against my sugary cravings IA!

Ira can i have some more info

What do you want to know CE? Am i allowed to post a link here? I can tell you where i get most of my info (i tried reading the book but it was too boring, lol).

doodh patti mein kitni carb hoti hai?
next time look at the milk container and carb count and sugar count..

Ah. I didn't know that. See, in my head, carbs = rice, bread, potatoes, etc. The veggies don't even register.

Personally, I've tried it, but I didn't last more than a week. I'm not a voracious carb eater, but I need my cup of rice in the evening with dinner and a piece of toast in the morning. I'll have my fruits, veggies, proteins, dairy, etc. But please don't take away my carbs.

More power to those who can resist their siren call.

i am now on day 8 of atkins diet, and my weight has stopped coming off :bummer:, i think i will transfer to SB diet too

Yes, like I said SBD is not about eliminating carbs. Its about eating the good kind while limiting the bad ones.

^ but Ira the first two weeks of south beach- I think you can't have milk I believe as part of detox.

As far as i know you can have two cups of fat free milk a day as well as part skim/fat free cheese, yogurt etc. I follow the following link for my guidelines:

SB Diet Message Boards • View topic - Phase I Foods to Enjoy - (Updated April 2008)

I guess there are variations of S.B :slight_smile:

South Beach Diet Food List for Phase 1

So i think i did great yest Alhamd considering how much meetha i like to consume each day.

B: veggie omelette+doodh patti
Snack: 15 almonds and 1 string cheese (you should have one snack but i had to delay lunch so had another snack.

L: lots of veggies with bean dip-yummy (fat free refried beans from a can+salsa+a bit of cheese all heated together)

S: doodh patti and cashews

D: daal with veggies and tandoori chicken

Dessert: fudgesicle (sugar free) and a bit of ricotta cheese with SF choc syrup.

I think you should only have one dessert a day but i wanted to try out my new fudgesicles :D bad i know.

njgal, are you sure you are not mixing atkins and south beach together? these directions are directly from the book and i have it at home. its too boring and i have the old version so i keep track through teh messageboard.

I don’t know :bummer: I never tired atkins. I always used the list that I referenced.

But looks like you are good. Good Job keep it up!

So i fell offtrack over the weekend. A certain Aunty paid a visit and i just needed to have some chocolate. I indulged and enjoyed every bit of it. Sat and Sun werent equally good either BUT i didnt overeat the carrot cake that i love so much.

The weekend is over and i am back on track today Alhamd. I have a red velvet cake lying around on the kitchen counter which i havent even opened the lid of. I am sooo proud of myself. If it was the old me, i would have eaten 1/4th of it by now pats self on the back.

So back on the program again but i am thinking of incorporating roti at dinner time. Its really hard for me to make two different things for hubs and I even though he usually eats whatever is offered. But i can only take so much advantage of him, lol. So i think one roti at dinner time and the rest will stay the same inshaAllah. No rice for a while though.

Sounds very good, you are on the right path. The key is to avoid extras, not nessesary elements. Include a 20 min workout in this plan if you can and results will be thrice as faster.

Thanks for the kind words WIPER. You are right, the key is to avoid the unnecessary, processed, sugary junk which i was really fond of. I would love to add workouts but i am just not finding the time. Maybe if i really really plan for them, i will.

So, yep yesterday went great Alhamd. The first few days were really hard last week, i even had headaches from all that sugar withdrawl i think. But now i dont feel like eating junk as much. I just feel different, cant quite put it into words. I am actually enjoying my veggies and beans. I mean, who knew?

Good luck Ira, looks like your going strong :k:

I am trying to convince my fiance to start SB. With his hectic traveling schedule its very difficult to follow SB. plus he is not a veggi person :(