I was asked how would I describe Lahore. Can you describe Lahore as a city in one short sentence? not the tangible part, but the intangible one… the soul!
I am finding it hard to do because of the sheer diversity of the characters of this city!
I was asked how would I describe Lahore. Can you describe Lahore as a city in one short sentence? not the tangible part, but the intangible one… the soul!
I am finding it hard to do because of the sheer diversity of the characters of this city!
Re: Soul of Lahore, for Lahoris and those who have been to Lahore
Impossible
Its feelings which dominate this city and cannot be described in words. If you have lived in this city even for a short time , you are its part .Here no one ask you about your background , city , ethinicity or language but everyone is Lahori , simple
Jinay Lohr nai waikhiya o jamaya ei nai
Pakistan ka dil Lahore
A city of Zinda Dilan
A city of colleges
A city of best food in the world
etc. etc. etc.
It's the fashion central.
I need to describe the city to a non-Pakistani who has never been to Pakistan. And in English please.
Why does it have to be a short sentense ?
The perfect metropolitan village!
It's not a village
Why does it have to be a short sentense ?
You can do it in a long sentence. :)
Its just that when you are describing a gist of something, a short elegant sentence is most suited.
Its a city of lively, energetic, hospitable, friendly and extreemly good-looking people :).
It's not a village
That's why I wrote metropolitan village.. it still has elements of a village too!
Its a city of lively, energetic, hospitable, friendly and extreemly good-looking people :).
You got it!! I love Lahoris!
Me too! And I love love love Lahore!
lahore sorry to say but too much traffic i do like lahore too but it was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much traffic wise ![]()
i must say that i loved food street will visit again this yr insha Allah ![]()
Cultural hub of Pakistan
Liberty and fortress and MM alam road sniff "Y" block in defence..
My memory of Lahore visits goes back to 1958-59 when Australia was touring Pakistan under the Captaincy of richie Benaud! I saw a day's play with my first cousin in Lahore at the Lahore Cricket Stadium which is now known as Qaddafi Stadium and it wasn't developed as much as we even saw 20 years back!
I clearly remember that Model Town, Krishan Nagar, Samanabad, Chauburji areas were the most infested ones not withstanding Anarkali as residential areas also. Model Town with its grandeur of old (Hindu make) houses having two gates (enter - exit) with a portico...and solid make--that even now the renovation of houses there--requires strong man to break the walls and floor made pre-partition.
Garden Town was there but with kheyts only...and hardly any houses. It was then--blatantly felt that why isn't Garden Town known as Model Town and Model Town as GARDEN Town due to the lush greenary and garden in the middle -- the OVAL which--partially remains !!!
The MALL road was the road which reminded us of the tales having read in Kipling's books of Mogul era and MAHABALI and the young lad KIM who use to play around the Tollinton Market nearby the GUN (TOPPE) which still stands tall.. but hardly touchable due to the immense infesting traffic on that road now. I remember I use to, like Kim, climb the gun and sit on it for hours. I have a few photographs (lost somewhere in my collection) of my crusade on that gun...which I specially visit even by remaining within the car---just to see and remind myself of the good old days.
RAVI.. full of water-- was so beautiful and so were the boat rides that ended with the meal like KHAGGAY a.k.a RAVI DE KHAGGAY (a fish kind found in sweet water...quite popular then in Ravi).
To me--the landmark of Lahore--always remained as SHIMLA PAHAAR on which i have climbed many times now unthinkable but the SHIMLA impact still there where we now have the tracks leading to Empress Road, Lahore Railway Station and PTV-Lahore, Egerton Road coming from Davis Road and the hotel Ambassador passing by the JANG-GEO building.
Speaking of the hotels--LAHORE's jazzy FLETTIS was the life & soul and I can never forget the two New Year party's I attended there with my cousins decades+ back.... like mid 60's ! that dance & partying was always on my main agenda as a teenager!!
Gulberg---was the BEAUTY spot of Lahore--comparatively! The famous HICCO ice cream and the famous house of Noor Jehan where Mudassar Nazar's father broke his arm :) and the famous boutique of the HELEN of Pakistan; Rakhshi named FANTASIA which provided wardrobes to all the movie heroines those (1960-70) days.. was the most popular one.
Lahore AIRPORT then was a little bigger then HYDERABAD Sindh's now!!! standing casually by the fence and waving goodbye to your friend/relative while his/her boarding the Viscount or Trident and finally Boeing-707 even.,.. was fun!
It was fun to travel to Lahore by train...when before the main station--I use to get down at the Cantt. Station that my khala lived on Shami Road where i use to land up in rickshaw asking khala to pay the fare!! and requesting her to cook me something nice!
Those were the days of my frequent--thrice a year visits to Lahore by Awam express at ticket costing Rs.13.20 paisas on students discount (50%) for inter class...and just 18 hours journey! to the beautiful city of Lahore.
My three khalas, two mamoos, 14 first cousins, 2 school friends and 20 2nd cousins are settled in Lahore since their birth and/or migration from India.
*Lahore...LAHORE AIE ! *
^^ Raju Bhai , that gun is stilll today in front of NCA , PU and GCU and probably of Ahmed SHah Abdali when he attacked India from Afghanistan :k:
I could think of Lahore's soul as : "Leisurely strolling forward"... what do you guys think?
Leisurely because its not as commercially active metropolis as some of other cities but still moving forward. Strolling because it is hesitant to break away from its traditions and one can sense that the city frequently and forlornly looks back at its glorious past but knows that it has to move forward.
Don't like lahore!!
Mostly dislike lahorias.
Its whole pakistan's wealth is being used to build a city.