^ Good point. But then again, I have seen some who loved their spouse to death and were 'soul mates' and after they separated due to divorce, death etc, that person loved the new spouse even more. So at times like these I wonder, if the concept of 'soul mate' really remains.
Well if they split due to a divorce, then were they really soul mates to being with?
As for getting married again, and loving the new spouse even more than the other one...I think it may be because you're at different stages in your life. So what you had with the first spouse may have been totally different than what you have with the second.
Sometimes I think people perceive a soul mate to be someone that they're in love with, or have a great relationship with. I think that it goes above and beyond that. It's more than just saying 'i love you' or buying gifts for each other. It's almost a mental/emotional thing, where two people 'click' and get along through anything obstacle that comes their way.
Well if they split due to a divorce, then were they really soul mates to being with?
As for getting married again, and loving the new spouse even more than the other one...I think it may be because you're at different stages in your life. So what you had with the first spouse may have been totally different than what you have with the second.
Sometimes I think people perceive a soul mate to be someone that they're in love with, or have a great relationship with. I think that it goes above and beyond that. It's more than just saying 'i love you' or buying gifts for each other. It's almost a mental/emotional thing, where two people 'click' and get along through anything obstacle that comes their way.
But then isn't possible to have this kind of relationship with more than 1 person? I mean we are humans and as such, if 1 of us is nice and is in his/her nature to be nice and love others, then he/she will be nice and love you no matter who you are. Such is the case in a scenerio where 2 people love each other to death but 1 of them passes away (due to natural cause) and the person marries again and loves the new spouse just like the previous one or maybe even more or less and thus, becomes soul mates, again.
you’re makin’ me use my brain on a saturday night HHL. what’s wrong with you?
i don’t think it’s possible to have this relationship with more than one person.
you can love once..you may love again. but i think what you have with your ‘soul mate’ is something that can’t be compared to what you had with anyone else.
as for those who say their first spouse was their soul mate..and then marry again, and love their second spouse even more..the question arises..do they know what a soul mate is?
just loving someone does not make them your soul mate. i personally don’t believe in having more than one soul mate. there is only one. you may find them, you may not. you may not even realize that you have a soul mate. or you may think you have one, but do you really?
and that’s why i ask again. what’s a soul mate? is it someone that we love until the end of time? is it someone that we will put up with, regardless of what type of life we lead?
i think a soul mate is someone who you grow with, learn with, learn to love life with. it’s not a matter of looking at someone or going out on a few dates with, and saying ‘hey..he’s my soul mate’. it’s a whole lot more than that.
I think its possible to have this relationship with more than one person if you dont BELIEVE in soulmates...if you believe in soulmates then you convince yourself you cant love anyone else and then dont...
Thats why i think its unhealthy...your capable ofd loving again...its about whether you allow yourself to do so...
Do many of you believe there is such a thing as a 'soul mate'?
Soul mates do exist, but a fair bit of communication can help keep up the *soulmateness *too. For example when theres a tiny argument between two a guy and a girl, it helps that they try to talk things out with each other before they decide to dump the other person and start dating someone else. Also helps if you let the other person know that you're dumping him/her before you start seeing someone else.
*^ Azad, thread mai discussion hoti hai, its not some sort of online Antakshri jiska juwaab NO kehne say tumhe deep freezer mile ga.
Anyhow back to the discussion...
soul-mate is a "bagerat-based" concept. There is no such thing in our desi culture. Meri soul-mate siraf meri hone wali beewi , YA PHIR kissi aur ki beewi ho gi, warna aur koi nahi ho gi.
Soul-Mate means "ruhani-hamsafar" jiska "rooh" say talluQ ho, to phir wo ya to siraf apni beewi kay saath ho sakta hai, ya phir qabbar mai mot kay farishto kay saath.
*^ Azad, thread mai discussion hoti hai, its not some sort of online Antakshri jiska juwaab NO kehne say tumhe deep freezer mile ga.
Anyhow back to the discussion...
soul-mate is a "bagerat-based" concept. There is no such thing in our desi culture. Meri soul-mate siraf meri hone wali beewi , YA PHIR kissi aur ki beewi ho gi, warna aur koi nahi ho gi.
Soul-Mate means "ruhani-hamsafar" jiska "rooh" say talluQ ho, to phir wo ya to siraf apni beewi kay saath ho sakta hai, ya phir qabbar mai mot kay farishto kay saath.
It's very interesting to read people's thoughts on the subject...though I'd heard of the concept, I never really believed in soulmates until I met the person who I truly believe is my soulmate
Man with A Plan: smilestar's wikipedia definition of 'soulmate' is a fairly good one...
NBN: I suppose it's as healthy as the mind of the person believing in it...like any belief/ideology...
Sabriya and smilestar: I also agree that soulmates don't always come in the form of lovers, there are sometimes friends or siblings who one can have that natural affinity with...'soulsisters' for example...
HHL: Some people are hopeless romantics and still hopless at romance, those who are in love with the idea of having a soulmate will convince themselves that someone is their soulmate...I agree with smilestar, perhaps their understanding or definition of the word wasn't accurate enough...
ASN: Perhaps it's not 'accepted' in desi culture, but I'm sure there are desis who would say there is such a thing...