...Son vs. Daughter...

I was talking to my aunt yesterday, who lives in Pakistan, and she is expecting a boy. She asked me if I would like a girl or a boy as my first child and I said it doesn’t matter, as long as the baby and the mother are healthy, I am fine with whatever Allah blesses me with. One one hand it’s the “rehmat” (daughter) and then on other other hand it’s the “ne’mat” (son). We wouldn’t want to find out in advance and we would like it to be a surprise. She said something that drove my blood pressure from 100 to 1,000.

She said that here (in Pakistan), you don’t really get a choice. You go to the doctor, she does the ultrasound. If it’s a boy, she tells you joyously that it’s a boy. And if it’s a girl, she doesn’t say anything.

**Before you start picking this ^ part of my post and say that’s not true and you can ask the doctor not to disclose the gender, I agree. But keep in mind, she lives in a small town and that’s how things are done in that hospital, so ignore this part for a second. Let’s focus on the next paragraph.
Moving along, I said “oh, so the lady doctor is not happy when it’s a girl?”. She was speechless, but after a pause said, no that’s probably not the case. It’s just the way they tell. If it’s a boy, they tell you, if it’s a girl, they don’t say anything and you know it’s a girl. That boiled my blood but I kept calm because it was late at night when I was talking to her, I was already speaking loudly because the signal strength wasn’t good, and I did not want to start an argument.

I had heard and read in books how people in the dark ages (pre-Islam) did not get excited when girls were born, but for crying out loud, let that crappy mentality go!!! Boy or a girl, it’s a blessing. At least it’s alive, healthy, and the mother is doing fine!!! I have seen boys that grew up to be jackasses and the daughters took care of their parents instead. I would be delighted to have a daughter. In fact, I already have a name in mind and I am going to name her that, no matter what anyone else suggests. As for a boy, I never thought of a name. I will do that when time comes.

Anyway, Am I the only one who has experienced this ignorance first-hand or do you know of anyone as well who thinks along the same lines?

Re: ...Son vs. Daughter...

I know many people who think like that Shikra bhai. Alhamdullillah we have 2 beautiful daughters and both my husband and I feel blessed. Sadly though, many people in our culture and some other cultures are still partial toward boys. I know of a family where the mother herself refused to carry her newborn daughter for some time because she was longing for a son. She got over it pretty soon but her attitude may have been a reflection of the different influences thrust upon her by family members and society.

This is sad reality, but I feel that with education, we are becoming more open minded.

unfortunately ,you are not the only one to hear or experience these things....
its ironic how this concept still prevails in our society....small town or big city,uneducated or educated,its something just sticking to their minds....

its not about which one is better...a baby boy or a baby girl...whats important is that the child is happy and healthy and naik...and the parents are able to provide him or her a wonderful life,education and future...some peopel just don't get this....

i was talking to someone in my family(in Lahore) a few days back,and she was telling me the same thing that when she went in for a regular scan,the doctor was so reluctant to tell them if it was a boy or girl....she had to tell the doctor that she already had both so it doesn't matter .....and only then she was told that its a girl....

I have come across dozens of people who prefer boys over girls.
It used to make me angry too but once you realize that's how
most pakistani people think like you get used to it. Not that
I agree with this concept (infact I hate it) but it just does not surprise
me anymore. I am sorry to say this but most of these people won't ever change.

My mom has nine sisters mA and one brother whos the youngest of all. One time there was this huge dawat at my nana's house and while they were discussing the son vs. daughter issue, my nana proudly said, my daughters are doctors, engineers, lawyers and all of them are so educated. They have jobs and a family to look after but they still come to see me everyday, they cook for me, they clean when I tell them to, they take care of me when I am sick- I would never expect a son to do that for me.. my daughters are the biggest blessings in my life. Everyone was dumbfounded, one of the men who was bragging about how his son always sends him money from U.S shut up big time when someone else asked, yeah he sends you all the money and stuff but when was the last time he came to visit you with his wife? 5 years ago?

Daughters will be the shield/'dhaal' for their parents on the Day of Judgement. Anyone who thinks daughters are a burden to bear needs to be slapped.

Re: …Son vs. Daughter…

are you going to name her what I think you will name her? :blush:
thankyou chotay bhai :hugz:

And yes, I agree beyond 100 percent with what you said. But then its not easy to change ppl’s mentality but as time passes it does end up teachin’ them a lesson to not to differentiate between boy or a girl.

oh and yeh why the heck doctors hesitate to tell whether its a girl or not :rolleyes: its none of their friggin business.

There may be many times when I may not agree with someone, but I keep quiet especially when I know that the difference of opinion may hurt the feelings of the other person but it seems like desi people don't bother to keep quiet. They say whatever is on their mind, without worrying about whether the other person will be offended or not.

I am glad (oxymoron) to know that I am not alone who has faced such stupidity first hand. I have also heard aunties get a little sad when someone who has 5 daughters and is trying for a boy ends up getting a daughter again. Ok fine, I understand that a little bit (still, it's a blessing) that they were trying to for a boy but ended up with a girl, but the way people actually prefer boys over girls for their first, that just makes me mad. I mean shut up and be grateful!

I was reading Quran this morning and today's translation had a saying "and man is very ungrateful". I 100% agree with that.

we are 3 sisters...mashallah...

when my youngest sister was born,one of my father's close relative literally did 'afsoos' with abu....and her words were along the lines that i am so sorry you again had a daughter....ch ch....

i don't know exactly what my father said to her at that moment but this i know that he has not seen her in the last 20 yrs.....

i have heard this hadees(saw) about a father who raises a girl child and how blessed he is...i just don't recall it at the moment...if anyone knows it....

but at the end,some people and their retarded thinking just cannot change ever...sighs

I know someone who judged the success rate of a marriage and "piety" of a woman based on how many daughters she had. One lady had only had daughters with her husband, and he interpreted that as meaning that she was of no value, and when that lady got divorced, she went on to have 2 more daughters while the new wife gave the husband 3 sons and 1 daughter... so he was like "haha dekho, the first woman was bad, the second is much better." He was like totally obsessed. When his own wife got pregnant and kept seeing recurring dreams of a daughter, they fought alot and he pressured her into getting an abortion which she eventually did. He then had a daughter with his new wife, upon which he was and still is miserable.

I hope that with the mindset he has, he never ever has sons.

ur not the only one
i hv many wayyy more ignorant stories :hinna:

This is the mentality all over third world. They feel proud when a son is born and gloomy when a daughter is born. This kind of attitude is not limited to Pakistanies.
Some friends of mine were discussing other day at a desi dinner party that there was a program on TV which was about a third world country ( I do not want to name the country for fear of derailing the thread) as to how babies are being aborted after being found out that baby is a girl. According to the program there are villages where there are no baby girls only boys.
I did not watch that program but some of you might have.

It’s amazing that no one in those villages thinks that if you keep having boys and keep killing girls, you’ll end up having more boys than girls when they all grow up and are looking for someone to marry. :confused:

No matter how hard we try, the truth is that men in this world are decreasing (wars) and women are increasing. I can’t quote the exact hadith, but I believe there will be time when the ratio will be many (I think 50) women to one man.

Mirch are you referring to our "neighbors"??

The thing is...unfortunately u can't change ppls ideas and mindsets.

^I agree Sara- people won't change their mindset UNTIL they have to go through a situation where a daughter would give them more love and care than the son. Maybe then they can realize what a blessing she is :)

Excuse me... i know it is sad that people have such thinking but why are we stereotyping here??? It is not just the desi mentality, it is all over the place.

My first two are girls mashAllah. When i was expecting the third one about two years ago, all my doctors, colleagues, neighbors, and the teachers at the girls school (whites, African-American, Chinese/Koreans) were wishing me to have a boy and were so happy for me when they heard the news of the baby boy. They always asked me that since i had two girls, did i want a baby boy so badly???? and everytime my reply was "all we want and pray for is a complete, healthy baby... doesn't matter if it's a girl or a boy." and these were the true feelings that I and hubby had at that time... we never gave it a seconds thought that whether the baby we were having was a girl or a boy.... and I believe every parent initially thinks that way, it is just the social pressure that makes them think otherwise...
(This is not to say that desis were being so nice and open with me when i was expecting, infact they were wise enough to keep their words inside their mouths in order to avoid an earful in return.)

Besides my own experience, once we were at the Cartoon's Cut to get Jazib a haircut and there was this gora guy with his five daughters.... and oh boy, was he a real pissed off.... Right in front of his five little innocent daughters he was telling the hairdresser that how miserable his life was to have all daughters and how badly he wanted a son.

I can also recall an episode from Nanny-911 where this one guy was always playing with and paying attention to his boy while ignoring his girls, and he was unable to see the desire of paternal love in his daughters eyes.

So yeah it's everywhere... the preference of having boy over girls or to pissing the parents off to somehow create only a boy inside the mommy's tummy will always be prevailed.... Stone Age or the Space Age, it doesn't matter!

dear Shikra,

thanks for sharing this.

age old truth - women give birth to men.

men dont give birth to either males or babies.

those people who belittle women kind are themselves really pitiable.

thank Allah swt when ever u get a child, that be that child a she or a he, is born healthy and u are able to keep that child from all harm and comfort the child and feed, clothe, teach and give shelter to that child.

as a father and with your spouse as a co-parent, there must be no joy greater than being good parents to any child - male or female.
i pray that you be blessed with both and u set the example of being a kind, fair and caring father to daughter and son alike. :>

best,

Dushwari

Maybe that's b/c you alreayd had two daughters, they were hoping for a boy? i know in that case its more forgiveable, or vice versa (already have boys but want a girl). How was your experience with your first pregnancy?

I think its natural, that when u already have one you want the other....but when it's the first pregnancy and people are hoping for a boy, that's pretty pathetic.

*koi haal nahi hamaray logoN ka, this is really sad.

^ well first, second, or last... it doesn't really matter. We are talking about the preference of boys over girls.

My point was, when it didn't matter to us and when the only thing we were hoping for was the good health of the baby... why did it bother others... After all parents are the ones who have to put up with one, two, three, or ten daughters.... why should it matter to others?????

and i think, it is more pathetic and depressing to hear, "since you already have two girls, it should better be a boy this time." even in a humorous way.... It just didn't feel nice.... and we were like, don't we have any other choice????? was that going to be it????

During my first pregnancy, i wasn't so outgoing and was just too lazy to even keep my appointments with the docs.... so i can't exactly say anything.

Tumhara koi haal nahi… i read ur original reply :rolleyes: