Some Facts About Dubai إمارة دبيّ

no Aisha

its not that,it a old rest,located in jumeirah,al wasl road

yep

i used to visit this site but never thought to join

Re: Some Facts About Dubai إمارة دبيّ

well that cool!!!!!!!!!!! Thank u for joining and I hope u enjoy ur time with us!!!!!!!!;)

Try "Daily" restaurant in Qusais, near Dubai Grand hotel. food is wayyyyy better than Ravi and sitting is ok, but still very much better than Ravi

U can also try Barbeque Delight on The Walk.. i wud rate it as average.. the gulab jamans were pretty shapeless last time i went there..

has anyone tried rap n roll handi? heard its gud but pricey

I got food poisoning last time I went to "WRAP and ROLL" Handi. It's WRAP not RAP! It's not good, it's mediocre. Kebab Roll restaurant and Chicken Tikka Inn have better food and so does Ibrahimi. Oh yeh it is a bit on the expensive side.

Guys moving to Dubai next year fingers crossed with hubby... will be living in Jumeriah Lakes Tower. Whats it like? Any advise?

Also I'm a bit worried in regards to not meeting any 'apney' out there. Whats the asian population like?

Last of all... I dont speak a word of arabic. Is this going to really hold me back?

I travel Dubai this year in End of April it is a very beautiful place. and so many places to visit. about language Dont worry you only should know two languages there Urdu, English there are mostly people, Yourpions, Americans, Indians and Pakistanies and if there any Arabic they can talk and understand English easily

What about clothing. Can I get away with maxi dresses or do I need to have shoulders arms covered?

No problem....Its all amrican style ...Not like saudi arab like wear abya or sumthing like this

Distinctive Flair, pardon me but it is Jumeirah not Jumeriah. JLT is right on Sheikh Zayed Road and is one of the prime areas in Dubai. Part of New Dubai. We have our offices there so I occasionally drop by. It is near to Dubai Media City and Dubai Internet City. It is very near to Dubai Marina and Jumeirah Beach Residence. My university American University in Dubai is very close by as well.

You are in a bit of a luck since one Dubai Metro station has just opened near to JLT. The Dubai Marina one. You can use that to go to Mall of the Emirates, Ibn Battuta Mall, Dubai Mall, and also take the Metro Red Line to the inner city avoiding all the traffic. Another close by Metro Station which is the AUD station is about to open as well.

Food wise you are in a prime location as well since near by you have the JBR The Walk which is like a street lined with restaurants of all kind in front of the beach. There is grocery shopping in the form of Spinneys which caters to mainly British clientèle in Dubai Marina or otherwise Carrefour in Mall of the Emirates is highly popular.

As for clothing, certain areas you will have to respect the local laws and rules by wearing proper clothing. Like in the malls and government buildings etc. It is stated on the entrance of malls to wear proper attire and come.

Catwalk, pardon me again but it is not all American style. There is plenty of women who wear Abaya and cover their heads with Hijab too but it is not mandatory like in Saudia Arabia. It is not completely like US or UK where you can literally wear or not wear anything.

There are plenty of Pakistanis and Indians here. Not only that but plenty of friendly people as well. I am sure you will find yourself becoming a part of a community before you know it or you can just come to me for help and I can introduce you to Pakistanis since my mum knows a lot of Pakistanis in Dubai and also a lot of khandani well off Pakistanis as well.

As for with regards to not knowing an ounce of Arabic, that is okay. Knowing Arabic is an advantage certainly but since Dubai is a metropolitan city and a melting pot of cultures where the world meets and becomes a global village, you can easily get by with English. If you know Urdu/Hindi that is really good since you can bargain using Urdu in the bazaars etc and many Arabs here including the locals (Emiratis) know Urdu.

Hi Dubaiwali

Thank you for such an informative reply! I really didnt know urdu is so common there, wohoo! I am hoping to learn arabic once I get out there. I think it would be fun and educational.

In regards to clothing is a maxi dress not respectful? Will I get in trouble for wearing something like this…

http://www.oli.co.uk/web/main/ProductDisplay.asp?An=0&N=0&Au=P_MasterItem&Nu=P_MasterItem&A=73H769_12&cm_mmc=GOOGLEBASE-_-Froogle-_-Fashion/Dresses/Maxi%20Dresses-_-73H769&ordermedia=E0053&entry=3

I could always throw a cardi or shawl on top if I have to I guess.

Well Dubaiwali will be in touch if all goes wlel with our move and maybe we could meet up! x

Distinctive flair .. theres a few of us here .. fancy meeting up with a few:hmmm:???:wink:

Deffo Urdu is really common and knowing Urdu is actually an advantage in Dubai. You can use Urdu to converse with Indians, Bangladeshis, Sri Lankans, and Emiratis and sometimes Arabs too.

That Maxi dress is fine. In the malls it would be okay, but not in government buildings etc. Yeh that shawl idea is good and many gals/women here actually do that. Good luck with the move.

Yeh girls I would love to meet up. That would be really awesome seen as Ive been so worried about not making friends out there!

Please just pray that the move happens. Its so difficult getting a job out there. Ive put my cv out to so many people so lets see. So far Ive only managed to get one interview which will be in December as our migration isnt until March next year.

Ive got lots of crop jackets so I'll wear maxi dresses with crop jackets so I dont get in trouble :D

DF :yahoo:.. Inshallah hope ur impending move goes well.. inshallah !! Deffo we could alll meet up!!! :fatee:. this cud be a UAETIAN guppy meet:hehe:..:k:..:wink:

Hehe how awesome Ive already got my dubai gang sorted! I'll keep you posted as everything progresses... what a busy year!

**^:lifey:…The UAE GUPSHUP GANG just keeps getting strong!!!;):hehe: Mashallah x

Not so fast Uaetian cowboys :stuck_out_tongue:

This Torontonian Guppy wishes to join you soon :wink:

Actually this question is for Dubaiwali Guppan :smiley:
I shall be moving to Dubai sometime in December/January working for EK
I wonder if you r able to give me some “inside” info on Dubai accommodation for some one who works at the Airport with EK
How much would it cost pm or yr , cost of living , cost of commuting if one dose’nt wishes to buy a car there due to licencing restrictions , etc etc etc and what ever info you can lay you paws on , will help

Dubaiwali Guppan is generic as in koyi bhi guppan from Dubai or you are specifically wishing to seek info from "Dubaiwali"?

Emirates? You lucky duck. Well to answer all of that, I want to know where you are living, how many people will be living etc. Cost of transport also depends on where you live, how many times will you use taxi, if you are good with using buses, if you live near a mall so have access to metro etc.

Again to answer stuff I need to know how many people will accompany you and where/which area you are going to live. Also your budget for a flat or accommodation. Or will that be provided by Emirates?