Some Facts About Dubai إمارة دبيّ

Dubai is pronounced Dubayy in Arabic

Geography: The second largest of the seven Emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates, Dubai is located on the southern shore of the Arabian Gulf. Dubai city is a bustling metropolis, while outside the city itself the Emirate is sparsely inhabited and characterized by desert vegetation.

Population: Current population approx. 1.67 million, set to increase to 3.5 million by 2010. 80% comprises of Expatriates - Arab, Asians, European, and others.

Climate: Dubai has a sub-tropical, arid climate. Rainfall is infrequent and irregular. Falling mainly in winter, it amounts to some five days a year. Temperatures range from a low of about 50 degrees Fahrenheit to a high 118 degrees. The mean daily maximum is 75 degrees Fahrenheit in January rising to 105 degrees Fahrenheit in July.

Local time: Dubai Time is + 4 Hours GMT or 4 hours ahead of the Greenwich Mean Time. GMT is used for all 24 of the world’s time zones.

Dubai lies between 55°16 East and 25°16 North.

You can get the right Dubai Time by dialling 140 (English) amd 141 (Arabic)

Language: The official language is Arabic, Arabic and English are commonly used in business and commerce. Hindi and Urdu are also widely used.

Religions: 96% Muslim, Hindu, Christian, 4% other

Country Dialing Code: 971

Internet Country Code: .ae

Currency: Emirati Dirham (AED)

Exchange Rates: Emirati dirhams per US dollar 3.67

Electricity: 220 or 240 volts AC 50HZ

Re: Some Facts About Dubai إمارة دبيّ

^hmm nice facts...so when r u goin to post nice visiting places..u know etc..

So I should do that? I was thinking of doing that:hmmm: as I am free

yea if u r free :)

oh I am always free for gupshup :)

dubaiwali, kidhar hoo, sou rahi ho kia.?

This is very old data. Dubai has had a large wave of migration in the previous years. And since that includes a lot of Non-Muslims, the 96% Muslim is certainly not correct anymore.

^Umar bhai I just posted this information for the benefit of the gupshup people. If you have correct up to date data on this can you please share it with us?

Same yaar mai so rahi thi, now awake again.

^oh acha :)

According to Wikipedia, Dubai has a population of ca. 2.3 million (2008 data).

The official figures for religious distribution (again according to Wikipedia) is: 76% Muslims, 9% Christians and 15% others (which I'm assuming are mainly Hindus).

^oh thank you. :)

the current population is 1.67 million. they plan to increase it to 3.5 million by 2010. thats a lot of babies (or south indians).

I wonder how that is going to happen. Increase in population:hmmm:

It's a bit of both I guess. The new South Indians will probably outnumber the new babies though.

Hey! you guys are great.. you just spend your time here in getting information and GUP SHUP..

Speically i am wondering how you are able to post 41,000 posts aisha?

david I have been on this site for a long time now.. 2 and a half years so I guess I got that many posts in that time! :)

AD wali you for got to add on your stats that Dubai is home to the largest and proudest DESI community online- AKA Duabi central of GSHUPPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ( HEEEHEHHE!!!!)

lol poppies you are so right! :D

AA ladies

if you desis are so big in dubs then enlightene some of us poor souls who travel there frequently where we can get good desi khanna - except Ravi restarant in satwa , as that feels like a second home now -

every time we go we do have difficuly in finding good pakistani saalan roti