The guy is set to replace Asif for the Tri-nation Series.
His action looks very suspect, if you ask me.
Re: Sohail Khan -- Another "chucker" on the horizon ??
I don't know, probably because my eyes are naked :D
Re: Sohail Khan – Another “chucker” on the horizon ??
Sorry to say but he is not chucking at all…
His action is completey proper, his arms is bending in semi circle as it ought to be more than (Chuck Bhajan + RP) Singh [sorry for taking out the common outside of the parenthesis]
I would rather say that a great bowler on the horizon unless not wastes by PCB…
His first wicket in the international cricket is awesome:
Are you kidding me? His action is as clean as it could get.. no hint of any kink in the elbow at all. Secondly, his bowling doesn't seem anything special. Thirdly, Asif has been released, and since he wasn't charged, PCB is unlikely to ban him... a small fine or a slap on the wrist at most. Hence no need to find replacements for Asif.
Some1 yaar, his action is completely clean. I don't know where you see a problem there to be honest.
^ the problem is that he is pakistani and he is fast....
jalnay waalay ka moo kala
Some1 yaar, his action is completely clean. I don't know where you see a problem there to be honest.
Well..his action may still be ruled legitimate.....but I am not sure if it looks "completely clean".
Am I the only one who sees the very obvious jerk of his forearm (in a stone-throw like motion) as he releases the ball.
Watch the slow replay at 0:23 sec in the first video I posted.
^ the problem is that he is pakistani and he is fast....
jalnay waalay ka moo kala
Grow up yaar....
I don't even know how good or fast he is.....I just read about him on another website this morning about his possible selection for the tri-nation series.....was browsing through YouTube...and came across this video.
That is all there is to it.....
....plus I do have a problem with "chuckers"....including Murali/Harbhajan.
Well..his action may still be ruled legitimate.....but I am not sure if it looks "completely clean".
Am I the only one who sees the very obvious jerk of his forearm (in a stone-throw like motion) as he releases the ball.
Even looking at it the second time, I don't see anything objectionable. His action is a bit round arm/slingy and I don't detect any bending of the elbow. And if there's no straightening of the elbow, then there's no chance of chucking.
Sohail Khan included in squad for Dhaka contest
Wednesday, June 04, 2008
By our correspondent
KARACHI: Pakistan have decided to replace Mohammad Asif with rookie pacer Sohail Khan in their 16-man squad for a tri-nation series to be held in Bangladesh from Sunday.
A Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official told ‘The News’ on Tuesday that Sohail will join Umar Gul and Sohail Tanvir in the team’s pace attack for the tournament in Dhaka that will feature India and hosts Bangladesh. The triangular contest will be played from June 8-14.
Asif, who was supposed to spearhead Pakistan’s pace batter in Dhaka has been dropped after he was arrested at Dubai airport on charges of possessing illegal drugs.
The PCB official said that the decision has been taken after it became clear that Asif will not be able to play in the Dhaka triangular because of his current ordeal.
Sohail, who made his international debut against Zimbabwe at home earlier this year, is regarded as the fastest bowler on the country’s domestic circuit.
He also played in the home series against Bangladesh this April but was initially overlooked for the tri-nation series. PCB officials wanted him to spend some time at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore and get ready for the Asia Cup, which will be held in Pakistan later this summer.
His action is as clean as Waqar Younis or Pollock.
Some1, I watched both videos and there is no jerk at the release of the ball. From the front angle the arm comes so fast that it looks as he is jerking, but from the ariel angle its clean. So its the visual thing from the front.
brahmachari, game and smoothie bhai log.....you guys generally know what you are talking about...so it is quite possible that I am wrong on this. But looking at the video again and again, Sohail's last bit of arm movement before he releases the ball still appears very "odd" to me.
Will have to wait and see if he raises any eyebrows.
Some1, Are you keeping count of bowlers you have termed "chucker"? Even if ICC don't see anything you seem to find some1 who chucks. And it seems becharay Pakistani fasties are your target.
I can't detect any vatta in his action either. It looks perfectly legitimate and clean to me. His action resembles Waqar's esp. at the point of releasing the ball.
These are simply variations of bowling, if you can not bowl (or understand) someone's action doesn't mean that action is not proper.
There were doubts over Murali's action but he was cleared. So, no need to call him chucker.
Do you have (your own) rules for batsmen too, like on their batting instances?
Grow up yaar.... ....plus I do have a problem with "chuckers"....including Murali/Harbhajan.
hey some1, i think we need to get to the root of the problem, i persoanlly htink the ISI has a factory where they specifically teach bowlers to chuck? I think its their work, their all over it, what do u think?
*Nahi yaar, the action is just slingy in nature. Going by that ruling, Malinga and Edwards are pakkay wattay bowlers! Sohail is clean.
Have you seen Wahab Riaz? He is another young Pakistani pace prospect who impressed me quite a bit.*
And that is your professional opinion?
Pakistan should not play against Bangladesh. This is utterly boring cricket. Should atleast play against Newzealand.
Not even Waqar Younis, his action looks more similar to Shabbir Ahmed. It doesn't look completely clean, and that is me watching this video. Perhaps he is, perhaps he isn't. Even in regular motion, it appears as the jerk of the hand is visible to the naked eye without the replay.