Social Drinking??

I agree.

Re: Social Drinking??

its not a point.. ita question feel free not to answer

suddenly you start agreeing with every one????
thing you could not figure all your adult life was so easy to comprehend here ???
wow
isn't that a miracle??

PM what are you doing in this thread by the way ???

As a senior member of this forum one would expect more decorum of you. Like i said earlier, we are looking for civilised, non personal discussion around this topic. Clearly you are not capable of this. I wont be responding to your posts any more.

PM, dont start unnecessary argument yaar

hawww
I have converted too...
I am a muslim now, mashallah

I am not surprised, ppl who are creatively impotent don't thrill me either.

Ok Boss, I am otta here.

]

yes I agree that our view does not count ..

these kinda people fool no one except themselves. May Allah give them hidaaya that they ask stop drinking and repent and ask for Allah's forgiveness...we can only pray for them. aameen

guys, I started this thread as something in recent times really surperised me... i never said i approve or disapprove of the topic in question, rather i was interested in seeing how other muslims saw this... and what their thoughts may be on this ....

This message is for the benefit of one rather aggressive individual who seems to be intent on making it a personal affair.... No need, really.

i think the couple in question may be hinting towards haqooq Allah vs haqooq al ibaad.

Now just because someone does one thing wrong, does not mean that person becomes a bad person or should nto do other thins that ar good. Otherwise every aunty ji in a sleeveless or short sleeve kurta in a mixed gathering should be slapped with a trout when she tells you she is fasting.

These people drink occassionally, fine, by doing so its between them and God. They may be forgiven, they may not be forgive, their good deeds may outweigh theri bad deeds including drinking or vice versa. None of us have that knowledge. In these situations, its best niether to encourage them or accept their habits nor to just drop them or constantly be on their case about it. Let them know you disagree with their choice, but its their business, and let it go.

You didn't answer my question.

Thats exactly what I was thinking. Thats such a twisted logic :konfused:

Theres not much that can be said to such people anyway, they obviously acknowledge they’re doing something odd/UnIslamic (hence the need for comment no.2) but don’t care enough to do anything about it.

No they dont claim to be good muslims, they are of the opinion we all have faults.

:salam:

Unfortunately this is a dilemma that plagues many otherwise nice people who are muslims by faith. Even in my own social circle I have a friend who argues that Alcohol is not declared haram in the Quran. And sure enough you will not find a verse in the Quran where the word HARAM or translated (FORBIDDEN) is mentioned in the same line as Alcohol or Khamr. This slanted perception of Alcohol not being declared haram in the Quran arises from a very rudimentary lack of understanding the fundamental concepts and their implications in Islam and the Quran.

Just like these folks who otherwise appear so nice but see no harm in them drinking because they are not bringing the vice to others is reflective of their acute lack of knowledge about the fundamental concepts in our religion.

Let me start by saying … A SIN IS HARAM. Every sin we commit is because we are performing a haram act. When something is not permissble and you act upon it, we aearn sin for it in Islam. This unpermissible act may be from telling a simple lie to taking a life unjustly. The severity of the sins are different from one another. The Quran has classified the gravest of sins as KABEER ones, this is also how we have the term in urdu language which is commonly used “Gunnah Kabeera”. When we talk about something as a KABEER sin, no one could mistake it for something we can do. Its strictly forbidden and will definitely earn you a place in hellfire save Allah SWT mercy on you.

I wanted to quote these verses to make it more lucid:

[FONT=Traditional Arabic]يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُواْ إِنَّمَا الْخَمْرُ وَالْمَيْسِرُ وَالأَنصَابُ وَالأَزْلاَمُ رِجْسٌ مِّنْ عَمَلِ الشَّيْطَانِ فَاجْتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ

5:90 (Y. Ali) O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of) stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination,- of Satan’s handwork: eschew such (abomination), that ye may prosper.

[FONT=Traditional Arabic]يَسْأَلُونَكَ عَنِ الْخَمْرِ وَالْمَيْسِرِ قُلْ فِيهِمَا إِثْمٌ كَبِيرٌ وَمَنَافِعُ لِلنَّاسِ وَإِثْمُهُمَآ أَكْبَرُ مِن نَّفْعِهِمَا وَيَسْأَلُونَكَ مَاذَا يُنفِقُونَ قُلِ الْعَفْوَ كَذَلِكَ يُبيِّنُ اللّهُ لَكُمُ الآيَاتِ لَعَلَّكُمْ تَتَفَكَّرُونَ

2:219 (Y. Ali) They ask thee concerning wine and gambling. Say: “In them is great sin, and some profit, for men; but the sin is greater than the profit.” They ask thee how much they are to spend; Say: “What is beyond your needs.” Thus doth Allah Make clear to you His Signs: In order that ye may consider-

As one can see from the verses … Allah SWT has equated wine (without any of its effects … drunk or no drunk) with KABEERA sin, the greatest of sins. Not an ordinary one but one of the worst kind.

In the other verse if it is declared to be the handiwork of Satan (AMAL USH SHAITAN) and our prosperity has been linked with it.

People who understand the basic fundamental concepts of Islam can never mistake these verses and go off looking for an explicit declaration with the words of HARAM in it.

Watch this video…

Pakistan may not have any Pubs like the rest of the world and many posters here many not drink…but many of them have indulged in their fortunes being read…which is a bigger sin than drinking as this video shows

bro m2k...i felt like crying what the bro said and how true it is...we "think" we are muslims but we ain't in major ways. Allah ham par raHm kare par uske liye hameN Khud ko sudhaarnaa hogaa...aameen

Peace saraali

This argument can be turned on its head. By someone who is Muslim drinking alcohol in front of you is clearly making a statement that alcohol is permissible, knowing that you do not believe it to be so. If they do not want to be judged by people then they should respect others enough not to drink in front of them or else they are promoting the alcohol they claim that they do without harming anyone.

If I were kill a human in front of someone it becomes the onlookers burden to report me to the authorities. If I did this killing in secret then there would be no burden on anyone.

Likewise for any would be sin.

Knowing that you believe it to be a sin they should at least not drink in front of you and that as a Muslim you advise against sin it is your responsibility to care for the spiritual welfare of other people. Rather you are being criticised for judging others but it is they who are judging your motives for the advise you give. If you gave the advice to save your friend from sin, then you are being kind and not judgemental. Furthermore you could be doing so to save yourself from the responsibility that becomes impressed on you when you see a sin.

We are advised in Islam to hide our sins from others the obvious wisdoms for this are:

a) We help prevent the sin becoming a societal problem and keep it to ourselves
b) We are protecting the potential friend from sinning
c) We are protecting our own interests that we warned when it was time to do so

Remember the hadith ... Stop injustice with your hand, or with tongue or dislike it in heart and that is the least of faith. Well by advising friends you are simply carrying out an instruction.

So to summarise ... are they harming anyone else ... yes as they can be seen to be promoting it. Why ask only God can judge ... well it is the sanction of God through His Beloved Prophet that we must seek the welfare of each other and to advise each other against sin and injustices.

Just a simple question....

Even taking interest is haraam. How many of the posters here who go hammer and tongs against drinking alcohol can survive without either giving interest or taking interest...
To each his own. That should be the philosophy. Dont judge people by these matters. Let God do that.