so...will u ever be a 100%

british,if you hold a british passport and are classified as a british national everywhere…do you yourself feel 100% british or will you ever feel 100% british?(or apply your own situation here,eg,american national).We were having a disscussion in our english lesson about this,how there is and will always be the mention of race,thats an asian british,thats a black british…the way english(gorey)are given priority over others in all fields.Do you think we all will ever be 100% british?or feel 100% british?

as for me,i think that nope,even if we hold a british passport we will never completely feel british.Discrimination will always be there.Maybe after a century things might be slightly different…but not alot.

i hold a dutch passport,i always put down “dutch” as my nationality,but i consider my self a pakistani

i live in Canada, so i'll tel u my perspective.

No, i would never consider myself 100% Canadian and noone else here would either. I will always be asked "whats ur background" and "where were u born"

I am always asked about Pakistan at the American/Canadian border pre and post Sept. 11

Holding a passport doesn't make me Canadian or for that matter holding a Pakistani passport doesn't make me a Pakistani. As a matter of fact, i dont' have a Pakistani passport, but i lived in Pakistan for 18 years and even though Pakistani government officially might not consider me Pakistani, i and everyone else will always see me as a Pakistani first and Canadian later.

But that doesn't mean that i'll bittray Canada or something like that. I love this country and respect the rules, obligations and duties that i have as a Canadian citizen.

true,but many pakistanis here,who were born here dont like the fact that they are classed as asian british,it is actually quite true,if they were born here,than why the discrimination...calling them "asian british" If they were born here,then why the discrimination?

I was born in England and lived there for the first 8 years of my life. Then, I moved to Canada and became a Canadian citizen. I have dual citizenship, but still the European passport for when I travel.

I don't know what I am. I consider myself British simply because of the fact that I'm an immigrant in Canada and wasn't born here, although I have a citizenship card.

I will never consider myself Pakistani though...either British or Canadian only.

I really consider myself a brit. the dun challa of asian-brit is what shows us as being a distinctive minority group within UK. In my view an Asian Brit is no diff than a balochi Pakistani, being a blaoch makes the person no less pakistani and being a pakistani makes the person no less baloch.

as far as 100%, I am only 100% an inhabitant of this planet and according to religioues texts even an immigrant here after adam and eve were kicked out of heaven. :)

I consider myself both. I hold dual nationality and the truth is I like both places. Some things about Pakistan do get on my wick but it's where most of my family live so I'm not going to slag the place.

I often get asked who I'll support when Pakistan plays against England and I always say straight up Pakistan. This gets a shocked and hurt reaction from gorays initially but they always come round and are back to normal pretty quickly after a few choice expletives of me being a black b******

pj tu koi british shritish nayee hae oyay :hug: u r 100% paki :hug:

PK u know my story…u know how much i love pakistan
and how much i hate it when my mom calls me an ABCD just coz i was born here :frowning:
i know some desi ppl r not proud of their religion, or their culture (mainly abt not hanging out with someone of the opposite sex) or their nationality. i know one pakistani in my skool and he acts like such a brat. i mean we all know u hold an american passport and u dont have pride in ur country but stop acting like these ppl for God’s sake!!
bohut ghussa aata hai :mad2:

*Originally posted by punjabi kuri !!!: *
true,but many pakistanis here,who were born here dont like the fact that they are classed as asian british,it is actually quite true,if they were born here,than why the discrimination...calling them "asian british" If they were born here,then why the discrimination?

u cant change the fact tht u r originally from asia!! i mean u will always be classified as an asian no matter kahan kay passport lay lo!! yeh to hota hai aur hota rahay gaaa

*Originally posted by punjabi kuri !!!: *

The reason they dont want to be called as asian british or pakistani -british, they think being part of pakistan or asian is something not nice or make them 2nd class citizens.

I live in london. i just beleive I am pakistani and will stay forever. british passport can give me visa free travel thats all. but i do like the country.

ethinic origin is not something we should be ashamed off. its true and our generations will still be pakistanis. asians etc.

That will never change. a chinese stay chinese, a pakistani stay pakistani no matter he/she changed or born anywhere else in the world.

I think even if you want to become 100% british or 100% american - people in those countries constantly remind you you are from somewhere else.

*Originally posted by 4`da~starz~: *

u cant change the fact tht u r originally from asia!! i mean u will always be classified as an asian no matter kahan kay passport lay lo!! yeh to hota hai aur hota rahay gaaa

but asian is ethnic origin, not a nationality.

*Originally posted by Shak killS: *
ethinic origin is not something we should be ashamed off. its true and our generations will still be pakistanis. asians etc.

That will never change. a chinese stay chinese, a pakistani stay pakistani no matter he/she changed or born anywhere else in the world.

ethnic origin you cant change, well aside from inter marriage with teh locals for a few generations..but nationality is not the same as ethnic origin.

If a Pakistani moves to UK, he is a brit of asian origin, sure..no questions, but is he a pakistani? will your kids feel as pakistani as you, what about their kids?

you by now have thought about how many generations down the road will Pakistan be an origin. Now how does that compare to ppl who moved to Pakistan from India, are they now Pakistani, or are they forever Indian?

ahhhh....quite a paradox here innit :)

thank God; u figured that out pretty quick! :halo:

humhain, it would really help who you were addressing and on what point :)

challo shabaash dobarah likho. safai kay 5 number.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Now how does that compare to ppl who moved to Pakistan from India, are they now Pakistani, or are they forever Indian?

generally...they are called "mohajirs"

punjabi kuri,

so if an immigrant from india or his kids or grandkids are still mohajir, are the not Pakistani...

and therefore..

so if an immigrant to UK from Pakistan and his kids are still asian,, are they not british :)

are the people who migrated from india only partially pakistani? just like ppl who move from Pakistan to UK?

wht i tried to say in my earlier reply was,that even though they will be considered pakistanis...people will still refer to them mohajirs...im not talking now about whether they are fully pakistani or not,im now talking about how people generally refer to them...as mohajirs.

What do I need to be 100% American/Canadian ?? I mean why is this criteria only for Non Goras ? If a Gora who lives in Canada, speak french, Can talk about his glorious french past/history and still be a 100 % canadian, why cant the non Goras do the same ??

asik k i think there are 2 distinct issues here.

one is that ppl complain that oh we are still referredto as asians..well cuz thats the ethnicity kinda about it.

the other is how some ppl say , o yaaar tum kitnay bhi Uk/US mein paisa ho pallo barrho magar raho gay humesha pakistani hi.

yes there is going to be a group of "locals" who will look at you as immigrant atleast for a few generations, but then there is also a group of desis who think that just because you dientify with as country you were born and raised in that youa re some wanna be gora and a sellout.

I think both of these groups have their own hangups :D