*Originally posted by punjabi kuri !!!: *
wht i tried to say in my earlier reply was,that even though they will be considered pakistanis...people will still refer to them mohajirs...im not talking now about whether they are fully pakistani or not,im now talking about how people generally refer to them...as mohajirs.
Likewise, people, esp. natives of your host/adopted land, will still refer to you as *an Asian immigrant *regardless of dutch/brit/canadian passport or your personal perceptions of yourself.
Still the Pakistani wont touch you & the British /Canadian wont ACCEPT you .So with that fate isnt my attitude better that i anm happy having one to sleep with & you hankering for multiple parteners yet getting NONE :nono: :nono: :nono:
I needed to apologize to you for the exchange on crnr thread :nahnah:
Likewise, people, esp. natives of your host/adopted land, will still refer to you as *an Asian immigrant *regardless of dutch/brit/canadian passport or your personal perceptions of yourself.
Obviously, you have severe problems comprehending English. In the Corner Room thread, we were discussing men and their need to have multiple partners. If you were taught how to read properly and actually understood the words on your screen, you would have read that I was referring to men and never made any reference to myself or my behaviour. Yet again, you have been able to prove to the Guppies how ignorant you truly are as you make assumptions that are false.
Anyway, about this thread … who says I haven’t been accepted in North American society? What the hell are you talking about? None of your posts on GUPSHUP make any sense. I’m not the only one who fails to understand your stupidity and lack of logic. Before you hit, “submit reply”, proof-read your responses and fix your errors cause you sound like an idiot.
It would be quite refreshing to see ppl become 100% humans first :) before becoming 100% of anything else. May end all the general lameness that goes around in society and the world.
i can have 2 nationalities or different countries , but ppl wud still ask me where i am from "originally". i never felt at home in pakistan, never felt at home in mideast, and now in canada, i think i am getting used to it but dont know how i feel about it, i definetly like it though.
I was born in England. I have a British passport and nationality and I do not speak with a bud-bud-ding-ding accent BUT…
The Caucasian Brits will always think of me as a Pakistani.
There’s a guy at our college who was born in the States, he has a strong American accent, only speaks English, only wears western clothes, only eats English foods and his whole family is that way, but guess what his ethnic origin is? Pakistan, I saw it on his personal information sheet, but he never admits it, every time we ask him if he’s a Pakistani “oh I’m not from their both my parents were born in the States and so was I” then we ask him “why are you brown skinned then?” and he says “my grandparents come from some place in South Asia but I can’t remember precisely where and I can’t ask them the country because they are dead”
I’ve spoke to his cousins over the net and they say his family is from Peshawar but he tries hiding it like its something to be ashamed of, its so bad that they had a Persian rug in their lounge and his cousin says he told his mother to throw it away because it makes them look too ethnic, and his mother agreed.
Its not like being westernised makes him look good.
At college the Non-Desis still refer to him as a Curry Muncher, Paki, Sand Nigger etc.
Even the teachers don’t refer to him as an American; it’s always that Asian lad or the Pakistani boy…
We can’t change our identity, we are who we are and we should be Proud of it.
Wanna-be-goray desis remind me of the saying “Kawwa Chala Hans Ki Chal Aur Apni Chaal Bhi Bhool Gaya”
Except in this case it’s the hans trying to chal the kawwey ki chaal.
A lot of people out there suffer from self denial, but you are what you are and it does'nt matter how much you try hiding it.
If you convince yourself that you are Canadian or American, you will be the only one who is convinced becuase the rest of the country still sees you as a foreigner.
Maybe when we go from being 1st or 2nd generation to 4rth or 5th things will be different, but right now we are definitly still Pakistani.
That is not to say there is anything wrong with these countries, we live here and should fully appreciate them.
If you convince yourself that you are Canadian or American, you will be the only one who is convinced becuase the rest of the country still sees you as a foreigner.
Maybe when we go from being 1st or 2nd generation to 4rth or 5th things will be different, but right now we are definitly still Pakistani.
That is not to say there is anything wrong with these countries, we live here and should fully appreciate them.
that is the way i feel too but i know and see ppl here who just want to cut out the fact that they are originally from pakistan, they keep saying we were born here we are british...i understand how they feel too,when being the 4th generation born & bred here they are still asked by some gora or whoever where are you from? & they argue that they are british....at the end of the conv,its like where are you originally from mate?& the answer is still well im from here,but my great grandparent were born in pakistan.
I don't think it works that way. Mauritius (island with originally a black population) was heavily colonised with desis by the French and British over 200 years ago.
Now you have 4th/5th/6th generation French-speaking desis on Mauritius, and the majority of them feel no emotional or family ties to the Indian Sub-continent, despite maintaining a predominantly desi culture. They identify themselves very much as Mauritians rather than Indians etc.
I don't think it works that way. Mauritius (island with originally a black population) was heavily colonised with desis by the French and British over 200 years ago.
Now you have 4th/5th/6th generation French-speaking desis on Mauritius, and the majority of them feel no emotional or family ties to the Indian Sub-continent, despite maintaining a predominantly desi culture. They identify themselves very much as Mauritians rather than Indians etc.
the succes story in africa considering the mix of population
Yeah, I totally understand what you mean. I guess some people just try too hard to be white. In the end you are what you are.
As for the Mauritias, the difference is likely that the native people on the isles were reltively powerless when the first desis arrived and may in fact feel that desis improved the living conditions on the island. The situation is obviosuly not analogous to modern immigration to Western countries where immigrants are often resented by the local population.