does anyone think so? frankly what we say here, or what the media says, or what the heck the people of Pakistan or other countries think. Musharraf will get re elected with a thumping majority. many people want to talk about constitution. why bother? we dont have a working constituition. we have never had that in the last sixty years and we will not have it for another sixty years, if the country survives that far into the future.
Re: so who thinks musharraf wont get elected?
Musharraf was always going to get the PML-Q and the MQM's assembly members to vote for him, even in a fair election. Throw in the PPP's votes if Benazir orders her people to vote for Musharraf now that corruption charges have been dropped and Musharraf will win fairly by a large margin.
by looking at the way the oppersition is wetting there pants, i think he will win by a margin,
does anyone think so? frankly what we say here, or what the media says, or what the heck the people of Pakistan or other countries think. Musharraf will get re elected with a thumping majority. many people want to talk about constitution. why bother? we dont have a working constituition. we have never had that in the last sixty years and we will not have it for another sixty years, if the country survives that far into the future.
yeah with rigged elections and looking at recent shuffle in the military, mush has made sure he gets elected and every oher candidate gets thumped in the the process.
our constitution? its become a joke, every tom dick harry that come to power in pakistan, ammends it to suit his needs and to cement his hold to the power
^ sad but true
Political instability proving costly
THE other day there were some reports in newspapers which were indeed quite alarming and deserved concern as well as attention of every Pakistan.
This is no reference to the APDM announcement that their legislators will resign, Maulana Fazlur Rahman’s statement his party was not taken into confidence by APDM leadership or for that matter the promotion, posting and transfers at the senior level in the Pakistan army as a matter of routine.
Reports said that after a pretty long time, foreign investment in Pakistan has declined by 16 per cent in the first two months of current fiscal, i.e. July and August. This sharp decline over a short period has been attributed to uncertain political situation prevailing in the country for the last few months.
Another report said that due to prevailing political instability, both foreign and local investment has shown downward trend and progress on projects in the pipeline in the private sector has also stopped.
It can safely be said without any fear of contradiction that the political instability has been caused by the opposition’s constant negative tactics and indifferent attitude towards resolving matters of national importance and taking care of the public needs along with the government to mitigate the problems of the masses at large. Redressing people’s grievances is supposed to be the responsibility of the government but at the same time opposition parliamentarians cannot be absolved of their obligations in this regard.
The foreign investment which had started flowing in due to economic reforms and policies initiated by President Gen Musharraf has slowed down due to prevailing political instability and this is indeed a national loss. Greater flow of foreign investment can only be ensured through peace, tranquillity and conducive atmosphere.
This is only possible when there is political stability for which the president has time and again called for. One may be against the general and the government but why continue with negative and undemocratic tactics as a result of which political instability prevails which is proving costly unless the situation is improved and all join hands to strengthen political stability.
Political stability, as well as continuity of developmental activities in different sectors through foreign and local investment, is essentially required for keeping march onwards on the road of progress, prosperity and economic growth.
Please do not let political instability persist long as it is proving costly for Pakistan and its people.
KHALID I. KHAN
Lahore
Sorry, but this is not election. It us more of formality than anything else. We already know...this just for show and nothing more. It has nothing to do with democracy, constitution or any other legal mumbo jumbo.
I do:cb:
Sorry, but this is not election. It us more of formality than anything else. We already know...this just for show and nothing more. It has nothing to do with democracy, constitution or any other legal mumbo jumbo.
SO you think he won't win fairly? You think the MQM and PML-Q assembly members won't vote for him? You think the PPP will not vote for him if he makes a deal with Benazir?
I think PPP PMLQ and MQM will not get elected in a FAIR election...
So who would get elected in a fair election? PML-N? MMA?
The PML-N have lost 2 fair elections to the PPP before; and the MMA's constituent parties have historically never done well in elections; their best ever results came during Musharraf's rule and even then some people alleged that this only happened because of voting irregularities.
At any rate, the presidential election is based on the current assembly, which is dominated by the PML-Q, MQM and PPP put together.
Read this:
http://adnspice.com/~politics/polls/
Which Alliance would you Vote?
Nawaz + Imran + Qazi 2477 87% of all votes
Benazir + Mush + Altaf 354 13% of all votes
Total Votes: 2831
Started: August 28, 2007
and this:
Which party would you vote for ?
PTI - Imran Khan 1608 68% of all votes
PMLN - Nawaz Sharif 375 16% of all votes
PPP - Benazir Bhutto 112 5% of all votes
PMLQ - General Musharraf 98 4% of all votes
MMA - Qazi Maulana 98 4% of all votes
MQM - Altaf Hussain 81 3% of all votes
Total Votes: 2372
Started: July 28, 2007
Back to Vote Screen
I said FAIR election…
To get elected from these assemblies for another 5 years is not at all fair…
SO you think he won't win fairly?
How can there be fair election when he has been manipulation the system and making back door deals with BB and others?
Bhaijan, making deals is not illegal. Ye dunya deals par qayam hai.
God Bless President Musharaf. God Bless Pakistan. ![]()
bhai saab, i have seen more then 100 polls on the net where musharaf has won by a big margin, these proven nothing but jack.
and who will?
PPP and PML-Q will easily defeat the rest.
doesnt mean there great, it just that we dnt have any good partys.
You are right. Apart from the parties you mention, all parties are too divided. I am not talking about one man band such as PTI.
God Bless President Musharaf. ![]()
Political instability proving costly
THE other day there were some reports in newspapers which were indeed quite alarming and deserved concern as well as attention of every Pakistan.
This is no reference to the APDM announcement that their legislators will resign, Maulana Fazlur Rahman’s statement his party was not taken into confidence by APDM leadership or for that matter the promotion, posting and transfers at the senior level in the Pakistan army as a matter of routine.
Reports said that after a pretty long time, foreign investment in Pakistan has declined by 16 per cent in the first two months of current fiscal, i.e. July and August. This sharp decline over a short period has been attributed to uncertain political situation prevailing in the country for the last few months.
Another report said that due to prevailing political instability, both foreign and local investment has shown downward trend and progress on projects in the pipeline in the private sector has also stopped.
It can safely be said without any fear of contradiction that the political instability has been caused by the opposition’s constant negative tactics and indifferent attitude towards resolving matters of national importance and taking care of the public needs along with the government to mitigate the problems of the masses at large. Redressing people’s grievances is supposed to be the responsibility of the government but at the same time opposition parliamentarians cannot be absolved of their obligations in this regard.
The foreign investment which had started flowing in due to economic reforms and policies initiated by President Gen Musharraf has slowed down due to prevailing political instability and this is indeed a national loss. Greater flow of foreign investment can only be ensured through peace, tranquillity and conducive atmosphere.
This is only possible when there is political stability for which the president has time and again called for. One may be against the general and the government but why continue with negative and undemocratic tactics as a result of which political instability prevails which is proving costly unless the situation is improved and all join hands to strengthen political stability.
Political stability, as well as continuity of developmental activities in different sectors through foreign and local investment, is essentially required for keeping march onwards on the road of progress, prosperity and economic growth.
Please do not let political instability persist long as it is proving costly for Pakistan and its people.
KHALID I. KHAN Lahore
Mo, do post link to this as well.
How can there be fair election when he has been manipulation the system and making back door deals with BB and others?
What is unfair about making deals with BB? If PPP assembly members feel that their voters' best interests are served through supporting Musharraf's presidency bid, that's just democracy in action.
How can you argue he's manipulated the system when the same Supreme Court that has been willing to oppose him on many matters then legitimised his actions running up to the election?
Deal? You mean making sure that he (mush) wins by getting BB on his side, just like NS, IMMI BHAI and QAZI SAHAB tried to make sure to get her on THEIR side?