So Upset

Re: So Upset

omg - what you just described is my worst nightmare… and i am in the same position as you that I am going to have to order my dress … :frowning:

I am not even going to be able to go to pakistan at all so fittings are out of the question. Since nothing I have ever gotten from pakistan has ever fit me right (even when a sample kameez has been sent) … this has me really freaked out. :frowning:

:hugz: Focus more on everything else … focus on the shaadi itself and look forward to wearing your walima dress if you are let down by the shaadi jora. We are pakistani and lucky that we have the opportunity to have two bridals! Try to foucs on positives hun and dont let this effect you too much so that it takes away from such a happy time in your … easier said than done because I can truly understand how disappointed you are. :frowning:

and btw- i am the same type of bride as you… i am not going to show anyone my bridal (except my mom and sister) before the actual wedding…

Yumyumyum, Kamiar Rokni is not affiliated with karma anymore. Anyways I got my bridal and a few other things from karma and I was not disappointed. Everything fit perfectly well and there was nothing out of place and I received everything on time as well. So don't be nervous!

Did you have Maheen design something for you? Or you purchased something from the collection? Just asking out of curiosity.

Thanks PunjabiRose, yes I do love my Valima outfit, but it still hurts when it's the one dress you've been imagining for so long. Would I be stupid to send it back to him with the wedding only 3 weeks away?

^sorry to be blunt, but yes it would be...don't send it back! I've seen far too many brides who order from abroad not even get a dress PERIOD in time for their wedding. its better to have a dress than no dress.

secondly, I think where you went wrong was in giving him the whole payment in advance. I know you dont live there, but usually, the common practice is to give half up front and half upon receipt, which mabye if you had a relative there or something, you could've done it that way. This way designers have an incentive to give you exactly what you asked for and expected, and like you said, he now has no incentive to go out of his way to rush it back to you in time when he already has what he wants. that being said, you did order from a reputed designer so you shouldnt have to go through this and its unfortunate.

besides, in sending it, it'll take a few days, and for him to send it back it'll take a few days and you're sending it during peak shaadi season when he has to get wedding dresses to girls whose full payments he does not have, so i'm sure he would put their dresses importance above your own. i'm sure the dress doesn't look as bad as you think, get it altered from here if you can, and afterwards, make sure you post awful reviews about him!

noo hinah dont do tht, yeh na ho k they cnt send it bck again or something will stop it..
just think postive, shadi k dino mei kuch acha bhi hota hai aur kuch bura... just enjoy ur day without thinking to much abt it, i knw it hurts tht u have waited for an awesome bridal lehnga, but
there is noothing to do... wishing u all the best (^^)

and inshallah u will look awesome... dulhan ka roop nikarhta hai barat aur walime k din and no1 can be as dulhan tht day (^^)

sigh yeah I didn't really think sending it back was an option but just thought I'd let it out there....

Thank you all for the lovely comments, my mom kept telling me the same thing that after putting on jewelry and make up and everything, it can work out okay...

If anyone has any other suggestions on how to rectify the situation, please let me know.

sigh yeah I didn't really think sending it back was an option but just thought I'd let it out there....

Thank you all for the lovely comments, my mom kept telling me the same thing that after putting on jewelry and make up and everything, it can work out okay...

It looks like he's saying he'll send a clutch to me through email but really that is hardly the main problem, the problem is the coat. The fact that in the drawing there were multiple motifs going up and many spread all over and in the real one the main motif is off the the side where it can't be seen and fill with basically three motifs that are only 3-4 inches and those are suppose to be the "big" ones. The rest is filled with 2 inch motifs that are SOOOOOOO spread apart that there's maybe only 5-6 for the whole coat.

If anyone has any other suggestions on how to rectify the situation, please let me know.

greeeeeeeeeat. for some reason my MIL chose this person for my walima dress.. when i repeatedly said i wanted Umar Syed! Grrrrr.. i really hope she told him 2 months before the actual shaadi. i think its unacceptable for them to send the dress so close to the actual wedding day.

UGH! now im nervous. can anyone post pics?!?

greeeeeeeeeat. for some reason my MIL chose this person for my walima dress.. when i repeatedly said i wanted Umar Syed! Grrrrr.. i really hope she told him 2 months before the actual shaadi. i think its unacceptable for them to send the dress so close to the actual wedding day.

UGH! now im nervous. can anyone post pics?!?

^hey don't stress out! As hinah786 said, keep in touch with him and stay on his back about things
did you pay the entire amount? or only the advance? as someone pointed out before just pay the advance at first and pay the rest when you get your dress or whatever

aww I hope your dress turns out just like how you expect
and hinah786 don't send it back since your wedding is only 3 weeks away and try to enjoy this time and let it go (even though its easier said than done) because you don't want to lose these precious moments worrying about this
focus on your wedding and other aspects and since your mother is reassuring you that everything looks great with the jewelry on and stuff, so just be happy :)

We paid him an advance but prior to him shipping it out, made the total payment. Huge mistake. He kept reassuring me it was so beautiful but ironically, wouldn't send the pictures to back it up.

My mehndi outfit and much of my jahez is from Karma and see alot of striking similarities between my mehndi outfit and my bridal jora. So if you like Karma stuff, you'll like Kami's stuff but you're definitely going to be paying a higher mark up from him than Karma. My mehndi outfit ended up having more kaam on it than my shaadi jora :/

But, the kaam IS very delicate, which is the only positive thing I have to say. He kept telling me to relax and leave it up to him now that the drawing was done and the colors were decided--which I did since I didn't want to impede on his designing capabilities, which is what we pay for. Be on his back about it all the time.

SoontobeMrs.BB, it looks like you're in Dallas along with me. I wonder if I know you! My wedding is only a few weeks away, so if you want afterwards, I can show it to you if it'd make you feel better.

I am sorry I might be completely off topic but IMHO, that perfect dress, jewelry, make up, etc etc really doesn't matter much. What matters most is the person you are marrying. So if you are marrying a person who respects you, cares for you, and loves you then don't stress over the amount of kaam, color of napkins, etc rather cherish the beautiful moment of your union. If he truly loves you, he would not care if you have a heavy kaam wala dress or simple shalwar kameez.

May you all be blessed with a very happy married life. ameen

Lusi, I agree with you 100%. The issue isn't just that, it's the fact that you paid for something and you got ripped off. If I had a couch custom made and it ended up with two pillows missing that we included in the design, I'd be equally upset.

hina 786 and mrs bb. if u guys dont mind asking how mch did kamiar bridals cost and how many months did he take to make the bridals..thanks

^ Hey hun .. the only thing I can say is not to worry.
I know that your wedding dress isn't what you had pictured, but at the end of the day, only you know what you wanted it to look like.. no1 else will know the difference

And even tho its not what you had in mind, I am sure that you'll make a gorgeous bride InshAllah... and once you see yourself all dolled up with makeup, hair, jewellery, etc, you will InshAllah be satisfied with the way you look :)

And I kno it sucks that you didn't get what you paid for, but try to make peace with the fact that atleast you got your dress - since that was what you were also concerned with... and that would've been way worse.

It's a totally unfair situation no doubt and I'm really sorry to hear about it... but you will look gorgeous InshAllah... and hey, there's always KARMA you can count on ;) :P

Hey Enigmaa, I just private messaged you the cost and months. I hope that helps!

Thanks MissSN, you're right, no one will know that it's not what I had imagined. Yeah, I've heard other horror stories where the dress came in after the wedding! So Alhamdulillah, that did not happen. Thank you for your kind words, it really means a lot :) and omg I actually laughed out loud at the Karma pun lol! So true! Karma really was absolutely GREAT to work with!