with all the zillions of worries surrounding having a child… clothes are probably the least of most women worries… right?
Being a desi girl living/working in the west, most of us typically have 2 separate wardrobes, desi and non-desi. it’s expensive enough getting the right accessories for both without breaking the budget and taking up space…
so now let’s throw into the equation being pregnant.
what do you do those few months that u need nice stuff to wear?
u need proper maternity wear if you’ll be working or just want to look good…
how are hte logistics of a desi wardrobe?
do u just “fix” everythign that u already have? order new stuff?
its not like u can order ur stuff in advance, cz u dont know how fat you’ll get not to mention where that fat will end up. nor is it possible to just “alter” everything u already have cz we dont have cheap darzis who are around the corner ya know?
basically–how do you manage to get your wardrobe to keep up with a rapidly changing body?
chota sa masla hai, but phir bhi… im a curious mind
Well, my cousin's wedding is at the end of the month and her dholki was just this past weekend. I've lost weight but still nothing fits! I was finally able to find one suit that was perfect for the occasion and still fits. Such drama!
But for the wedding, Ammi is going to take out the shirt of one of my ghararas. There's enough space. I have a suit for the mehndi that was stitched kinda loose, that I hope will still fit. For any other occasions, or if these don't work out, I'll have to wear saris. Most of my blouses have room to be taken out. But I can also wear Ammi's or MIL's saris, and just stitch their blouses a bit. We'll see what works.
As for non-desi stuff, I think SGC mentioned her friend wore a BellaBand for most of her pregnancy. I haven't gotten one yet, but will probably do so. And I got a pair of maternity jeans, because I figured they were worth it. One of my cousins said she mostly wore longish shirts with yoga style pants, and she was comfy.
Congrats Sahar i think :) But I agree with the comment about the bella band (Sold at babies r us, motherhood, Target). You can wear that over your current jeans/pants with buttons open and it the band will hold up the pants......then maybe later when those dont fit anymore, you can invest in maternity clothes. I happened to have several Baby doll type shirts, so they are working still in pregnancy & I am 7 months now and been gaining.
I would say it is only worth shopping in a wardrobe of maternity clothes if you work full time and need to look your best, otherwise maybe one or 2 pairs should suffice and u can wear the comfy yoga pants, stretchy type stuff and get by.
As for desi stuff....I had some outfits that were too big for me before & are now fitting. Other stuff is small on me and I have attended desi dinners/functions in decent pair of dress pants/shirts cuz im not gonna go out and spend 100$'s on outfits i will only wear temporarily. Your better off opening some kameez if you have the space...or buy really cute tunics and wear them with slacks or something.
I got a pair of maternity jeans and a few kurtis stichted in babydoll style. I think they will do just fine for a couple more months.
As for desi outfits, I got some old outfits loosened up and my MIL got me a few outfits stitched from Pakistan. I have a few more months to go, so I dont plan to spend any more money on clothing until I am done, even though, I am tempted to get more stuff all the time lol...
Congrats Sahar, so very happy for you and all the other pregnant ladies!
Sara, believe it or not i got great stuff in the maternity section of Carsons/Younkers that was on sale for 5-10 bucks a piece. I bought a few pieces and wore them all through out. IN the end when none of the shalwar kameez fit, i had MIL send 3 really loose shalwar suits and wore them to death. I am sooo bored with all my preg outfits that i want to throw them out and since i didnt spend more than 50 bucks on maternity wear, i dont feel so bad about it but i am keeping them incase for the next one
This is what i have worn for the other two pregnancies, and wearing now with the third:
Lots of wrap dresses/wrap tops (great investment as it’s easily adjustable according to the size of your belly!)
smock style tops/kaftans/tunics
maxi dresses… they are my vice… teamed with a cute denim jacket… maxi dresses keep me cool and i can take the jacket off if i get too agitated and flustered!
Yoga style pants, maternity jeans, linen trousers, leggings/footless tights under any of the tops named above…
And i have a million pairs of flip flops that i wear 24/7… i can’t wear closed shoes/sandal/boots… i get “hafki”…
I had a bunch of shalwar kameez made recently, just simple bareeze suits, as i don’t wear shalwar kameez that much. For the first pregnancy i had them made way before, and they were like huge tents, even when i was at my largest, so from then i can kinda gauge what size i’d need in shalwar kameez… and i have a sewing machine at home where i can make adjustments myself (can’t actually sew though :()… so that may be worth investing in, rather than going to a darzee a trillion times…
i am expecting as well and in my 13th week. So far, I have found that wearing really loose tunics and stretchy pants helps. Also, try the yoga pants too since they are stretchy as well.
As for desi clothes, i hope that some will fit me but some are very loose and will fit later on. Plus you can always borrow stuff from your family members who wear a bigger size than you.
im 30 weeks pregnant n none of my shadi clothes fit me now :( there were lots of occassions in this month n i had to wear my sis clothes as i was too skinny before shadi so they cant fit me if i even loosen them ...what ever i got stiched after shadi r not fittin me either n now im gettin frock style or A-line shalwar kameez stiched...as for my western clothes no jeans r fittin as i used to have 28 waist lolzzz ....um in a very problematic situation as i know i will be back to my pre marraige size after delivery so i cant get the fancy clothes stiched for the up coming shadiiz....n yea one more tension of mine is what to wear on eid as my EDD is 23 sept n eid is also coming in these days ...and as it will be my first eid after marraige i want something kewl to wear but ....huh dont know what to do
Good luck MMKaki. I am due right around your time, Sept 24th and in same dilemma. Trying to figure out if it is even worth it to get an Eid outfit made, where I may possibly be in hospital that day. I wouldn't stress it too much. I have a sari that is not stitched....;if it works out that baby is born before eid, and I am able to attend an eid party, I will have sari blouse stitched accordingly.
Some people like to wear saris, as its only the blouse that needs to be made big, the sari part will pretty much fit whatever your size
My cousin at her sister's wedding had sitched maternity size clothes and then afterwards had them altered so they fit her slim figure again. She said it was fine and she didnt have a problem (like they didnt look weird)