So I was surfing GS

and I came across this page on the main forums: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/318498-looking-rishtas-post-here.html

Considering the topic name, I had a bazillion ideas going through my head for ways to troll the thread. Guy looking for second marriage. Girl looking for a wife. You know nice wholesome family fun topics.

But that came to a dead end when I started to see:

1. That everybody in that thread has a very beautiful brother/sister/daughter/son. I am amazed what are all these beautiful people doing unmarried…more trolling ideas came to my head.

2. Some/most people were asking about castes and what caste they were.

To be honest I was rather repulsed by the jahil attitude displayed in the threads. The concept of caste is a hindu tradition and not one even allowed by Islam so why do people place so much importance on it in this modern day and age?

See I can go from trolling to a decent subject in a matter of minutes. sigh If only it happened more often.

Re: So I was surfing GS

Oh CM !

It's interesting that you bring this up because I thought the same thing two days ago when I was looking through it. I guess people are going to think that their son/daughter/brother/sister are beautiful. But why are people still into castes??? I didn't even know what my "caste" was until recently.

thou shalt not troll!

Now I will :D

In Pakistan, caste is not really like the Caste system in India. It's more like which province you originally come from. You could be Sindhi, Pathan, Baloch, Punjabi, Muhajir, or, Kashmiri. It's usually in Punjab, where they put emphasis on Caste, because they have Jatts, Rajput, Ranghar, and so many more BUT they are ALL still Punjabi. If you go up north west, you will find many Pashtuns/Pakhtun caring about what tribe you are from. They call it caste or Zaat but it's only so that they could figure out what your background is. Some people do care about it because it somehow makes them bond better.

This reminded me of some quite interesting characters. One was pushtoon warrior or something to that effect. His self-marketing punch line was that being a pushtoon I am naturally fair and good looking (how awesome is that). And then our very own aamir pindi :hehe: he had laid out such a nice resume, giving every single detail - and then he had put a timer on how long he was available for and that girls really shouldn’t let such a good opportunity go. LMAO.

As for the whole caste thing, it is yet another bollocks concept we have learned and adopted from the confused mixed culture of the subcontinent.

And why can’t they hook up with each other, The first rishta is for a boy who is looking for a girl in US and the second one is from a girl looking for someone like the one mentioned in the first one. Did she not see the one above her post ? :hmmm:

I do agree with you on one thing ... That using castes as a mean of seeking rishta .. is Totally 100% ritual of the hindus..and Msulims should not be applying this.

As muslims its more important look if they ARE muslim etc ...

In my opinion, caste system is a symbol of how we are still so far behind. We are still stuck in stone-age mentality while the rest of the world has and is trying to free themselves from it.

When I see people asking about zaat or caste...I never tell them...because someone who is associating with me based on my caste is not someone I want around me anyway. Lots of people want to only marry into a Syed family or a Sheikh family. It doesn't help the bonding in anyway. Family traditions are not surname-specific. They are region specific.

People who are still questioning someone's zaat need to be questioned about their own morals because not only does it show lack of Islam in their life but it also is a warning sign for other people to be careful of.

Anyone who makes zaat an issue is simply concerned about status and how you can add to it.

lol. u hv noooo idea how much some people care about caste. whatever that is.

yeh caste kainee balaa hai? :konfused:

Bari buri balaa hai ^

yaar humein to koi bhi kahin kee bhi mil jaay :bummer: pata nahi log itney meen maikh kiun nikaaltey hain?

what did i read the title as "So i was suffering from GS" ? :)

tsk tsk… I’m so disappointed in you CM, I expected more from you :nahi:

I literally did not know what the word “zaat” meant… let alone what my own “zaat” was till my nani asked me what my fiance’s “zaat”. I was all :konfused: at the time. But my mom stepped in and told my nani they didn’t know and didn’t care about it. lol. Then they both explained to me what “zaat” was and what we were. Made me happy to know that my own parents are whatever about it. Thats how it should be. I can understand people wanting to marry people from the same region… to keep the same traditions and customs going… but marrying someone of the same caste??? That makes no sense to me… and yes. I will say it - it seems “paindoo” to me…

I have actually had this exact same thought when going through that thread…

I noticed the same thing in that thread. I don't know what's worse. That we still hold on to picking marriage partners by ancestry. Or that the entire Pakistani quom uses the term "caste" incorrectly.

Both are testimony to how stupid the Pakistani people are.

We use the term "caste" incorrectly. It doesn't mean jack s**T! Like I mentioned before, our usage or the term caste is not the same as the caste system Indians use.