So, I Scared the Hell Out of This Guy.

by … alright, well… asking him to hang out with me so we could get to know one another… (some may call that a date, but lets not get into semantics here).

Well, it appears that I scared the hell out of him. He was beginning to be interested, but then he … ran away?

Anyway, so this happened in April. I haven’t seen him all summer. In fact, he actually moved to med school (still at the same university), so I don’t see him on a regular basis anymore. But even when I do, the guy looks so uncomfortable when he sees me. Ab mein kya bataon? Its not like I’m running after him or stalking him. Our group of friends is the same, so its inevitable we’ll be at the same place at the same time at some points in the year. I feel bad, because I didn’t mean to make him feel uncomfortable. In fact, I also feel bad, because he makes me feel like such a slut. Like what I did was SO bad. But then, it couldn’t have been bad, really. Didn’t Khadija propose to the Rasul? I had enough guts to propose to the guy.

The experience has left me :

1. a man-hater
  2. wary of hanging out with my friends, becuase he’ll be there and the whole time, he’ll feel like he doesn’t want to be there.
  3. feeling like i’m a slut or a “bad girl”

And I shouldn’t have to feel any of that!

You know?

Dammit, aik aur larkey ney hamara naam dabo diya!!!

Well, the guy may be "scared" because of 2 reasons:

1. Usually desi guys (I am assuming he's desi) don't expect desi girls to make the first move.
  2. He may not be interested in THAT WAY. Now you may say just to get to know someone is not bad, but most of the times guys don't want to get to know people they are not interested in. 2 girls like me on my campus and the've told me that. I don't want to get to know them better, that's why I feel uncomfortable whenever they are around me because they act in a different way :-s

Well everyone is different.

I was in an exact similar situation only difference was that I didn't behave the way this asshole is acting up. I acted normal as if nothing has happened or that conversation never took place. I think you should do the same. Ignore him COMPLETELY but do NOT change anything otherwise. Stay in the same group of friends , so everything as if you would have done regardless of this guy.

If this idiot has any manners, he would make the situation easier for the both of you. But looks like he lacks relationship skills with the opposite gender.

what an insecure idiot, why does you asking him out affect his ego or deminish his masculinity?

On the other hand, maybe he realised you asked him out and just didnt fancy u and thus to save both your faces is avoiding you to make your lives easier.

See if you look at it that way you should thank him.

(that has the side effect of bruising your ego though :bummer: bit of an owwie eh? )

Ohh this happened to me once..only thing in my case he came and told the whole class the next day and made fun of me saying “who’d go out with her”

And I was just interested in friendship…and I wanted a buddy to take for the opening night of The Matrix :bummer:

lastknightess - that's horrible!

I don't know if this guy is trying to save face...what I did - no one knew about. And he acts this way when no one is there also. Like last night, I went to the library, and I saw him there watching his medical lectures on video. I locked eyes with him (as one would randomly as they look around) and he made this stern, disapproving face.

Funguy, you're right - he doen't have much skill with girls - he tends to run away from them or talk to them in a formal manner if he has to. Doesn't make any sense.

Its such a waste. I know a lot about him - I don't know what he knows about me. But we have so many common interests. I know we'd be great friends if nothing else. But then, I guess he's too conservative to believe in friendship with girls.

Akh!

PCG I admire you for what you did. Is this the same mulla guy who was in the MSA or something? You saw him, you liked him and you told him so! cool man.

Maybe he'll change his mind and realise he's hopelessly in love with you and is extremely lucky to have a girl like you interested in him. Play it cool and make an extra effort with your appearance.

maybe he is acting like this purposefully.....just to submit you to a psychological test and see how u hold urself. If you have any resistance in you for psychological torture. At the moment he came to the conclusion that u failed.

Just a hypothesis of what he might be doing......at least I've would have done so :D

Come again Nessy? You’re saying he’s ignoring her on prupose just to see if she’s still interested in him?

Hmm maye he likes to feel like the one who’s being admired…men :mad:

Umm... he probably didn't like you in that way, realised that you like him in that way, and is noe trying to avoid any awkward situations.

lk: yeah, at least I've used this trick on a few occasions :--D
(Needless to say what the result was: failed :p)

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
lk: yeah, at least I've used this trick on a few occasions :--D
(Needless to say what the result was: failed :p)

Nessy why do you guys like to have us running after you like you're a lil kid? And then after a few weeks we're told "stop acting like my mother"?

asking him to hang out was a proposal ? :confused:

not a proposal but a warning.

seems like he took it as a death threat :D

*Originally posted by lastknightess: *

Nessy why do you guys like to have us running after you like you're a lil kid? And then after a few weeks we're told "stop acting like my mother"?

what else is there to do? If someone is after you, then why not have a little fun :D

I can’t believe we women lose sleep over what you guys call fun :mad:

an interesting point was made in Shinoo's thread. Guys will drop all kinds of hints.

That's what makes this situation even more annoying. The boy had been flirting with me. I could tell he was interested. Or maybe it was just fun and games.

But then if one is playing games, then one shouldn't be surprised when something comes of it.

Kabhi kisi larki nay mujh say ask out kyon nahi kiya? mera bhi to dil hai :(

PCG,
I salute you! At least u were couragious enough to take the step :-)

Sheraz, aap shaadishuda hain, ask the wifey to ask u out :-p