I have always thought that Saqlain is a sub continent bully like many other spinners, the only 2 subcontinental spinners that had success overboard were Murali and Mushtaq Ahmed.
you alright Umair? Saqlain has proved himself the world over. At one time he was our only wicket taking option after Wasim. He's one hell of a bowler.
He's just not motivated enough to play for Pakistan anymore. He's getting more than enough to feed him family from Surrey and is happy with it. Saqi was simply outstanding when he wanted to be. Having said that they should not let him back until he learns to be a team man.
Yaar I think Saqi is a great bowler, probably the best spinner Pakistan has ever produced, but his performance outside subcontinent is nothing to write about. He looked good during the Zimbabwe tour but other than that, he has yet to play consistently well outside India, Pakistan, Banglades or Sharjah.
pretty funny 'cause I distinctly recall him winning matches all over the world. He takes out top flight batsmen consistently. He does not necessarily takes bucketloads of wickets like Murli in Lanka. But he's still capable of getting any good batsman out.
I sincerely hope you're not basing your opinion on stats because I will be very disappointed. There's no point of arguing then.
*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
pretty funny 'cause I distinctly recall him winning matches all over the world. He takes out top flight batsmen consistently. He does not necessarily takes bucketloads of wickets like Murli in Lanka. But he's still capable of getting any good batsman out.
I sincerely hope you're not basing your opinion on stats because I will be very disappointed. There's no point of arguing then.
No bhai sahab, I haven't even looked at the stats. I remember at 99 WC, he bowled very well. But apart from that he hasn't done anything spectacular, I think he is an OK bowler in non turning conditions, and a bit over rated.
Oh God , people tend to forget a players feat so eazily.Ask any batsman in the world , who he thinks is the most difficult spinner and you will see the name SAQLAIN !!
*Originally posted by undefined: *
Oh God , people tend to forget a players feat so eazily.Ask any batsman in the world , who he thinks is the most difficult spinner and you will see the name SAQLAIN !!
Yeah on subcontinent pitches.
I remember when cricketnext interviewed Adam Gilchrist, and he was asked who are 3 most difficult bowlers in the world. He said Wasim, Saqlain and Murali.
He said playing Saqlain on subcontinent pitches is the toughest of the 3, while Murali is tough anywhere in the world.