Snacks and meal suggestions for weight loss

hey all,

As you knwo that these days all diet plans are saying that you should eat 5-6 small servings a days inorder to lose weight. The more you eat the more you lose. :rolleyes:

So can you guys recommend me some good healthy fat free snacks to eat in between my small meals besides fruits. My problem is that i get tired of eatin the same food, so i need something different everyday.

Today i bought fat free ruffels chip, fat free jello pudding, fat free chocolate soy milk, and dannon lite and fit straberry yogurt.

As for my diet..

Breakfast
1 cup of skim milk with cereal

Lunch
1 chicken breast piece with a bowl of salad, and 1 cup of vegetable(cooked in olive oil or steamed)

Dinner
same as lunch…

So i need ideas for snacks and also some healthy ideas of lunch and dinner. And also list the vegetables i should eat.

BTW: I read it in the fitness magzine that soy milk is better than regular milk if you want to lose weight.. i dont know how true is that. anyone knows more about it?
i also read that tomatoes are really good for weight loss diet. Since i love eating tomator ki chatni so this is another nice dish for my lunch or dinner.

Re: Snacks and meal suggestions for weight loss

pick up the damn phoen when I call :halo:

Eat loads of fruit and vegetables. Cuecumbers, carrots, apples and watermelon are really good for you. The only fruit you should avoid is bananas and mangoes.

Remember to drink lots of water and avoid fizzy drinks, even diet ones if you can.

Soy Milk is supposed to be better for you than dairy milk. But there is no harm in drinking skimmed milk.

Grilled fish is an alternative to chicken, try and keep lots of variety in your diet, otherwise you will get sick of the same foods and give up.

thanks farah. i dont know for some reason i just dont like fruits and vegetabel alone. but watermelon and apple would be good addition to my snacks.

i just drank 2 glass of water with the breakfast and now my stomach is just killing me :(
feel like i am carrying something really big in my tummy :p lolz

i got fat free chocolate soy milk. its okay in taste but i misss my regular milk.. but if its better then i will definately drink that.

grilled fish.. ummm thats a good idea, alrite i will eat that once a week as well.... but wat about milk and fish combo...

tikhi: sorry yar, when i got ur call it was already too late..... i will call u after my exam :)

pp007, assalam o alaikum

fat free doesn't mean..they are absolutely fat free..if one thing has less of something..they have abundance of something else and to be true the products that are advertised as fat-free are not really fat free.

I see that the things you bought are sweet or are chips..you can make your own snacks instead of buying packaged food..like you can stir in strawberries with yogurt..also, you can cut your own fruits instead of canned fruits that contain sugar syrups.

You don't have to force yourself to drink water all at once..just keep a bottle with you..and take a sip..later when you need more water take more sips. Sometimes, you can squeeze a lemon in your water.

As for in between snacks you can do many things..you can eat raw cucumber, raw tomato or small carrots..if you don't like your veggies to be raw..dip them in yogurt or yogurt type dips. You can even make vegetable raita.

You can eat crackers with fibres as one needs fibres as part of food intake.

You can make your vegetables sometimes as bhelpuri.

You can make tiny slices of pita bread and bake them..and eat them as snacks with dips. Alternatively, you can get pita puffs.

You can boil chickpeas at times..and add onion tomato etc to it for snacking.

Or how about tomato soup with sesame sticks at times..

Since you mentioned that you don't like eating fruit alone..how about making fresh juice.

Best of luck!

I also dont like fruit and vegetables but I drink a lot of freshly squeezed juice and I use vegetables to make stir frys and stews, chicken or meat flavours it alot which is better than them cooked on their own. Make vegetable kebabs on skewers or stuffed peppers you just need to be imaginative, make sure the vegetables are flavoursome by adding soy sauce, lemon, chillies etc, if they are bland who can blame you for not liking them.

I am a junk food addict and love savoury snacks, I eat a lot of flavoured crispbread, I know it isnt good for me but I cant help it. If I were to totally deprive myself of this sort of food, I would ditch the dieting and go back to eating unhealthily.

walikum assalm qrius baji,
its good to see you after a long long time. your posts are always full of information... thanks for comming...

you are right about fat free stuffs... but then how to trust these products?

btw thanks for the wonderful tips... chickpeas, crackers and pita bread idea sounds great... i will definately add them to my list.

fat free stuffs are really very expensive here... so i guess i should make my menu at home...

farah: ummm i guess i should start to drink fresh juice.. it will be be better..

so how do u make vegetable kjabab. the only ones i ate is alo ke cutless. What other vegetable can we use to make kabab.. this sounds like an another great idea...

You can use vegetables like green/ red peppers, aubergines, courgettes, mushrooms, onions. Cut the vegetables into cubes make incisions with a fork and sprinkle with a bit of salt and mirch. And then put the vegetables onto skewers and pop under the grill.

I sometimes marinade the vegtables in a little lemon, soy sauceand garlic paste. But only do this if you like bitter, khuttah food.

You can also pop on some chicken onto the skewers so it isnt all vegetables.

Dont know if you will like this, but give it a try.

hmm... i dont know if my diet plan will suit u.. but it did wonders for me.. i went from 65 kg to 54 kg within 3 months...

morning as soon as u get up.. without eating anything.. 4 glasses of water within 15 mins... dont ahve anything until 45 mins have passed... (its hard but u can get used to it)...

then for bfast.. milk with cereal

lunch: salad (lettuce, spinach, apples, olives, cheese, and any dressing)

dinner: any salan with lil rice or small roti... eat at maghrib.. nothing after 8...

i didnt feel the need to snack cuz im not a fan of eating neways...

i didnt use anything low fat or skimmed milk.. u may aswell not eat those things .. i find them useless...

and when ppl say eat lots of fruits.. do u know how much sugar is going in! i just had an apple, orange and a glass of carrot juice everyday.. or u can change ure fruits day by day....

and remember.... atleast 8 glasses of water
a day !

otehrwise i was following a "healthy" diet like they say in magazines etc..followed the food pyramid.. worked out everyday for an hour and half.. for 6 months.. and didnt lose a single gram!... HM!

You worked out for 1.5 hrs every day and did not loose weight?! May I ask what your gym routine was?

treadmilll, swimming and light weights… its not like i was gaining muscle either cuz i didnt see the weight loss in inches either, usually they say u dont see the weight loss in weight but in the difference in ure body shape… well it didnt happen to me :rolleyes:

You poor thing! Maybe you ate too much after your gym sessions :p

some options:

handful of nuts, smoothies, low fat frozen yogurt, pretzels

For some fast and nutritious snack ideas, try these combos:

Spread peanut butter over pita bread. Slice fresh apples over top, sprinkle with cinnamon, and broil for 3 to 5 minutes.

Slice tortilla flatbread into small pie-style triangles. Toast in oven at 400°C, turning once, and browning both sides. Let cool. Combine with a favourite lower-fat dip such as tzasiki, humus, red pepper spread, or baba-ganoush.

Split English muffin halves, top with tuna and cheese and broil.

Top flour tortillas with diced tomatoes and green pepper, diced leftover or canned chicken, and grated cheese. Fold in half, and bake in the oven until heated through. Cut into wedges, and serve with salsa and low-fat sour cream.

Cut up fresh fruit and pair up with vanilla yogurt.

If bagels are getting a little stale, slice them into thin rounds and arrange on a baking sheet. Brush with butter and sprinkle with garlic powder and bake for 12 minutes at 350 degrees. Let cool and store in an airtight container.

..about not losing weight at the gym khawateen, muscle weighs more than fat, so you may not have noticed the pounds falling, but maybe you dropped inches around your waist, thighs etc...

khawateen
how can u not loose anything when u are working out
for an hour and a half every single day. :eek:
and how much water did u drink the whole day
when u started with 4 in the morning??? Thanks.

khawateen... thats it! im trying ur diet.. nothign seems to be working for me.. and i need to lose 5-6 kg in 2 months!

aisha: itni pagli nahi hu mein :stuck_out_tongue:

Hinna: nopes.. i didnt see the difference in my body shape either… i took body measurements before i started working out.. after 6 months.. it was the same! chalo if i had toned i woudla been happy.. but nopes! same crap :rolleyes:

Sajal: believe it or not i used to drink bout 2 litres a day when i was working out.. now i drink a bit less- bout 10 glasses (still havta see how much that makes in litres :smiley: )…
the 4 glasses in the morning i started quite recently.. and wow.. it works wonders! hmm… i started it a month ago and some days.. ive lost 3 kg…and i know im not losing muscle cuz im still eating everything i should be… but.. my diet is mostly made up of proteins ( i need the red meat -anaemic ) … low carbs

actually this aunty of mine told me bout it.. she and these 2 other aunties started it together.. wow! they have lost serious weight! .. this water therapy thing is quite old… i remember reading bout it when i was in grade school…

Sadzz: i should mention.. it doenst suit everyone.. i hope its not the case with u and u lose ure weight.. but my motehr tried it and she spent the whole day in pain … too much gas… :smiley: so i would say start off with 4 glasses in an hour.. nothing for 40 mins.. then eat.. ( u havta eat!)… then bring it down to 4 glasses in 30 mins.. and so on until ure doing 4 glasses in 15 mins… (ure glasses dont have to be huge.. medium will do )… dont skip meals.. have ure normal milk and normal fat free stuff cuz they are much healthier.. i guess work out if it helps u.. i’ve started swimmin again… dont go crazy on that “5 fruit a day” saying.. i thought fruits were all healthy and niceness and harmless so i had them like crazy.. fresh fruit juices .. in solid form.. etc… like that made up my day tiem snack and food… BIG MISTAKE!.. now i just have my apple and orange in solid form.. and carrot juice … or u can switch carrot juice with orange juice… ofcourse.. dont ban all other fruits completely :slight_smile:

happy weight losing !

I had three glasses of water this morning, within ten mins. That was 40 mins ago. I am having a fruit yoghurt now :yummy:

I avoid drinking bottled juices cos of all the sugar. Any kind really. Besides they are too sweet for my liking. If I ever do I prefer to dilute them a bit.

Can u believe today is my 4th say of diet...
iam really feeling hungry.. but i guess my diet is a bit extreme... so i wouldnt suggest to do it..
all i eat whole day is 3 apples, 2 bowl of salad.. and a piece of bread if iam really feeling hungry .. :)
and obviously excersice...

woman u're gonna gain all thaat weight back (and maybe some more) when u reach rock bottom., cant take it anymore and stuff ureself .. :p