sleeping with feet facing makkah

is it right that your shouldnt sleep like that, or is it just a myth.

Re: sleeping with feet facing makkah

we were raised not to face the feet toward Kibla at any time..i dont know if it's right or just a myth..but it does make a lot of sense to me because we face Kibla when we pray, and it is said to be Allah ka gher..so evenif i thought i was a myth (which i don't) i wouldn't do it out of respect.

ive also been bought up2 beleive that again i dunno bout the myth or truth part
ive also been tld not to put ur feet towrds i think the east west one of em im not sure:confused:
i thnk its calld maghrib in urdu

I now think...The world is round...so ultimately it goes right back there..I dont know waat to believe there

dnt wanna sound rude but ok the world is round but obviously north south east west b koi cheez hai na do correct me if im wrng

yes maghrib is west in urdu… and you were told that in pakistan because ka’aba is to the west of pakistan.

oh ok thnk u chacha ji i think its got somethng to do with sunrise n sunset rather than the kabah being in the west direction coz its in south west in pk

no problem… thats wot we are here for … to enlighten the nonehaal, the future of the “islamic” republic of pakistan :smokin:

I think this has more to do with cultural inhibitions than religious injunctions. I am sure some one can come here and explain the ruling on this issue, But what I have seen is that Arabs are much more relaxed about pointing their feet towards mekkah. Muslims from India/Pakistan are very concious of this and are highly regimented about the issue of "respect" towards mekkah. I am sure all realize that Earth is round.

And not just in this one thing. Handling the Quran is also another example. Arabs frequently read it by putting it on their legs. When they have to get up, I have seen a number of them would casually put it down on the floor and upon returning pick it up and resume their reading. Desi muslims will be aghast at such a display of "disrespect". In desi culture Quran is placed at the highest cupboard and it never touches the floor. Many don't even put it on their legs while reciting it; and I personally know many people who will always hold Quran with both hands and never with just one hand. My feeling is that due to familiarity with the language, for many Arabs, Quran is divine text that should be read, understood and implemented in life. Desis, for the most part, consider it something that is so sacred that it should be "recited" with care and placed at the top most drawer in the cupboard. Very few actually attempt to understand it (by learning Arabic), some ponder only at the translation, and fewer still make any attempt to implement its teachings in their lives (and rather rely on a mufti sahab to explain what Allah says). But when it comes to respecting it, we are absolutely #1! Yes!!!

PPL its no myth and nor is it just a saying ... but its more of a lesson for mankind ... lesson as in ... RESPECT for the signs of Allah ... i ll give you a simple and straight example ... keh agar aap ki maan ya baam zameen pe bethey hon to ka aap log chaar paae / sofa / bed / settee / chair pe sit karein ge whilst yo abba jaan is sittingon the floor ... you obviosly dont ... why? becase you have respect for them ... why do have respect for them ? becoz they are the ones who have bought you to this finite world and they have provided you with everything ....

simmerlarly, Alllah SWT is the creator of mankind and he has given mankind all it need and because the concept of Allah being visable to human eye is not possible, he has given us signs and things in ways we can worshp him ... one form of worship is to pray .. and we pray towards the Ka'ba ..

so the first reason for it is that we pray towards the kaabah , so the same direction we bow or heads and remember our craetor ... we shouldnt points our legs / feet towards it ..

second reson being it is ... that the postion of the ka'ba was chosen by Allah and Prohet Adam (As) built it first ... why because whilst he was able to be in the presence of Allah and the angels and worship Allah but when he was sent to Earth as Khalifa .. he after so many years wished and asked Allah that he wishes to worship him, so Allah swt chose Macca shareef as the postion ... why .. becasue the place where the angels in the heaven worship Allah is right spot on top of the Ka'ba on the earth, so this is the second reason why ... cos not jst one kaaba but two holy signs of Allah ... are n that direction and position ...

If i ve made any errors plz do let me know ..

Like a sister pointed out, we pray facing Makkah. :slight_smile:

I don’t know where you live but the Arabs I have seen college have no adab.
Of course the Masjid is a different story altogether. I don’t know what you mean by ‘understanding’ the Quran and implementing into one’s life when you refer to the Arabs but I assure you the Arabs don’t (most that I see). They do take the religion seriously but when it comes to acting upon it they fall short. On the other hand the people who do take serious care and do act upon it are Indo-Pak and reverts.

Anyways regarding the way we sleep, when we die our head will be placed towards Makkah. Our feet will not face Makkah. So you can easily come up with your conclusion inshALLAH.

(I will try to find a scholarly answer to this, if someone has found then please do share.

Make no mistake, personally I am all for respect AND for implementing Islam in our lives. I think both are important. I guess I am fairly disappointed by the disproportionate emphasis in desi culture on respect, and much less on actually understanding Islam and complying with its requirements. I know many Pakistani brothers who don't offer any salah (except jumma) but never point their feet towards Mekkah. Go figure!

hey u went and edited it after i had responded :smilestar:

it has nothing to do with sunrise or sunset… its the fact that ppl in pakistan pray facing west… kaba is not to the south west… it only appears so on a map… dunyaa gol hai :clown:

But again...roundness main meet wapas ajaa ti hai...btw my head is twirling round and round:D

There are a lot of such things we were taught in childhood, just for respect, though no authentic source was shown to us by anyone. In few cases I did come across the authentic sources later and I was thankful to my parents and teachers for teaching them to me early in life.

Life is too short and we would be held answerable for every single minor act. My criteria for such teachings are that till the time you haven't been able to find the truth through any authentic source, follow those teachings with a good "Niyyah"(intentions), just to be on the safer side, unless any of those teachings doesnt satisfy your heart or violate anyone's rights.

^ really :eek:

do u have a ball bearing on ur neck :hmmm:
better get that head to stay at one place as a twirling head can cause alot of problems… i m a neem hakeem… kahin to ilaaj karon?
ya marz nahin ya mareez… simple sa rule hai :slight_smile:

so what if the earth is round????

does it mean that if u place a target anywhere and then shoot an arrow in any arbitary direction, and assuming the arrow does not fall to the ground, will it eventually hit the target because the earth is round????

what sort of a stupid argument is that????

Well, just apply the same concept of "Qibla". I am sure no muslim face in any direction when he offers namaz, just by saying that the world is round ?

Ofcourse, unless he doesn't know which side "Qibla" is.

Let me ask you this (and this is not meant as a joke) ... Is the Earth Flat?

It is not a stupid argument by a long shot.