As I was looking at the your child and sleep thread, it seems like mine is probably the only one waking up twice a night at 7 months.. and I thought it was perfectly okay for him to do so.
He started solids at 6 months, we give him oatmeal cereal for breakfast n dinner and introduce a new fruit or vggie every 4 days that he eats once or twice a day (a tbspn or so). He will have his milk followed by cereal around 8pm, goes to sleep, wakes up between 1-2 for a bottle of milk and then he wakes up again between 5-6 for another feed, goes back to sleep only to wake up around 7:00! and when I say wake up in the middle of night, he is not doing so for the heck of it, he is actually hungry.. in fact I heard his stomach growling once (I thought that was super cute :$) are we not feeding him rnough during the day?
at 7 months, milk is still the main source of food for him.. I am introducing solids as we go along and hoping that by 1 inshaAllah he will be eating what we eat!
ps: I dont have any problem with him waking up because I am more than happy to feed him when he wants to but should I be doing anything different for him to sleep through the night by now?
hmm... you arent doing anything wrong per se.. but .. he is a big baby mashallah.. he needs more to keep him happy... cereal and milk at 8 and then waking up again at 1?
give him oatmeal at 8 made in his formula. and then milk however much he wants.. see what happens
Can't say there is anything wrong with it exactly.But have you tried to make him go back to sleep without milk?
It might be a comfort measure for him and not necessarily hunger.Try to cut down one feed a night and see how he sleeps.You would want to get rid of the habit in a few months(around 1 year of age) as it is not good for growing teeth and you will be surprised to know how quickly these things can damage teeth.
My daughter started waking up for a nighttime feed around 10 months of age and it lasted about 2-3 months.I used to to give it to her although her pediatrician thought I should let her cry it out and she will fall back asleep.But since yours is younger,I'd say try cutting down the night time bottles to 1 from 2 and see how it goes.
I think you should try not giving him milk in the middle of the night. Try the paci. If he takes that and goes back to sleep, he's not hungry. If he seems to persistently want something, then maybe he's hungry.
Some babies do have a bigger appetite (mashaAllah). Maybe the last couple of feeds of the day, you should give with less gap. Like if you wait 3-4 hours between feeds, reduce it to every 2 hours in the evening. I used to also make cereal in formula for dinner for my daughter. And before going to sleep myself, I'd give her a "dream feed". She pretty much started sleeping through the night at 3-4 months, but then she hardly had an appetite, so that could've been a reason for her not waking up at night.
he IS hungry.. he takes up 5-6 oz in less than 10 mins mashAaLLAH! and he keeps his eyes closed as in dont bother me, I am up just because I am hungry!
khawa.. I give him oatmeal cereal..different than just oatmeal or cereal?
Since I am not with him during the day, I dont know how much is he feeding but I have asked his dad to keep track just so we can get an idea.. so far he slept through the night only twice and I have no idea why was that.. must have done something different!
I guess I need to put in a lil work in here to see how things go.. I am not ready for him to cry it out.. he hardly ever cries so when he does, I know something is wrong.. I will not change that for anything.. but yeah we do need to start working on sleeping throught the night inshaAllah!
DV.. yep its you and me :D
Seebs.. I will try the lesser time between feeds and nopse dream feed doesnt work.. he will not open his mouth if he is not hungry no matte rhow hard I try!!
i think once he l grow up he will himself learn to slepp through the night my baby took feed after every three hours till 6 months n then twice in th night till 1 year n thn automatically she left her night feed i didnt do anything.
he IS hungry.. he takes up 5-6 oz in less than 10 mins mashAaLLAH! and he keeps his eyes closed as in dont bother me, I am up just because I am hungry!
khawa.. I give him oatmeal cereal..different than just oatmeal or cereal?
Since I am not with him during the day, I dont know how much is he feeding but I have asked his dad to keep track just so we can get an idea.. so far he slept through the night only twice and I have no idea why was that.. must have done something different!
I guess I need to put in a lil work in here to see how things go.. I am not ready for him to cry it out.. he hardly ever cries so when he does, I know something is wrong.. I will not change that for anything.. but yeah we do need to start working on sleeping throught the night inshaAllah!
DV.. yep its you and me :D
Seebs.. I will try the lesser time between feeds and nopse dream feed doesnt work.. he will not open his mouth if he is not hungry no matte rhow hard I try!!
my baby is exactly same if she is not hungry she will not open her mouth n her eyes also used to be closed while feeding n mashahallah she always finished her bottle, i ccould clearly amke out tht she was hungry lolz, n yes she used to be feed properly during day like after evry 3 to 4 hours.
I think you need to increase solids because your baby is big now. Add yogurt and fruit puree to his breakfast cereal and also add some veggie puree to his dinner cereal. If you have introduced chicken then that can make a great dinner option as well. Babies burn a lot of calories while sleeping as they grow so fast so they need more calories!
I feel like at that age I was offering something closer to every 2 hours, but mine never took much in one go. Like it would be 7:30am bottle/nurse. 9/9:30 cereal, 11am milk and nap. 12:30 lunch of fruit/veggie purees, 2-3 milk and nap, 5 milk, 7 dinner of cereal or something (I can’t remember ). Then milk and sleep. Like Seabea, I did a dream feed around 11 or so before I went to bed.
I think you need to increase solids because your baby is big now. Add yogurt and fruit puree to his breakfast cereal and also add some veggie puree to his dinner cereal. If you have introduced chicken then that can make a great dinner option as well. Babies burn a lot of calories while sleeping as they grow so fast so they need more calories!
Most American docs would caution against dairy until 1 year, but I know lots of people who give it at this age.
^ try to feed him oatmeal or cereal or chicken with rice or baby food just before he goes to bed and give him his bottle (you could add some cereal to his milk) as well.
Most American docs would caution against dairy until 1 year, but I know lots of people who give it at this age.
That's what I thought that all dairy should be avoided before 1 year but my son's pediatrician recommended us to introduce yogurt and cheese after 6 months. She's not desi and she also told us to start giving solids at 4 months, i know some doctors tell you to wait until 6 months.
our pediatrician didnt let us start solids until he was six months old and no dairy/meat until he is 1.
I have heard about choking with cereal in bottle so I dont do it.. I give him milk and then spoon feed him cereal prepared in his formula.
I think we probably need to give him couple of more servings of solids during the day.. he likes his sweet potato and pear so probably I can give him frui and vegetable both in one day.
my little one wakes up twice and at times thrice for a feed at night. And he is hungry because he wouldnt take his paci. I started him on solids when he turned five months MA and he has been enjoying his cereal really well. But I just give him his baby rice cereal mixed with some fruit or veggie once a day. Should I start giving him cereal at night as well? He turns six months in two weeks time IA
He'd take his night time milk at around 9 30 at night and then would sleep and wake up at 1 or 2 again for his feed and then one around 4 or 5. There isn't a consistent pattern though
Babies sleeping through the night is a wow factor for me lol
gtg.. are you strictly following what the book says or your baby.. for solids? do you feed him until he says its enough or do you just feed him according to what the sources say?
they say give the baby a tbsp of fruit or veggy when you start off.. well.. genie isnt a big baby in any way but she would have thought me stupid if i did just that.. even midget... when tehy started they could finish off half a bowl of fruit or veggy puree! and now at 9 months she is eating a bowl full of cereal or whatever...
waht im trying to say is ... feed them however much they want and not how much you think he should be having.
yes milk is the main source of nutrition but you are also weaning your baby off of milk towards solids.. slowly food replaces the breast or bottle one meal at a time.
at 7 months genie would take a full bottle at 6 am...
at 10 am she would have half a bowl of porridge of any kind with fruit puree (i never gave fruit by itself as it isnt filling enough for a meal time)
12 pm she would take 4 oz of milk
3 pm is bread or wahtever have you.. a diff kinda porrdige from bfast.. kichri etc.. half a bowl or half a slice of toast with wahtever topping.
4.30 pm: 4 oz of milk.
6 pm: a baby biscuit or lil bites of wahtever we are having... some more milk.. about 4 oz.
9.30 pm: 6 oz of milk
midget was the exact same cept he would take oatmeal at 8 pm and then 4 oz of milk at 9.30 and that would make him sleep through the night for 12 hours straight.
i wouldnt give him the paci or anything else cuz he IS waking up to be fed.. if he were only taking in an oz or so.. i would say he isnt hungry.. but if he is taking a full feed.. he is hungry and giving him a paci would just aggrevate him adn wake him up.
get G to note down how much he feeds during the day.. over the week you will get an idea... a lil tweaking here and there.. its all trial and error.. and soon your baby will be sleeping through the night :)