sleep overs and overnight school trips.

Were you allowed to go as a child? were okay with it or had tantrum like me and no matter how much i cried i was not allowed to go to sleep overs.

I still even at this age dont understand why maybe because im not a parent.

Parents maybe you can enlighten me, and whats the rule with ure own kids?

Re: sleep overs and overnight school trips.

I was not allowed to attend sleepovers. The exception was occasionally with VERY close desi friends or cousins.

Overnight school trips led to big debates and discussion. I did go on my 6th grade outdoor eduction trip and an honors conference my senior year of high school. Other than that, nothing. My parents would drive and pick me up at night and drop me back off in the morning if it was possible.

I'm going to keep it the same for my children.

To me it's kind of like 24-hour news channels. If you just air news for 1-2 hours a day, you air substantive and significant information. If you watch the 24-hour channels, it's full of crap, bias, bullying, gossip, etc etc because there's no other way they can think of to fill the space. Children are no better. They don't need to be around eachother during all hours of the night. It's usually when the talk turns inappropriate or mean-spirited.

never had any sleepovers or overnight school trips when i was a kid.

overnight school trip = kabhi koi aisa trip aya hi nahi.

sleepovers = dost wost kartey honge sleepovers lekin mujhe kabhi nahi bulaya. agar bulatey bhi tou ammi abbu jane na dete...kehte bas shaam tak ke liye jaao per raat ko wahan sonay ke liye nahi.

i will never allow my kids to have sleepovers...yes ofcourse her/his mates can do the sleepover at my place but my kid wont be allowed at all. kis ke ghar ka mauhol kaisa hai kya pata chalta hai.

as for overnight school trips...well wont be in favour of that either...but it will really depend on what type of trip it is, how beneficial it is...and i will see if my kid is old enough to understand what is wrong and what is right. since the school age is very crucial and the kid needs a lot of guidance.

Generally I wasn't allowed to attend sleepovers unless my parents knew the family very very well and there were no elder brothers at home.

I've gone on one overnight school trip. I was 12 at the time and it was a 3 day 2 night trip. My parents were really reluctant to let me go initially but after discussing it over with my teachers, my mom was convinced. She convinced my dad to let me go. It was a very fun experience. The trip was actually to a camp where we participated in lots of fun outdoor activities. We also had to attend classes in the mornings and evenings.

You know I never thought of it that way? this is the first time I’m hearing such a thing…and it makes so much sense!

I wasn’t allowed anything. in fact, it was very rare that I was even allowed to vsiit anyone (they had to come over at my house…even with cousins/next door neighbors!)…well their reasons were that above…and that they don’t like anyone else’s mahol…and apparently I had some weird habits and stuff that would make me uncomfortable in someone else’s home :smack:

And school trips? Forget it!

I thnk most people here will say they will do teh same thing as their parents did…but I won’t. Although I see the reason as to why sleepovers are not a good idea…I’d be in favor fo school trips.

**my childhood was totally different than most. since i lived in a village until age 14, our environment was safe and we knew everybody else. i stayed out all night and slept m,ostly at my friends where we all gathered and it was so much fun. we used to go to our orchards at the outskirts of our village in the middle of the night and brought back fruits. :) so, yes, we friends slept at each others place almost every night. :)

i did NOT attend any school until High School [grade 10] so i've no experience of school trips. my first ever trip was to Agra to see the Taj Mahal when i was in my BSc [Hons.] last year [fourth year]. i did enjoy a lot. we had taken the train to Agra and it was fun :)

I was never even allowed by my parents for such things. Even for the very few day time school trips I was allowed for , my parents dropped me and picked me up as well or came to see if I am doing ok. I remember when I was 6-7 years old our school took us to fun land and my dad from his work came to visit me to see if I am doing ok :hehe: May be in USA it’s safer but in Pakistan security issues are HUGE. Therefore , same will be with my daughter , she is too precious for me to be risked for such adventures.

wow you guys come from some super strict families :)

My parents were always very laid back with me, I think they had spent all their rules on the older two and I was given a free reign. I was always the one planning stuff during trips so yeah I always went. Went to CA from NY for a 5-day trip once, several conferences (mostly national, 2 to the UK) during undergrad and am living by myself for grad school. I always talk to my parents everyday though, and they usually have a rough idea of my schedule. Funniest thing was when I went to CA from NY- I was 16 and didn't have a cell phone, and my parents were A-okay with it, haha!

Only thing I'm apprehensive about are sleepovers, because of all the weird stories. So no co-sleepovers for my kids, and otherwise I should know the kids they're with.

From age 11/12ish it was usually a 'yes.'

I would say 'Dad, I need to practise my French' even if it was just a fun thing like skiing in half-term :D

A couple of my school trips were mandatory tho, (one was a trip to the Isle of Arran for a week in the run up to our GCSEs.. it's actually quite creepy the number of ppl I come across who've been to that same tiny little place)..

I spent my entire childhood and till date weekends at sleepovers. ( err... I'm 30 and still doing sleepovers....lol... i'm lucky to have friends who are still single like me )

It did help that somehow none of my girlfriends had brothers. Infact i never even had to ask my parents i have been informing them from a young age that i will be going to so and so's house, when u want me to come home call me. All my friends lived 3 mins away from our building, so my parents could trak me down like instantly. We all would be out walking in our area til 1..2 .. even 3 am ( I am from Bahrain, and back then it was amazingly safe , it still is but not like how it used to be ). Since we all lived in the same area , went to the same school and were in the same class even , there was tremendous trust between all our parents and all of us.

Even when i think about our sleepovers, we never talked about boys or obsessed about the opposite sex in general like other girls did. Probably that we all were from such liberal households we never had any restriction that we never felt the need to cross our limits.

We were in a co-ed school, but never do i recall talking to a boy in school. It just was never on our minds. We were so engrossed with playing, watching tv, talking etc... there wasn't time for anything else.

Things changed for me alot since i hit 16. Although sleep overs were still not allowed- i was allowed to go on overnight trips that were related to my education.

At 18 I moved out and moved to a different city to study! I love it though and I love home too!

I think with my own children I will probably be the same about sleepovers but might be a bit more lenient with school trips.

We weren't allowed sleepovers or overnight trips at all. I don't remember ever going anywhere without at least one of my parents. Even to my granny's house, if my mom wasn't with us, forget it. We weren't allowed to go to any of my relatives' house without mom or dad.

Their reason ... we don't trust anyone. If you go anywhere, one of us should be with you. Now when I think about it, I think t hey did the right thing. I would do the same for my kids. Its not that I won't trust my kids, I just won't trust other people. You hear all kind of weird stories about relatives being involved with child molestation/abuse.. hey why take the chance.

I lived alone for college and grad school. Was talking about when I was under 18.

u know , its not only sleepover that are dangerous. Hell, to me so far that has been the most safest. Well Bahrain is a very very tiny country , so we did not hear sooo many shocking stories. But we did hear some.

Most regarding the school male professors and tuition sirs and the school basket ball coach basically all these men associated with the education are the biggest perverts or at least in our school they were. My friends mom was a teacher in the same school we studied in so we knew who did what.

Its a scary world out there. I mean your not safe in school !!!!!!!!!!

I always thought I was the only one whose parents (till date) would not allow sleepovers and night trips..About the night trip,s my mother would always be reluctant. Her point would be that a bus full of girls might attract some men or ghundas etc (I am talking about trips to Murree etc when I was ins chool). In university, I was not allowed. The reason was that my class fellows (males) used to drink etc so my mother would not trust them and in a way, she was right. About sleepovers..my friends usually come at my place to stay but I never went to their places..I think its different when you are living in Pakistan. Parents don't feel safe sending their daughters alone for night trips and all and I had some male friends also whose parents would to be home before 10 pm lol. I think the place also matters.

This is so true. My mother would always say that what if someone tries to harm a girl? No one will point figure at the guy but larki k liye saari umar ki badnaami. Its about trusting your kids but not trusting others for them.

I'm a mama's boy. I didn't go on the 6th grade outdoor education field trip. Sleepovers were different for me since I'm a guy, but I barely had/have any. I'm not a big fan.

My sister on the other hand has to cry and be all n00by for my parents to allow her to go.

I was not allowed for the same reasons Sahar mentioned.....even on the rare occasions I was allowed the parent at the sleepover house made sure we slept instead of staying up all night.

I'll do the same...

we would have the usual sleepovers at our cousins and close family friends. but up until around grade 8 it stopped. Would happen randomly once in a while.

for school..nope, no way. didnt get a chance to go the Ottawa/Montreal trips, ski trips, etc etc at all. It was just a big fat no and nothing i could have said/done could change that. I didnt mind it so much.

I have never been for a sleepover as a kid...and don't feel I missed out on anything. I don't think I will allow my kids to sleep over at a friend's either...I don't understand what's the point of it. They can play and have fun...but why sleep?