sink full of bartans

Re: sink full of bartans

I also don’t have a dishwasher. Sometimes washing dishes can get a little tough but I tell myself “mujhay hi karna hai, aur koi nahi karay ga” and just do it… ARRGHH.. i am mad.. lol :mad:

In the UK it very much is the case. Especially in my parents generation and prior.

I HATE washing up 2 :frowning: but it has to be done :bummer:

having 3 young boys im constantly washing up :smack:

I said to my hubby get me a dishwasher or else u will be washing them :snooty:

until then im gonna do what x2 said ( my mum says it to me all the time aswell )

and just keep 6 plates and cups, cutlery to use and wash :slight_smile:

my hubby chips in big time, nowadays we don`t have a maid for kitchen(she was caught stealing :( at our place) so i do dishes in the morning and hubby in the evening. Trust me if I had to all this by myself I would die, husbands are GOD sent :)

Stoppit

Ahh yes UK, I forgot that's where you are. Older and blue collar approach, it's not rinsed under running water but essentially dipped in a water filled sink to get soap off.

when i see these :dishes:

i do this :pullhair:

I find corningware/corelle the best for daily use, very lightweight and thin, plates/bowls stack to take up very little volume so less "khalara". Also doesn't scratch and is chip proof. My method is also doing them saath saath as u're doing other bits in the kitchen, or waiting for the cooking. I normally try and do the pots before eating also after u put food in the dishes and clean up the shelves/stove. Makes it soo much easier to clean up afterwards with just a few plates n glasses to be washed!

You could go Buddhist in your approach to doing the dishes:

"To my mind, the idea that doing the dishes is unpleasant can occur only when you are not doing them. Once you are standing in front of the sink with your sleeves rolled up and your hands in warm water, it really is not so bad. I enjoy taking my time with each dish, being fully aware of the dish, the water, and each movement of my hands. I know that if I hurry in order to go and have a cup of tea, the time will be unpleasant and not worth living. That would be a pity, for each minute, each second of life is a miracle. The dishes themselves and the fact that I am here washing them are miracles! Each bowl I wash, each poem I compose, each time I invite a bell to sound is a miracle, each has exactly the same value.

One day, while washing a bowl, I felt that my movements were as sacred and respectful as bathing a newborn Buddha. If he were to read this, that newborn Buddha would certainly be happy for me, and not at all insulted at being compared with a bowl. Each thought, each action in the sunlight of awareness becomes sacred. In this light, no boundary exists between the sacred and the profane. I must confess it takes me a bit longer to do the dishes, but I live fully in every moment, and I am happy. Washing the dishes is at the same time a means and an end that is, not only do we do the dishes in order to have clean dishes, we also do the dishes just to do the dishes, to live fully in each moment while washing them.

If I am incapable of washing dishes joyfully, if I want to finish them quickly so I can go and have a cup of tea, I will be equally incapable of drinking the tea joyfully. With the cup in my hands I will be thinking about what to do next, and the fragrance and the flavor of the tea, together with the pleasure of drinking it, will be lost. I will always be dragged into the future, never able to live in the present moment."

~~Thich Nhat Hanh

1) set a rule that everyone in the house will wash their own dishes when ever they eat so that the load is not on one person only

2) get a dishwasher

3) soak your dishes etc in luke warm water for like half an hour to an hour. ofcourse it wont reduce the no of dishes but will make the washing much easier and quicker as you will not have to rub the stains hardly. chiknayi asaani se dhul jaye gi.

Actually, you know what? The OP problems is that she has not washed ENOUGH bartan. I used to own a teahouse. About 5 years into it, I was doing the dishes, and I began thinking about how my mother used to yell at me a lot for having an untidy room, etc. So I began to calculate how many dishes she might have washed in her lifetime. When she lived with her parents, when she was married and had kids. and later in her own place. Then I calculated how many dishes I had done at this teahouse. And even though we had a dishwasher, it really only sanitized -- we had to basically wash every single thing anyway. For every customer: a tray, a pot, lid, doodhdani, channi and cup, cup, saucer, spoon, maybe a small plate, fork, knife. And I estimated that I had done more dishes in those five years than my mother had done in her whole life! Like 200,000 pieces. And that was only in 5 years. Wow. I was empowered. And to this day, dishes don't faze me one bit.

So Hareem, you just need to do MORE dishes, and you won't even notice doing them anymore!