totally worth having one Hareem .. when i was plannng my kitchena year ago, my husband was insisting on getting a dishwasher while i was so very much against it ... but then we did get one in the end and believe me it has changed my life .. in a positive way ...
For dawats I always use the dishwasher ... but in day to day .. I try to wash the bartan saat saat but if due to laziness or busy schedule the sink gets filled up with loads of bartans .. I just do a round of dishwasher ...
If there are more than two people then for sure. In my parents house, it goes on twice a day on normal days.
They come with different capacities though. My aunt has a smaller one and they only need to put it on once a day.
If you haven't already bought a sink, I'd recommend getting one with a single large and deep bowl, it makes washing pots and pans a lot easier and you can't really put them in the dishwasher.
aray nahi , no harm .. just that I used to feel and still do that it uses alot of water and electricity ... but then a friend of mind said, when you are washing bartan in the sink , you are bound to waste as much water and if you use hot water then electricity too :(
Normally a round of dishwasher takes about 2 hours ... so thats what worries me sometiems , the impact of it on the bills ...
If there are more than two people then for sure. In my parents house, it goes on twice a day on normal days.
They come with different capacities though. My aunt has a smaller one and they only need to put it on once a day.
If you haven't already bought a sink, I'd recommend getting one with a single large and deep bowl, it makes washing pots and pans a lot easier and you can't really put them in the dishwasher.
That definitely sums it all up ... in most homes the bowls arent big enough and make it so difficult to wash the pans ... I intentionally got a larger bowl and now its so much easier to wash the pans ...
^i hate washing dishes as well....i've never used a dishwasher before, is it worth having it though?
just a thought , hareem, you know when one hates doing the dishes, the only way to handle the workload then is to ensure you do the bartan saat saat .. coz it can get extremely daunting if you see a whole sink full of bartan!
The new bowl we got is quite big and deep but I don't think it helps getting the washing done quicker....what is the best way of washing dishes? Like, shall I fill the bowl with water and soap and put all the dirty dishes in that and then after a while start rinsing them with clean water?
just a thought , hareem, you know when one hates doing the dishes, the only way to handle the workload then is to ensure you do the bartan saat saat .. coz it can get extremely daunting if you see a whole sink full of bartan!
that's true...I used to put on radio or CD player to combat boredom but now if I do that I won't be able to listen to kids' voices, they are so naughty and always up to something.
hareem no, I personally dont like that method that the gora's use ... coz first you clear the plates and bowls , then you start washing them ..
The ideal way to handle this stuff is , soap up the plates and keep aside .. then start doing the cups and glasses ... then rinse the plates with water ... finally the spoons ...
Another techinique to get them done quicker .. soap them all up first .. then wash them ...
Clean as you go - and ask your kids and hubby to play their share in washing too :)
my eldest is 7, do you think I should tell him to wash dishes, he does pass me dishes though and I know he'd love to wash dishes too but I'm afraid he might break the china and glass, we don't use plasticware.
Begum has same habit. Whenever she is cooking, kitchen become mess. Dirty pots, plates, pans and what not on counter and sink. Not that she does not clean it but its snowballs into lot of work afterwards. To top it, she never used one spoon in 2..3..4 pots.
I am not bragging it but I am pretty good at keeping kitchen clean while working. If I am going to kitchen in the morning, first thing I do is emptying the Dishwasher so that we keep on stocking the dishes in the washer and not in the sink. Also while cooking, I wash the pots, pans etc as I get time in between (such as while waiting for water to boil or for something else).
Here is the tribute from my sasoo maa when she first visited us (10 years ago)
"xxxxx mashallah aisey kaam kerta hai kitchen main, kia main aur tum kareen gaai. Saaf kitchen daikh ker dil khush ho jata hai" - said to my wife and she later told me.
Begum has trained our 9 & 5 years old well to place their plates in DW once they are done (and dishwasher is empty or has dirty dishes)
PS: I know I know begum, I have to eat pizza tonight due to this outburst :(
Begum has same habit. Whenever she is cooking, kitchen become mess. Dirty pots, plates, pans and what not on counter and sink. Not that she does not clean it but its snowballs into lot of work afterwards. To top it, she never used one spoon in 2..3..4 pots.
I am not bragging it but I am pretty good at keeping kitchen clean while working. If I am going to kitchen in the morning, first thing I do is emptying the Dishwasher so that we keep on stocking the dishes in the washer and not in the sink. Also while cooking, I wash the pots, pans etc as I get time in between (such as while waiting for water to boil or for something else).
Begum has trained our 9 & 5 years old well to place their plates in DW once they are done (and dishwasher is empty or has dirty dishes)
PS: I know I know begum, I have eat pizza today due to the outburst here :(
ahahaha...that's why i hate desi food, it takes too much time to cook and it creates too much mess in the kitchen.
Ok let me ask you a question , when you soap them all up.. afterwards do you pop them back into the sink and then start rinsing them with water ? coz that only takes a minute or so with so much water running on top of the bartan half your work is done anyways ...
soaping the dishes ka koi shortcut nai .. its specially said to properly rinse the spoons and the rims of the cups and glasses .. and the plates so that the germs dont build up in those areas ..
And another question, do you guys use heavy bartan at home? they are always a hassle to wash ... I replaced all of my heavy bartan with either light weight china or plastic ...
Ok let me ask you a question , when you soap them all up.. afterwards do you pop them back into the sink and then start rinsing them with water ? coz that only takes a minute or so with so much water running on top of the bartan half your work is done anyways ...
soaping the dishes ka koi shortcut nai .. its specially said to properly rinse the spoons and the rims of the cups and glasses .. and the plates so that the germs dont build up in those areas ..
And another question, do you guys use heavy bartan at home? they are always a hassle to wash ... I replaced all of my heavy bartan with either light weight china or plastic ...
hmmm...I'll try that method next time, putting all the soapy bartans back in the sink that is. Yes it's usually heavy china plates.