SINGER ALAMGIR (Appeal)

Raju, this is about Alamgir, the great singer which I found at one of my fav sites today…Maybe Dr Nasir can help/advice
=================================

A.H. Cemendtaur

Being a perennial skeptical about email money appeals, a message about Alamgir’s health and plea to wire transfer money to a bank account made me decide to check the veracity of the news. I looked up Alamgir’s telephone number in Georgia and called him up. Luck was with me, I was able to talk directly to Alamgir in quite detail. Here is what I gathered from our telephone conversation.
WPvideo 1.10

In 2004, Alamgir was diagnosed with failing kidneys. At that time his kidneys were operating at 50% of their capacity. The kidneys kept deteriorating in their performance and by now they are almost useless. Alamgir needs a kidney transplant, but till he finds new kidneys he would have to go through dialysis, the process of machine-cleaning the blood. For the dialysis to start he went through a surgery on Monday, October 6, at Gwinnett Medical Center, Lawrenceville. In that surgery Alamgir was fitted with a dialysis catheter.

Once the surgical wound is dried up, Alamgir’s dialysis through the catheter would start. Since Alamgir has permanent renal failure, he would go through another surgery in which he would be fitted with surgically created arteriovenous fistula, a preferred approach for dialysis. Surgically created arteriovenous fistula is apparently a more involved surgery and is hence delayed till the patient is in better health through dialysis made possible through catheter.

The main reason Alamgir landed in financial trouble is because he was not carrying any health insurance. Although he sounded fatigued Alamgir spoke with optimism.

He said many Pakistani doctors currently living in the US were studying at either Sindh or Dow Medical College when he was at the peak of his career. They were his friends and he was happy to see them coming to his help. Just a day ago he received a call from Ishrat-Ul-Ibad, Governor of Sindh, who extended his support to Alamgir especially if Alamgir would come to Pakistan for further treatment. Alamgir said he is consulting his doctors for the best approach to take. Currently he is being helped by his wife; Alamgir’s son is studying in Virginia .

So, yes the news about Alamgir’s ailment and the appeal for financial help are authentic. Money should be sent directly to Alamgir’s bank account as given in the email message.

Owais Mughal says:
October 10th, 2008 12:59 pm

Following message is from Bilal Zuberi, which he had posted at another ATP post about Alamgir yesterday.
Owais
————————-
Owais, tried posting this earlier but it didn’t go through…you are right on Alamgir. Here’s a note from a friend organizing a fundraiser for Alamgir.
Bilal
————————-

Alamgir has been a true trail-blazer, the first musician and entertainer who came up on the stage and TV and belted out his own unique vibrant brand of music, which so many others have tried to follow, over the last 35 years. His passion and vibrancy, however, has remained unparalleled and he has truly enriched our lives with his songs and music. Its now our turn to help him, when he needs it most.

I spoke to Alamgir a few days ago and also to his only offspring Aurangzeb in DC, who is in his last year at college. Alamgir was in his usual high spirits, although I could sense some nervousness betraying his facade. After all, he has to undergo two hernia surgeries on October 2, before the dialysis process can start two weeks after.

The new date for the Boston benefit concert is November 15th. I am working on two possible avenues at Pine Manor College and MIT. The sound system has already been arranged to his satisfaction. I am confident that, InshaAllah, he would be fit enough to perform. As a backup though, we will switch on to the “sitting down ghazals/geet on a harmonium” format, if he is even slightly uncomfortable with his usual Alamgir stage format. He is receptive to this idea.

While we pursue with our institutional vehicles of help, I personally feel that in the spirit of sharing and caring of this holy month, in addition to our prayers for his health and complete recovery, we should start to activate the process of Giving right now, so that he has some funds well before his surgery. Towards this end, I have managed to discreetly get his bank account details from his wife, which are as follows

Alamgir Haq
Suntrust Bank
routing: 061000104
account: 1000088362248

Additionally, I have already started to collect contribution checks on his behalf and plan to courier him on 9/26/08. If you prefer, you can make out your contribution checks to Alamgir Haq and mail them to me at

Siraj Khan
10 Atherton Road
Hudson MA 01749

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at 978-621-8030. We specially need volunteers to make up the crew for the Boston concert.

I look forward to hearing from you and working together to support Alamgir.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DbTvUqT7Fs

Re: SINGER ALAMGIR (Appeal)

Salutes to the kind and compassionate souls who are ready and proactive in helping this patriotic Pakistani singer who's an icon and a symbol of Pakistani music and culture.

May Allah bless Alamgir with health and fitness soon, and may our community swell with people with a heart who are always helpful.

allah usey sehat de...ameen

Way back in 1970—came a young lad from Dhaka…to settle down in Karachi. The 20 year old didn’t have any place to live…till a garment factory at Kashmir Road which later turned to TEEJAYS.. provided recluse to the young land…who was mostly found humming some song by playing his spanish during the breaks we had from the rehearsals of marhooma YASMIN ISMAIL’s plays she did adequately during 70 through
80’s…finally shaping up as GRIPS.

ALAMGIR became a close friend and soon found his way to PTV-Karachi where his talent was well recognized…that he got a few breaks at LOLLYWOOD also…where his song for the movie JAGEER…filmed on Nadeem…“DEKHA NA THAA KABHI HUM NE YE SAMAA…” became a super-hit…and since then it was no looking back for him.

CRICKET enthusiast he was…that he was invited by Asif Iqbal and Bukhatir as guests alongside Shehnaz Sheikh, Behroze Subzwari and Shakil, Javed Shaikh…to witness Sharjah ODIs.

Whenever he came to UAE..he visited me..at Abudhabi and Dubai.

My friendship continued despite not meeting him for years now…that he got settled in States…though we did converse on phone last year when I called from from Scotland.

The person who gave us many reason to be joyed with his wonderful renderations…is in pain…these days.

We need to come forward and assist im in every which way we can afford to…quietly!

Best,

Raju Jamil (Karachi)

Alamgir is indeed a trend-setter and a legend in pak music industry. It is sad to see that he is in pain, and I hope and pray that things get better for him.

However, I am greatly disappointed that he did not exercise good judgement when it came to medical issues. Anybody who lives in US knows that medical treatment is very expensive, and one must have medical insurance. If he was not able to get it from any employer, then he should have purchased it. That option would have still been a lot better as opposed to trying to pay medical bills out of pocket.

My prayers for his health ..

I had a privilage of communicating with him through youtube commneting where I sent him a message and he replied back and we went back and forth couple of times.

We should also contribute financialy and I make the intention of doing that right now

Sure .. any thing in our reach .... may Allah bless him with health

^ Ameen. Last saw him in ‘Brunch with Bushra’ a few mths back, he was in good spirits. heres one of his songs i absolutely love

ameen

Ameen

May Allah give him complete recovery. ameen

DEKHA NA THAH HUM NE YE SAMA;

www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovMDIMf7AYU

May Allah gives him health nad I hope he gets better soon

We will try to do all we can to garner financial support for Alamgir...

Just to be sure:

Raju Uncle, did you call him up personally or anyone you know did? or was this info provided to you by someone else?

(The only reason for asking this is that Raju Uncle's first post seems like a quote from someone else as he normally used the 'bold blue font')

This is a genuine mail received by me from my younger brother who had handled some remittance from his bank branch for Alam...and thought to inform me of Alam's latest condition....which I was unaware of!

I got in touch with Bina...Alam's wife through my friend first cousin in Houston--who is a naturalized American national and a Judge in Houston for the State....

A friend of mine has offered free transplant for Alamgir at Abu Dhabi...
He is a Urologist himself...

Let me get you all.. ALAMGIR's cell phone number of Houston soon.

Khush Rahein....

Raju Uncle

Indeed such a great singer....indeed his song "daikha na tha" was the first Urdu song that i actually listened to and liked!!!

May Allah give him health.

I note that this thread has been made NON-STICKY! (Koi Shuck???)

Anyway—I thought to cascade the appended–which took place an hour back;

-Raju

Dear Alam,

Thanks for calling and glad to receive your mail.
I have noted your cell number since Dr. Abrar is cc’d here…
I am sure he’ll respond but I’ll tell Abbu to talk to Dr. Ebad
and also write in his weekly column…
which would be a reminder to the concerned.

ALAM..pareshaan na ho na meri jaan..ALLAH barra badshah hai..
subb theek ho jaiga…INSHA’ALLAH.

Will contact you soon…

Raju

JEEVAY JEEVAY PAKISTAN

To: [EMAIL=“raju@m”]raju@
CC:[EMAIL=“abrarkhan@m”]abrarkhan@;
Subject: Re: Hello Alam
Date: Sat, 8 Nov 2008 22:24:54 +0000

hi raju
what a pleasant surprise hearing from you since last life. let me go straight to the point.

in 2004 for the first time in my blood test CRATININE was diagsosed to be 3.8 and i was immediately sent to the nephrologist. i started to have strick diet and because my BP was keeping high started to have NORVASC 10mg one every night. cratinine kept creeping up 4.3 in 2005, 5.6 in 2006… then last august 7.73 and 2 weeks later 8.4. thats when my nephrogist, Nabila Hussain told me i needed to start dialysis as soon as possible. i dont have insurance. but in usa as soon as i start to have dialysis MEDICARE takes care of dialysis ( 80% covered by medicare ) but they dont take care of the surgery and hospital charges. but even the medicare takes 6 months to start to activate. so over here in usa some pakistani physicians in georgia, kentucy and ohio raised some funds just to cover the surgery and hospital charges. its very expensive in usa. i’m sure akbar bhai knows that. this surgery was a ’ PERMACATH ’ so that i could quickly start dialysis and later go for the ’ FITSULA ’ surgery for permanent dialysis. i have already started having dialysis 3 times a week. each tiime takes about 4 hours ( 3 1/2 hours of dialysis and 1/2 hour to set up and all that thing ). its been 2 weeks already since dialysis. my name will be enlisted for TRANSPLANT. in georgia the waiting time is 3years. i may get it earlier in case the donor kidney matches my chemistry more than others who are ahead of me in the line.

raju, meri jaan… i am not doing anything, my wife stopped doing job cause she has to be home to give me hand. she drives me to dialysis since the permacath is on my chest, its hard for me to handle the steering. i am nervous about my future. but i know once i will have a good matching transplant i will be fine. i do light vocal exercise in the morning just to make sure my voice is intact.

the governor of sindh, dr. ishrat called me about a month ago assuring me of $20,000. said his office will follow up on that. somebody from his office called me once to say tariq rangoonwala ( chairman chamber of commerce ) will call me regarding that. i knew tariq. we used to hang out those days. never heard anything from him yet.

raju, i am writing you this long email because i want you to know a little history of my situation.

i know its about 2 am your place now. you go to sleep now. we’ll get in touch tomorrow.

my salam to your dad.

Allah Hafez

alamgir

-------------- Original message from Raju [EMAIL=“raju@com”]raju@com: --------------

Praise be upon ALLAH that I finally found your email address..Alam.

This is Raju from Karachi…your friend of 70’s.

Heard about your condition…cascaded umpteenth mails to various webs/forums till today..someone posted something on my facebook that I got your web link Alamgir, Elvis of the East, Pop Singer, Introduced and finally (hopefully correct) got your email address.

I tried following up with Saleem Askari, Booboo and Shahab..but no avail.

There’s this real gentlemen ; Dr. Abrar I know through my 2nd cousin’s husband Dr. Nasir at flint, Michigin…he (Dr. Abrar) sent me mails that he may be able to do something about your kidney transplant…probably
free of cost or some stipend..I cant say..but Dr. Abrar has beenfollowing up and needs to talk to you on phone about the possibility of your coming to ABUDHABi and get the thing done.

Alam, I have marked a cc of this mail to Dr. Abrar…that if your email addy is correct and intact..you may contact dr. Abrar and discuss in details.

Meanwhile..please provide me your cell and landline numbers…asap.

Take care…

We love you and care for you…

My dad sends his special regards. He can never forget how beautifully you sang his National songs on PTV.

Best,

Raju

JEEVAY JEEVAY PAKISTAN

I SINCERELY HOPE SOMETHING WORKS OUT POSITIVELY–FOR ALAMGIR.
DUA KAREN AAP SUBB…
Thanks,
Raju (karachi)
=================

RE: Hello Alam‏

Sent: Monday, November 10, 2008 12:32:47 AM
To: [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]; ‘Raju’ ([EMAIL=“raju@m”]raju@)

Dear Alamgir,

Greetings from Abu Dhabi. I am sorry to hear about your troubles. Even though I moved to the US when I was very young, I did from time to time listen to your songs when I was growing up and certainly enjoyed them.

Let me tell you a little bit about myself and why I am here in Abu Dhabi.

I am a transplant surgeon and have never actually worked outside the US until 1 year ago (I grew up in the US). The flagship hospital of Abu Dhabi was handed over for management to the Cleveland Clinic Foundation (from the US), approximately 1.5 years ago. As there is no transplant program in the UAE one of the top priorities for Cleveland Clinic was to build a multiorgan transplant program. As I had significant experience building a transplant program in the US, it turned out that they gave me the opportunity to come here and build it for them. We did our first successful transplant in February 2008. It is an excellent hospital and I feel that the quality and consistency of the transplant care we give patients is either as good as or in certain respects even better than that of the US.

At the present (but will not last long) we are providing the transplant care free of charge to persons holding a UAE residence visa. In your situation, we might be able to make an exception but that will have to be cleared by the administration (which basically involves my asking the CEO for permission).

The real problem is of a donor. If you can find a family member who is willing to donate to you (first or second degree relatives), then we can also cover the surgery costs of the donor. In essence, what I am saying is that if you have a donor in Pakistan or in the US, we would most likely be able to help you.

Please let me know if there is any other information that I can give you. I have performed hundreds of transplants in my career in the US and thus have significant experience in the field of organ transplantation. The sooner you get a transplant the better. By the way, you didn’t mention your age in the history you gave us.

Once again, I am really sorry to hear about your troubles and I sincerely hope I can be of some help. I await your response.

Cheers
Abrar

From: [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected] [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Saturday, November 08, 2008 2:25 PM
To: Raju
Cc: [EMAIL=“abrarkhan@m”]abrarkhan@
Subject: Re: Hello Alam

hi raju
what a pleasant surprise hearing from you since last life. let me go straight to the point…

May Allah give him strength

RE: Hello Alam‏
Sent: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 3:01:08 AM
To: ‘Raju’ ([EMAIL=“raju@m”]raju@); ‘Alamgir USA’ ([EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected])

Raju,

No problem…I am happy to help in any way I can. There are many issues with donors who are selling kidneys. In the UAE it would be against the law to perform transplants based on bought kidneys. Also, it is not, as far as I know, legal in India anymore which has sent this entire business underground. Now the last thing you want is to get a transplant done from an entity that is there only to make money. I see many disasters coming to our hospital which I then have to fix…sometimes it takes months. For example, how do you know that they checked the donor properly…what if the donor has hepatitis or other communicable diseases (HIV for example). One must remember, these places do transplants for the money only…they have no long term interest in the patient. In fact they are never going to see the patient again.

The other issue is of course that if you purchase an organ money is required. I understood that part of the problem was funding…which we were prepared to try to help with.

As far as the medical side is concerned, matching with the son would be much better, since 50% of the genes are coming from the father.

Dr. Rizvi I know very well and I have visited SIUT many times to try to help them in various transplantation related issues. They also do not accept bought kidneys…at least that was the rule a few years ago. They also have some pretty outdated ways of doing things. Regardless, and in the end, as long as Alam gets a transplant safely some place…that is okay.

Cheers
abrar

Sent: Monday, November 10, 2008 7:35 AM
To: Abrar Khan; Alamgir USA
Subject: RE: Hello Alam

Dear Abrar,

Can Dr. Adib Rizvi help on donor in some way?
I have a cousin in Mumbai. She says the donorship
is common there but one has to come to Mumbai…

Once again…my sincerest gratitude for all your help and
assistance, Abrar.

Regards,

Raju

JEEVAY JEEVAY PAKISTAN