Sindhi Language (+ others)

It is high time to teach Sindhi language in at least one third the schools of Punjab, Pushtoonistan (or Khaibar), and Balochistan.

Same thing is true for Pashto to be taught in one third the schools of Punjab, Sindh, and Balochistan.

And yes, the Balochi language should be taught in one third the schools of Punjab, Pushtoonistan (or Khaibar), and Sindh.

This will improve the understanding of cultures within Pakistan and make us all better human beings. Just one example of such improvement: A lot more people in Punjab will understand Khushhal Khattak, Rehman Baba, and Shah Bhittai.

That’s an excellent idea. In addition, Hindi written in Sanskrit script should also be taught in at least 1/3 of all Pakistani Schools, which is our heritage, and it will bring the two people closer.

:jhanda:

auntiobl, how about teaching Arabic, too. :)

Lets just start with teaching and using Sindhi in Sindh first.

Or for starters lets just start teaching Punjabi in all primary and elementry schools of Punjab.

Minime Bhaijan, I am reading Mian Mohammad Baksh’s SaifulMalook these days, and Yaar ji, I feel cheated that I was not taught Punjabi. I agree with you that Punjabi must be taught in schools.

Kuch bachouN ka bhi khiyaal karr log aap log! Becharay kitna home work karein gay. Tsk tsk.

Faisal Baytay.. Drop Islamiat and Mutalia-e-Pakistan and introduce Punjabi. For crying out loud, they have Farsi in Colleges but not Punjabi…. Have you ever tried reading Hir Waris Shah or SaifulMalook? Or Kafiate Bullay Shah? You don’t know what you missed.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
For crying out loud, they have Farsi in Colleges but not Punjabi
Abay tu LUMS jaa ke Punjabi tau nahi dhoond riya si? Hadd ho gayee. Jiss ko shouq hai, woh Punjabi aur Sindhi or Multani mein jaa ke PhD kar le.

Three of my cousins that I know of had Punjabi as one of their subjects in college for their B.A. degree.

Faisal, PhDs are not done in languages per say, it is done in either literature or linguistic text or whatnot. What we are arguing here is to teach it in elementary school, Alf Annar and Bay Bakri is fine, but also teach Noon NadHa tay Kaf KuRee. We are talking about teaching it so people can read and understand their own heritage. Now who the hell in Multan wants to read Mir Taqi Mir or Ghalib when we have a lot more intriguing and captivating poetry to which we can relate to. I would say take stupid Ghalib and Akbar Allabadi crap out of our schools.

K-2… Sure you can have it as one of the subjects to learn about Punjabi Literature, but they don’t “teach” you how to read or comprehend.

K-2... Sure you can have it as one of the subjects to learn about Punjabi Literature, but they don't "teach" you how to read or comprehend.
Haha... this is classic. Aray, even that FA Punjabi folks had to read so much Punjabi that I would sympathize with them. And those buggers thought that they will score some easy marks! Even GC's Intermediate prospectus turned into Punjabi when they were explaining the syllabus. I am sure it is much more elaborate in BA and MA.

That’s why Faisal, it is important that Punjabi is taught at elementary level. As I said before, I am reading SaifulMalook and I have to ask my mother for the meanings of at least 2 words per line.

..... Now who the hell in Multan wants to read Mir Taqi Mir or Ghalib when ....

Hold your horses guys. My emphasis on Sindhi was not at the cost of any other language. Bulleh shah is great and so do Ghalib. You got to read Abdul Halim Sharar's Firdouse Barin. Man! it is a thing of the beauty. Relatively recent afsaana like "kali Shalwar" is so riveting.

Read more guys! not less! Learning is a life long experience. School based learning is cool but one shouldn't quit learning now that he has a high school diploma (or Saar-Tif-Kate).

^ that is strange because she speaks fluent hindi.

^ Matsui, this is an ample proof that since you type so slowly, so you should not use ^ sign carelessly. Make friends with "Quote". Once you start typing with more than two fingers, then hopefully you can beat these guys in their own game.

Faisal, he might use 2 fingers but only one hand, caz he is picking his nose with the other.

Anti Yaar, I agree..we should learn more and not less. But I get very emotional about Punjabi. Not because I was born in Punjab, but because it is my mother tongue.

See Faisal, the thing is that I am working on a term sheet at the same time as gupping. I go through one provision and then check out GS. I feel that is best way to optimize my time. Wasting time on quoting and cutting an pasting while I am determining a young man’s IP is hardly a good use of time and is completely an affront to his confidence in my ability to value his worth. So be a little sensitive and :eatme: :stuck_out_tongue:

But I get very emotional about Punjabi. Not because I was born in Punjab, but because it is my mother tongue.
Aina jhoot?!?! The only reason you are getting so emotional about Punjabi right now is because someone has given you "SaifulMalook" to read and is going to be-izzat you if you are not done with it by next week. Mother tongue hondi te tuano parhan aandi.

Faisal, I can only read about a page in a sitting. The darn thing is very difficult and heavy (literally). One thing I don’t understand is why are some books so thick? If you must, make bloody Volumes (but no more than 250 pages per volume), issue trilogies (or quartrologies)… you know it took me from grade 9th to about the time I had my first born to finish Shahab Nama. I started Manto Nama when Zia had his referendum, I am on page 2726 now.