Sindh Assembly passes resolution against division of Sindh

Re: Sindh Assembly passes resolution against division of Sindh

Why should not Sind divide?

[mod]Please stop personal attacks and continue the conversation in decent manner.[/mod]

Yaar Sachchay, let's admit ke PPP ne hamesha zaati mafaad kee siyaasat kee hai. Fuzool main bhai aur khan sahab ka zikr laa ke derail na karo apni hee thread.

No people vote PPP because they ghulams of vaderas.

and on topic, its PPP's democratic right to pass the resolution and oppose the plan of making multiple administrative units but I am yet to hear a sane argument as to WHY THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN. All I hear is

• marsoo marsoo sindh na daiso
  • Sindh ko kisi ka baap bhi nahi taqseem ker sakta
  • Jis nai taqseem ki baat ki uss ko sindh sai nikal deen gai
  • Sindh divide howa tu Pakistan toot jayee ga
  • Sindh sindhioon ka hai. Baher sai aaney waloon ka nahi

PPP's top brass give these arguments so I don't expect some emotional Jiyala here on GS to come up with some valid arguments. Its globally accepted fact that making multiple, small units help manage countries better so now its opponents job to come up with valid argument as to why its not valid for Sindh.

And this what their leader is saying on twitter lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Lulz)

BilawalBhuttoZardari @BBhuttoZardari](https://twitter.com/BBhuttoZardari)** · 7h**

#MarsuMarsuSindhNaDesu](https://twitter.com/hashtag/MarsuMarsuSindhNaDesu?src=hash) SA unanimously passed resolution in-defense of mother Sindh presented by jyala from Larkano.Sad PTI&MQM not present.

I have also posted resolution by 20 other parties against division. Your ethnic and biased thinking does not belong here.

You talking about ethnic and biased thinking is like Bilawal saying I am last hope for PPP

lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Lulz) #EpicFail](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=EpicFail)

??????

Personally, I am against the division of Sindh.

Nevertheless, I would like to see power of provincial assembly curtailed to minimum and merit (plus performance) becomes criteria throughout Sindh.

I would like to see very strong and powerful local governments that has administration and other departments serving the area they represent under their control, and they also have some say to the taxes collected from their area, should be able to also collect some taxes from their area, and should be wholly responsible of money allocation to their area.

I would also like to see that, for development purpose, 50 percent of money allocated to Sindh or raised by Sindh government should be distributed to local bodies, on basis of population. Further, 20 money should go to local areas that contributes most taxes (according to their contribution to exchequer). After that distribution of 70 percent, local bodies should be wholly responsible of that money, though they should give accounts of expenditure to Sindh government that should be audited and Accountability department looks at them minutely.

Remaining 30 percent with Sindh government should be left with provincial government to run the province and pay judiciary, police, bureaucracy, civil administration, and government run educational institutions, hospitals, roads constructions, water and power provisions, and other departments. If appropriate, local body governments may share some expenses related to their area.

I would also like to see judiciary, police, and bureaucracy in Sindh completely independent of political influences. Recruitment, promotions, allocations, transfers, and sacking officers should be from within their department transparently, making merit and performance as only criteria for everything, and all should happen without any say or input of politicians. These institutions (judiciary, police and bureaucracy) should be powerful enough to even go against Chief Minister, Chief secretary of the province, IG police of the province, or even Chief justice of Sindh if there is need (direction from Accountability department). They should be powerful enough to even go for Prime Minister, Ministers, army officers, and any Federal employees if they have reasons to do so.

I would also like to see a very strong and powerful Sindh accountability department ('Subayee Ahtasaab adarah') that should be transparent and have power to even make cases against Chief Minister, Chief secretary and even Chief justice of Sindh.

I would also like to see strong election system in Sindh that make sure those who get elected really got votes from people and not due to rigging ... plus they also make sure that voters have given their votes without fear and without and type of pressure from party or candidates. This institution should be powerful enough to reject any election result if malpractices are observed, and call for new election. (Obviously, I would like that Sindh Ahetesab department make sure that Sindh election commission is working without influences and biases).

And so on.

I would also like to see what I mentioned throughout Pakistan, getting adopted (or imposed) by all provinces, as well as federal government.

I think if what I mentioned would happen, then with time, people would get concerned about merit and performance of their local governments. Then there would be no argument nor any benefit about keeping provinces intact, rather with time, we would only going to have local area governments, abolishing all provincial governments (as obsolete), and Federal government taking up task of provincial governments, saving money and making Pakistan truly one country.

Because majority does not want it.

So lets see what Dino has posted. Oh well I see VERY VERY informative and intellectual reasoning. Now that I know all the "facts" why new units cant be created, I am for united Sindh!!!!! marsoo marsoo sindh na daisoo.

KARACHI:

The opposition parties in Sindh will submit a resolution against the Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) demand to set up administrative units in Sindh in the assembly today. The issue may be taken up during the upcoming session on Thursday.

The opposition parties, nationalists, writers and activists in Sindh have joined hands to condemn the MQM’s demand, saying they will not support any unconstitutional demands that are a direct threat to the integrity of Pakistan. The decision was made during an all-parties conference, convened by the Qaumi Awami Tehreek (QAT) and Jamiat-e-Ulema Pakistan (JUP), at the residence of JUP secretary-general Maulana Owais Ahmed Noorani on Tuesday.

The resolution will be submitted on Wednesday, confirmed Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) MPA and the opposition leader in the assembly Shaharyar Mahar. “It [resolution] will clarify who supports it and who does not,” he said.

“A historical consensus was built today when not even a single party supported such demand,” claimed QAT president Ayaz Latif Palijo. “This is an unacceptable demand to the people of Sindh.

Palijo said that the participants at the conference agreed that the future of Sindh and the rest of the country should not be compromised for the sake of political and personal interests. “The country is facing a number of political, social and economic issues,” Palijo read out from the resolution signed at the conference. “Thousands of people are homeless due to the floods and the ongoing operation against terrorists. There is inflation, unemployment, and terrorism.”

More than 20 parties, including Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), PML-F, Jamiat-e-Ulema-e-Islam, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (F), Jamaat-e-Islami, Jeay Sindh Qaumi Mahaz, Sindh United Party, Balochistan National Party, Awami National Party, Sunni Tehreek, Pashtoonkhwa Mili Awami Party, PPP-Shaheed Bhutto, Kutchi Rabita Committee and others participated in the conference, which was also attended by former Sindh chief ministers, Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim and Liaquat Ali Jatoi.
Neither urban Sindhi nor rural Sindh is in favour of a division of Sindh as it is an issue of Pakistan’s integrity,” said PTI provincial president Nadir Akmal Laghari. “Sindh’s division won’t be accepted.” Laghari claimed the MQM demand will spread hatred.

Meanwhile, PML-N Sindh president Muhamamd Ismail Rahoo said that** no one would be allowed to weaken the Constitution*. “It is a historical consensus in the history of Pakistan that all **parties are united against the division of Sindh*,” he said.

We have repeated again and again that it is an unacceptable demand,” said PML-F’s Mahar. Dr Rahim also claimed that the people of Sindh do not want a division. The chief minister has a majority in the assembly and no one can stop any political party if it has a majority, he said.

There is no space for new provinces in the country,” said Jatoi. “It is the result of rigging that a political party dares to demand a separate province,” he added. “We’ll fight till our last breath but won’t accept it.”

The ruling PPP’s Senator Saeed Ghani also ruled out the creation of new administrative units. “The demand is out of question,” he said.

MQM wants to ‘reorganise’ Sindh

The MQM insisted, however, that it never called for the division of Sindh. MQM leader Farooq Sattar told The Express Tribune that he fails to understand why political parties are opposing the formation of administrative units in Sindh.

“Are they holding such events because of their animosity towards the MQM?” Sattar said his party never called for division of Sindh. “We want Sindh to be reorganised. In fact, the entire country should be reorganised,” he said, adding this was a century of decentralisation since economy dictates politics. “Decentralisation does not mean the division of any existing province but it means more autonomy and administrative powers,” he said.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 24th, 2014.

:sannan: kam az kam tum apnay leader ka hi sun letay…

Well, I am pro division of Sindh on the basis of manageable administrative unit, and my suggestion is not limited to Sindh, I would also suggest same division of other provinces.

Do you think IK is not doing this? Getting free lands, bhatta, zakat, chandah what not using and en-cashing his winning of world cup for many years. Otherwise as a politician he is totally failure.

Jinnahpur...

Oh sorry … I posted while I was still trying to complete my post. :slight_smile:

Please see the bottom paragraph of what I wrote in my above post. Repeating here:

Now you can see that if what i wrote do happen, then with time, there would be no need for provinces and provincial government, rather all local area government would become individual administrative units, while country would be one, run by federal government with very little influence on local government.

Plus … As far as I am concerned: Leader is one who leads a group of people or country towards a goal and value they share, or it seems to those who are led, that way. For me, goals and values are more important than leader. Leaders (or even parties) comes and go, but goals and values stays, as they are a persons desire.

So why Altaf wanted division of Sindh? Is it not continuation of legacy of Jinahpur?

Why are you trolling here?

Why do you have a problem with me?
I can say whatever I want atleast I am not using the low level language that you are famous of on GS

@Sachaydino When will be you start thinking rationally?
Jinnahpur was military and Nawaz Sharif plan against MQM to launch operation. IB itself accepted that there was no such conspiracy of Jinnahpur.

What is your take on local government?
Why should not Sindh divide on manageable units?

I don't want to hear marson marson argument....

jab apni hi murghi doosron ki chat pe jaake anda de, to banda kiya kar sakta hai.

If they are known terrorists, why PPP leadership is giving statements 'apne aadmi hain. mana len ge'. Why don't they take action for once and all? hypocrisy much?