So I was just wondering. What does it really mean for one person to give you “sincere advice”? Suppose you have an issue and need to debate whether your decision regading it is correct or not. You go to someone for advice. Now this person might have good intentions at heart, but isnt it true that they will advise you based on THEIR beliefs, morals, experience and logic? And this might clash with your beliefs.
For example, you take advice from a college career advisor or a super-feminist college professor and then take advice on the same issue from a religious auntie or your parents. Both parties ARE in fact giving advice backed by good intentions. How do you come to a decision??(assume you are not religious for this example)
Do you decide based on the kind of people you are going to be around all your life? (or think you will be around all your life; not to mention that your decision could affect relationship with aunties or parents for the worse if you did not take their advice). Do you decide based on YOUR beliefs only? or do you constantly think about what is right/wrong and remain double minded and wait for things to take a turn by themselves?
Re: Sincerely......
shweetz. . .
my brain hurts after reading that . . .
or it could be from staying online all day lol
Advice is just that...advice. It's not a choice made for you.
Your decisions and subsequent actions will have consequences, and this applies to relationships too. You and you alone, have to factor that in to your decision making. You can be passive about it, but that just may well be postponing the inevitable.
...now you do realize that there's a bit of a self-referential problem on soliciting advice on how to take advice from others :-)
shweet sometime people that we seek advice from are older than us. They definately have more experience in life then us. They are professional in their feilds [college advisors] I would definately do what they would suggest.
hereey ko tarashne mein wakt lagta hai - log ap ko ek tarha se taraash rahe hain.
i will get back to you on family and other relationships where you would seek advice...
see you trust us thats why taking advice on this
Re: Sincerely…
“…now you do realize that there’s a bit of a self-referential problem on soliciting advice on how to take advice from others :-)”
point taken!!!
“log ap ko ek tarha se taraash rahe hain” <----- good point nia
solar: ![]()
Just take the rock and say yes !!! ![]()
Seriously.. well what kind of advice u looking for? I think u wud go to a diff person for a diff thing, like u’d ask a college advisor for academic/career advice.. ask aunties/ammi advice on how to keep a perfect home and cook good biryani ![]()
Yaar hua kya, batado mujhe
I agree with Solar, my brain hurt after reading that thread.
But as mentioned earlier, advice is just that, advice, not a decision made for u. Advice will implicly be subject to personal experience. It is your responsibility to hear the advice and decide for yourself what is best for you. It’s not about choosing between wrong or right decisions, because that is all subjective. In the end, it is about choosing your path, discovering (through good and bad experiences) what makes you happy, what fulfills your needs, what helps you fulfill your goals, hopes, and desires. When you keep this in mind and then listen to advice, you can ask yourself how does it relate to what you want for yourself, or what you hope to achieve, and hopefully, at its best, good advice will help you make a more informed decision. Hope I made some sense. My frazzled brain can’t handle re-reading what I just wrote.
advice is an opinion which someone offers u on wat u shud do or how u shud act in a particular situation.
wateva advice is given, its the person's personal opinion. at the end of the day we have to weigh the pros and da cons and make da best possible decision given da situation.
Advice is fine as long as it fits with your own code of conduct. Asking one of my friends who is a womanizer about relationships is certainly not a good choice for me or a good source of advice because his and my moral codes conflict.
However asking one of my more conservative muslim friends works because he is usually going to give me something i can relate too.
Advice is great as long as you can understand the point of view the other person is taking.
Life is not about facts. It is about perceptions.
so grumpy you are saying it makes most sense to take advice from those that closely share our morals and beliefs? right?
Sara- i told you about it :(
Take a decision based on YOUR beliefs.
barfee and aisha! i luv u! say that again!
hey , why r u making situation so complex , just listen to ur heart , wht she says ...
hmmmmmmm .....u know naa Dil Badshah salamat haiii
so do listen him rather thn aunties , parents or advisors .....
Kysaaaa
hmmmmmmm .....u know naa Dil Badshah salamat haiii
so do listen him rather thn aunties , parents or advisors .....
Kysaaaa
Can you first decide whether heart is a he or a she?
Schweetdreamz do what u want
and make everyone else understand why u want it
its a lady heart ...so its she I guess.....
yeah like many said above that an advice is just an advice....if it fits ur situation u take it, otherwise, decide it for yourself according to your needs/situation....go with what your heart and mind decide....at the end u r best judge.....u have to decide whats good or bad for you or what fulfills your needs at that time.
Yes. After all you are not going to take advice from someone who does not share you background.
Say you are interested in a guy but your parents don't approve. A gori would tell you to go for him regardless and that it is for fun and not a long term thing. A desi might say NO never go against your parents. Or she might say see him as a friend and try to get your parents to agree.
This above example is extremely simplistic and stereotypical. I would assume that you would be more inclined to listen to your desi friend because she knows the culture, the situation and the consequences. Your average gori doesn't.
I hope that helps.