Since this happens a lot...

I thought I would finally ask this. I have a friend that is being very desperate to get married. I don’t know why but anyway. The funny part is she’s only 21 years old. Anyway, her aunt finally found an educated guy whom she can marry. The thing is, the guy needs papers to stay in the states since his student visa is about to expire. I feel it’s wrong if that’s the only reason but you can never be sure. I often see people in Pakistan marrying people abroad just so they can also go abroad. How do you guys feel about that? Would you marry a guy/girl knowing they’re only doing it so they can come to the states/europe/ etc. ?

well if that is the reason the only reason the guy will marry the girl then .. that is really bad!! i mean the girl can find anyone better shes only 21 no need to rush things that quick .. also the guy zahir baat hai would just marry anyone at this time to save his visa!

i personally wudnt marry a guy whos desperate to cum to canada/usa wat ever i think this idea is stupid .. where u hve no sort of feelin and the guys main point is to sve him self.. nd mayb let say get on with his life leavin ur friend behind

bad bad badddd

Re: Since this happens a lot...

bangs head against cement wall

Umm why? :aq:

zazzy: I completely agree with you, especially about the guy leaving my friend. I have a family member in London who married a boy from Pakistan. I felt it was weird because she was born and raised in the UK and her mentality was completely different than the guys but I thought maybe i could be wrong. Everything was fine till he got to UK and knew that he didn't need her anymore, and it ended in divorce.

My point in all this is, it's amazing what people would do to come to Canada/UK/US etc. I've seen very beautiful young women marry ugly old men for this.

Because it is idiotic. I am surprised people still do this 20 years from the 80s. Marriage is a sacred institution not a ****ing visa office.

The aunty has already had a lobotomy and deserves to be given a few cement boots near the pier.

Oh lol! She's one of those match maker aunties. It's really sad though. People still desire western countries. But both the guy and girl are getting something out of this. She wants a husband(a handsome one) and he wants a visa.

I wouldnt do it.

Re: Since this happens a lot…

:nahi:

Never !

Brilliant question! :k: Of course I would, it is such a geniune and noble reason for getting married after all.

Agree with the ape.

lol - you neva know. It could possibly turn out to be genuine :cb:

since the guy will be APPRECIATIVE that he is being given a SECOND chance to stay - he might just be appreciative and look after the girl very well in RETURN.

:slight_smile:

Lets say the question was this:

I have an XYZ cousin, who is very nice, educated and settled in the US. A match maker aunty has found a beautiful, educated girl who lives back in Pakistan. The only thing that disturbs the guy is that after marriage, the girl would like to come to the US. The guy feels that thats the only reason she's marrying him. What do you guys say ?

Winking!! (I would love to see the disparity in the answers)

^lol snowy_winter you seem quite clever!

OMG I AM GOING TO SCREAM!

WHAT THE HELL!

Is that really what it's about? Is that all they are looking for in a relationship? How incredibly disrespectful and disgusting. Man, these people are idiots and deserve the kind of unhappiness that often comes out of these marriages of convenience. Marriage is supposed to be for a LIFETIME. You are supposed to marry someone who will be your partner FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. Has she even thought about this? Or does she just want to dress up and have a wedding and then a safe home to serve a man for the rest of her life?

UGH This makes me so angry. Because these are the same people that come on here and ***** and moan about how unhappy they are and expect the world to fix their problems instead of using their own brains.

UGH.

Waisay topics to this effect have been done to death.
I really can't comprehend why an educated man would marry someone for visa and then abandon her at the drop of hat once he got it.
Seeing as he did this guy studied from US- which can cost a LOT-he hardly seems like a desparado from the pind with nothing but a diploma to his name.
Also please people a 'visa' is not as coveted a commodity as many seem to think. A green card probably but every other 'visa' is not. At least it is not if you are educated and professional. Canada, Australia and New Zealand are all very welcoming for well educated professionals so rishta is hardly a ticket to a future in the first world.
Unless you are marrying a poorly educated clerk-and there are not many who do- from back home chances are the guy is not in it just for a 'visa'!

Having said that decisions like these are not to be taken lightly. And it is probably best to stick to your own wider community or country while looking for rishtas.

I would call the guys 'bluff' and tell him that she wants to settle in Pak, so he will have no chance of getting a UK passport if he marries her.

No I wouldn't.

A girl or boy who willingly marries someone knowing that they're only being used for a passport (or money) has serious self esteem issues imo.

yaar we cannot assume that the guy is doing this for that sole reason, maybe he too wants to finally settle down and get married and getting the citizenship is an added bonus, lekin logically you should stay away from such scenarios as they might lead to that end, to jaan boojh kar kunwein mein chhalaang kiun lagaoo !!!