Simple Question - Dare to answer?

watcher u are annoying as hell..or maybe u are just too dumb..go read my earlier posts and u will get a clear answer..i dont wanna bother with this anymore..if my son wants to have 4 wives..would i allow it? NO..can he if he wants to? Yes

cool dude what are u talking about? why dont u have 4 wives? Allah is allowing it so just go ahead and have 4 of them and enjoy buddy

[This message has been edited by Sheraz CT (edited January 08, 2001).]

Ok, why wouldn’t YOU alow it? [answer that]

Simple answer, my question maybe dumb to you because they require rational and logical answer from you, which is ability not found in a shia. So, anything logical is dumb to you because you have trouble answering it.

PLEASE answer the above question, thanks.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

Yes Sheraz, I can have four wives, Allah has allowed it.. you're point being?

no I will not allow my sister to perform mutah and no I wont allow my dad to have four wives..got my point watcher?..
you didnt read my previous post, me and most of my fella shias cant imagine practicing it

watcher why do you think mutah is all about sex sex and sex it shows where your mentality is ..it does have positive aspects you just dont understand my friend. As usual you are portraying it in a vulgurous way.

hey sheraz welcome back yaar..bhool jao.its no point..if we point out something from there book it is distorted but when watcher does the same thing its 100% authentic..funny!

kutta ban gaya houn tairay pyar mein
sunnah chahti ho to sunoh
BHOW BHOW!!

Sherry, mut'ah is allowed in shiaism on the basis of SEX. they have made it lawful so that when shia man is away from his family he can have and fulfil his sex apeal. ANd I am only restating what is the purpose of the mut'ah, and why you shias love it and are not accepting that it was forbidden and it is haram.

Why wouldn't you alow your sister to perform mut'ah??????

We are not talking about 4 wives so cut the crap out. thanks bud.

Take it easy.

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

Actually I think the only person talking with consistencty here is The Watcher. Sherry first you say you would never allow your daughter/sis to perform muta, then all of the sudden you justify muta by saying its not about sex only, but has positive affect as well? what? if it has positive aspect y not allow your sis/daughter in doing that? Muta was originally to fulfil the physical needs, if you read the circumstances in which it was allowed (twice in history only). "The positive aspects" are just poor and futile justifications to perform muta.

And yeaa, take it eazy..

amigo I gave you the reason in my previous posts.WAR , IRAN..kuch yaad aya..it has positive aspects just like in four marriages but why ppl dont practice it?..
and yes I will bring four marriages cuz you guys would never understand.
mutah was not on the basis of sex meri jaan it was done under extreme circumstances. if things work out between husband and wife they can continue there relationship.
I myself dun approve mutah but for everything there is a reason behind it thas why I gave out those reasons..
I'm not like watcher claiming any action which is contradictory haram frankly speakking I dont have guts to do that.. One day I have to answer Allah.

BHOW BHOW!!

amigo I gave you the reason in my previous posts.WAR , IRAN..kuch yaad aya..it has positive aspects just like in four marriages but why ppl dont practice it?..
mutah was not on the basis of sex meri jaan it was done under extreme circumstances. if things work out between husband and wife they can continue there relationship.
I myself dun approve mutah but for everything there is a reason behind it thas why I gave out those reasons..
I'm not like watcher claiming any action which is contradictory haram, he even claimed that we shias believes that allah makes mistakes and forgets(Astaghfirullah), frankly speakking I dont have guts to do that.. One day I have to answer Allah.

BHOW BHOW!!

Sherry, ALlah has forbidden it. ALLAH must have NOT seen any need for mut’ah so he forbade us.

You say it is allow, but when the issue comes to your household you say you will not allow it. akhmmmmmmm..that is the same attitude with the shia moulives who perform mut’ah but do not let women of their household perform it.

well i dont really understand the point of having 4 wives..but its in our religion so there must be a strong reason behind it..just like mutah..its in our religion so there must be a strong point behind it..if its allowed in the religion doesnt mean we have to do it..sunni says it was started in the time of Prophet and Prophet later stopped it..so why did he start in the first place and why stopped it later on?

Sherazz, who the hell are you to question what prophet did and why he did. HE SAID NO and YOU SHOULD STOP!!! There is no questions asking why are you stoping and no excuses, you SHOW LOVE AND RESPECT TO THE PROPHET WHEN YOU LISTEN TO HIM AND DO NOT DO THINGS WHICH HE HAS NOT ALLOWED US TO DO!

You claim you love family of prophet and him but here you are questioning his decisions and his wills. Shame on you.

Take it easy.

excuse me watcher i never said Prophet stopped it..its the sunnis who think like that..i was saying it doesnt make sense that Prophet first started and then stopping it..if it was bad he wouldnt have started it..like he made alcohol haram and it still is haram..so if it was bad he wouldnt have started it the first place..tum itnay chotay bachay nahi ho k tumko har baat detail main samjhani paray

Sherazz, it was Allah’s decision to ask Mohammad to tell us that it has been forbidden. Its need was over, so ALlah decided to disallow it. Wes hould obey allah and should not ask any questions when he say ssomething we are to act UPON it not ask WHYs.
People please read this article:

Temporary Marriage & Its Illegtimacy in Islam

Of the basics and foundations on which Islam was built was the gradual implementation of injunctions so that people can be prepared to apply these without shock or surprise. In this manner, the impact of the injunctions is less strenuous. This gradualism requires the permissibility of some actions as a temporary measure to deal with situations and circumstances. Then these permissions end as the purpose which they aim to serve is no longer a necessity. Then when the law of Allah was fully revealed, this law remained applicable until the Day of Judgement.
Our divine law was completed with the words of the Most High: “Today I have perfected for you your religion, and completed upon you my favour, and accepted for you Islam as a way of life.” [5:4]. After the revelation of this noble verse, there was no longer any change or exchange. This gradualism in implementation has included many religious laws such as the law relating to alcohol, and the law relating to inheritance and others.

In this short precis, we are focusing on temporary marriage and what is linked to it of practical wisdoms which have been missed on many amongst the common people, to an extent that it facilitated the spread of many false claims about the law of Allah Most High lying about his Messenger (s.a.w.), and hatred to his righteous companions (r.a.a.).

What is temporary marriage?

It is a temporary marriage upon agreement of the two parties. This temporary marriage was a custom amongst eastern countries, as it was also practised by some men at the dawn of Islam on their missions / trips.

Abdullah Ibn 'Abbas (r.a.a.) said: "Temporary marriage was at the beginning of Islam. A man comes by a town where he has no acquaintances, so he marries for a fixed time depending on his stay in the town, the woman looks after his provisions and prepares his food, until the verse was revealed: “Except to your wives or what your right hands possess.” Ibn 'Abbas explained that any relationship beyond this is forbidden. [narrated by Tirmizy]

As temporary marriage was a custom amongst Arabs in the days of ignorance, it would not have been wise to forbid it except gradually, as is the manner of Islam in removing pre-Islamic customs which were contrary to the interests of people.

It is well established that temporary marriage does not agree with the interests of people because it causes loss to the offspring, uses women for fulfilment of the lusts of men, and belittles the value of a woman whom Allah has honoured. So temporary marriage was forbidden.

The evidence of its illegality:

We will show - God willing - some of the countless evidences in order to wipe out some of the maligning accusations which the misguided repeat against Umar Ibnul Khattab (r.a.a.). These people falsely claim that he was the person who forbade it when he was Caliph. Their motive for this false claim was but their blind spite for the companions of the Messenger (s.a.w.) who had succoured him, supported him, and assisted him.

Allah Most High says: “So whatever you enjoy from them, give them their recompense, this is an obligation.” [4:24]. This is the verse relied on by those who support temporary marriage. They rely on it either in ignorance or in order to fool others, giving a superficial meaning to the verse without referring to the interpretation of it, and without availing the correct interpretation to the general public. The following is the interpretation of it:

Imam Qurtuby says in his commentary on this verse, the payment in the context is the dowry, it has been called recompense because it is a fee for the enjoyment. This is a support for dowry being a recompense. Alhasan, Mujahid, and others said: The meaning relates to what you have 'enjoy’ed through your union with women in proper marriage, so “give them their recompense” that is, their dowries. Ibn Khuwayz Mindad said: There is no support and it is not permissible to use the verse as a permission for temporary marriage as the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) has warned against and has forbidden temporary marriage as Allah Most High said: “So marry them with the permission of their families.” It is natural for the marriage to take place with the permission of the parents, this is a proper marriage which has a trustee and two witnesses, temporary marriage is not like that. 'A`isha said: "It has been forbidden in the Qur’an in the words of the Most High: “And those who preserve their private parts except with their spouses or what their right hands posses, then they would have no blame.” [23:5]. Temporary marriage is not regarded as a proper marriage, and the spouse does not fall into the category of what the right hand possesses.

Ibn Katheer says in his commentary on this verse: as you enjoy them, give them their dowries as the Most High said: “give women their money as a gift” [4:4]. He has interpreted the generality of this verse to include temporary marriage saying: There is no doubt that it was permitted at the dawn of Islam, and became forbidden afterwards.

Ibn Jawzy says in regards to this verse: some commentators have said: what is meant by this verse is the temporary marriage, and then it was superseded with what has been reported from the Prophet (s.a.w.) when he forbade temporary marriage. This interpretation has no basis. The Prophet (s.a.w.) permitted it then forbade it with his own words, so his later prohibition supersedes the permissibility. As for the verse, it does not touch on temporary marriage. It only relates to enjoyment through proper marriage."

There is a plethora of statements of the Messenger (s.a.w.) which forbid temporary marriage, some of the Hadith include:

According to Sabra Bin Ma’had AlJuhany who said: I was with my cousin when we passed by a woman who liked my youth and a robe which my companion had. So she offered temporary marriage with the robe as the dowry. I married her and spent the night with her. In the next morning, I went to the mosque and heard the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) saying: ‘O people, I had permitted you temporary marriage before, whoever of you has any part in it currently must part with her, and do not take back anything which you may have given them, as Allah Exalted and Majestic has forbidden it until the day of resurrection.’ " [narrated by Muslim, Abu Dawood, Ibn Majah, Nasa`i, and Darimi]

Ali Bin Abi Taleb (r.a.a.) said that the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had forbidden temporary marriage on the day of Khaybar and had forbidden the eating of the meat of domestic camels. [narrated by bukhary, Muslim, Tirmizy, Ibn Majah, Nasa`i, Tahawy, Shafi’i, Bayhaqy, and Hazimy]

According to Sufyan Althawry according to Isma’il Bin Umayya according to Alzahry according to Alhassan Bin Mohammad according to Ali (r.a.a.) who said to a man: “You are a straying person, the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) has forbidden temporary marriage and the meat of domestic camels on the day of Khaybar.” [Narrated by Muslim and Bayhaqy]

According to Misdad Bin Masarhad according to 'AbdulWareth according to Isma’il Bin Ummaya according to Alzahry who said: "We were with 'Umar Bin ‘Abdul’Aziz and we recalled temporary marriage, a man called Rabee’ Bin Sabra said to him: ‘I testify that according to my father that it happened that the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had forbidden it on the farewell pilgrimage.’ " [narrated by Abu Dawood and Imam Ahmad]

According to Abu Huraira (r.a.a.), the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had forbidden or abolished temporary marriage, its marriage and its divorce, its waiting period, and its inheritance. [narrated by DarQutny, Ishaq Bin Rahwiya, and Ibn Habban]

Abu Bakr Bin Hafs reported according to Ibn 'Umar who said: "When Ali was given the Caliphate, he thanked Allah Most High and praised Him and said: ‘O people, the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had permitted temporary marriage three times then forbade it. I swear by Allah, ready to fulfil my oath, that if I find any person who engages in temporary marriage without having ratified this with a proper marriage, I will have him lashed 100 stripes unless he can bring two witnesses to prove that the Messenger (s.a.w.) had permitted it after forbidding it.’ " [Ibn Majah]

Imam Muslim has narrated that according to Mohammad Bin 'Abdullah Bin Numayr who said: "My father had narrated to us according to 'Ubaidullah according to Ibn shahab according to Alhassan and 'Abdullah the sons of Mohammad Bin 'Ali according to their father according to 'Ali (r.a.a.) that he heard Ibn 'Abbas (r.a.a.) being lenient towards temporary marriage, so he said, 'wait Ibn ‘Abbas, the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had forbidden it on the day of Khaybar when he also prohibited the meat of domestic camels.’ "

This evidences illustrates the correctness of the consensus about its prohibition. Particularly as 'Umar Ibnul Khattab (r.a.a.) had mentioned its prohibition from the pulpit and stated its punishment, and reminded the congregation that the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) had prohibited it and strongly admonished against it, this was at the presence of both the migrants and the supporters, and none disputed it with him or differed with him, knowing well their care and attention to make sure that the truth is always revealed, and any error is corrected as they had done with respect to other issues. Furthermore, the prohibition has been reported according to a number of companions other than 'Umar.

Its prohibition has been reported according to 'Ali Bin Abi Taleb, 'Abdullah Bin 'Umar, 'Abdullah Bin Mas’ud, 'Abdullah Bin Alzubayr, 'Abdullah Bin 'Abbas who when reminded of its prohibition also supported the prohibition when he understood the references of the others. This is also the understanding of the followers, the scholars, and all the Imams. They were all unanimous on this issue.

To cap the research, below are the opinions of the four Imams; these will leave no excuse for any.

Hanafi Mazhab: stated in Fathul Qadir that the temporary marriage is void, and defined this marriage as a man saying to a woman I will enjoy you so many times for a certain sum of money. He also said in AlHashia after dealing with the two different types of temporary marriage, that it is a contract with a woman which is formed with the intention of not providing security or fosterage for a child, instead it is for a fixed period, and the marriage ends with this period, or a non fixed period based on the person’s stay with the wife until he decides to leave, and then the contract is ended.

Shafi’i Mazhab: temporary marriage is a marriage for a period, so if it was requested of a guardian to marry his ward for a month, this would be a void marriage.

Maliki Mazhab: temporary marriage is one for a term, as if saying to the guardian allow me to marry your ward for a month for such a fee, if they agree, the marriage would be void and both spouses would be liable to a penalty. This marriage is ended without a divorce, regardless of whether it is before consummation or after.

Hanbali Mazhab: Temporary marriage is a marriage for a term whether fixed or not, there is no difference whether it is labelled as a marriage or not, where the man says to the woman allow me to enjoy you, she says I give you myself for enjoyment, without a guardian or two witnesses. The temporary marriage raises two issues. One for a fixed term having a guardian and two witnesses, or one called enjoyment not having a guardian or witnesses. In both cases it is void.

After the opinions of the four Mazahib, we report the opinions of scholars from other Mazahib below.

Ibn Hazm said, “temporary marriage is not permitted; this is a fixed marriage which was permitted at the time of the Messenger (s.a.w.), then Allah superseded it through His Messenger (s.a.w.) until the day of resurrection.”

Imam Shawkany: “We worship in accordance with what we learnt from the Messenger (s.a.w.), and we have ascertained the authenticity of his eternal prohibition of temporary marriage. The fact that some companions were not aware of this does not negate the large number of companions who were aware and who have acted upon the prohibition and proclaimed it.”

Qady 'Ayyad said: "The scholars reached consensus that temporary marriage was a marriage for a term with no inheritance, its separation at the expiry of the term without dispute, the consensus after this was that it was prohibited according to all the scholars with the exception of the rejectors. Ibn 'Abbas allowed it until he became aware of the prohibition and then forbade it and said: “If temporary marriage takes place now, it is void regardless of whether it had been consummated or not.”

Imam Nawawy said: “The truth of the matter is that it was permitted and prohibited on two occasions. It was permitted before Khaybar, then prohibited, then permitted on the day of liberation, the day of Awtas, then prohibited forever after three days of the event.”

Imam Bayhaqi said: "Imam Ja’far Bin Mohammad was asked about temporary marriage, he said: ‘It is adultery.’ "

Before we close this research, we refer to the words of Imam Alfakhr AlRazy in response to those who claim that 'Umar added the prohibition of temporary marriage himself. So they declared him as an apostate and attributed apostasy to all who did not stop him: “all this is erroneous. All that is left to say is that temporary marriage was permitted during the time of the Messenger (s.a.w.), and I prohibit it with what has been authenticated with me that the Messenger of Allah (s.a.w.) prohibited it.”

In this manner we see the manner in which Islam treated the issue of temporary marriage and how it became prohibited forever until the day of resurrection as has reached us through the true Ahadith. There is no doubt that contemplation in this brief message will find in it convincing proof that temporary marriage is prohibited for those who believe in Allah and are free from blind loyalty. We supplicate Allah Most High to make us of those who listen to the words and follow the best standard therein.

Thank you and take it easy very easy.

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
excuse me watcher i never said Prophet stopped it..its the sunnis who think like that..i was saying it doesnt make sense that Prophet first started and then stopping it..if it was bad he wouldnt have started it..like he made alcohol haram and it still is haram..so if it was bad he wouldnt have started it the first place..tum itnay chotay bachay nahi ho k tumko har baat detail main samjhani paray

chota bacha aqal hi mein hein!

BHOW BHOW!!

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
*well i dont really understand the point of having 4 wives..

i know this discussion is about Muta but if u dont understand the point of "having 4 wives" u need to find out.
Muslim men dont need to have 4 wives, infact, polygamy is discouraged by Islam. Men who have more than one wives just for the sake of their personal pleasure are very obviously sinners.
Polygamy is only "allowed" in certain times of social crisis. Which brings me to my second point, something sherrybaba keeps mentioning and that is war.... when the majority of men are killed and mostly women are left behind. In such cases, in order to provide protection for women, Islam allows a man to have up to 4 wives, so these women dont turn to prostitution and are not denied marriage and children. I dont see why Muta would be needed when Islam has already provided a means of protection for women during war; that is, if thats the only reason muta is practiced.

Al-Imran-3:160 **~~"If Allah helps you, none can overcome you: If He forsakes you, who is there, after that, that can help you? in Allah, then, Let believers put their trust."~~ **

Originally posted by sherrybaba:
**amigo I gave you the reason in my previous posts.WAR , IRAN..kuch yaad aya..it has positive aspects just like in four marriages but why ppl dont practice it?..
I'm not like watcher claiming any action which is contradictory haram, he even claimed that we shias believes that allah makes mistakes and forgets(Astaghfirullah), frankly speakking I dont have guts to do that.. One day I have to answer Allah.

My good man, ur whole post is full of contradictions. Ok, lets get one thing straight, the prophet didn't forbid muta (according to shite beleif)? Then you say you don't approve of mutah? Are you then questoning the decision of Prophet(pbuh)? Astaghferullah! Then you say it was done under extreme conditions, what sort of extreme conditions do you have today? you and your friends have in your posts said it is a good way to find out if a person is ok to live with, am I right? Is this an extreme condition?

What you say doesn't have any consistence, neither does what you ALL(shia)say. There isn't any unity amongst you at all ?Everything is contradicting with each other with no consistency whatsoever.

Now U take a chill pill ..

Good man!!!

That is a big logical slap on their illogical faces. Good job. They are contradictions their books contradict with quran, what can I say, shiaism is a whole another different religion than Islam.

Moreover, they have NOT read single hadith book of theirs and they are here defending something they know not. Its very sad to see ignorences and arrogance play them like this.

May ALlah show them the right path and true path to Islam. Ameen.

take it easy.

[This message has been edited by The Watcher (edited January 08, 2001).]

consistent contradiction consistent contradiction..I got the point how many times you gonna say?anyways back to the topic
Well the reason is mutah is a very old ritual which is rarely been praticed today . And everyone here is entitled to there own views and opinions. I’m saying it again, I expressed my views maybe I’m wrong ,and wassup bringing up this unity thingy??just cuz our VIEWs/OPINIONS didnt match means there isnt any unity? wow! well done.. you just think like that.. pagla!

your turn to take chill pills

BHOW BHOW!!

Amigo you can get the idea of his mentallity and his “inconsistency” with Islamic and Islam related issues by kind of signatures he has.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Kutta bun giyaa hai ye dekh lo…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

You take it easy my friend.

Brother look at ur books

Evidences From the Sunni Hadith Collections

After a brief overview of books of Tafsir in Part I, let us now look at some of the Sunni collections of traditions. It is narrated in Sahih Muslim that:

Jabir Ibn Abdullah and Salama Ibn al-Akwa' narrated: There came to us the proclaimer of Allah's Messenger (May peace be upon him) and said: "Allah's Messenger has granted you to benefit yourself (Istamta'u), i.e., to contract temporary marriage with women."
/ | . | : | | | | |
o_)| . > | ]_o 4|| | | q_w . |
( (
) (| / / ()

| . | | : : . | : : : |
@ |_w,| | 4_e,o _,_e, | q_e_,o,w, . |
(S : / ()

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3246
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1022, Tradition #13, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
In the above tradition the verb Istamta'a (to enjoy; to have pleasure) has been used which is the exact form of the verb used in Quran in the verse of Mut'a 4:24, and moreover, Jabir said in the above tradition that Istamta'a means performing Mut'a of women (temporary marriage). Similarly it is narrated that:

Salama Ibn al-Akwa' and Jabir Ibn Abdullah reported: Allah's Messenger (May peace be upon him) came to us and permitted us to contract temporary marriage.
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3247
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1022, Tradition #14, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
Moreover al-Bukhari narrated from another companion of the Prophet (PBUH&HF) the following tradition:

Narrated 'Imran bin Husain:

"The Verse of Mut'a was revealed in Allah's Book, so we did it at the time of Allah's Apostle, and nothing was revealed in Quran to make it illegal, nor did the Prophet prohibit it till he died. But a man (who regarded it illegal) expressed what his own mind suggested."
Note: For the above Hadith, the Saudi translator of Sahih al-Bukhari (Muhammad Muhsin Khan) has changed the word "Mut'a" to "Hajj-at-Tamatu". This is while in the Arabic text of the Hadith of al-Bukhari which is beside the English text, the word "Mut'a" has been used alone: ]
| | | |: / . : : | | : T .. | . .
4_|| | .,|,) _9 4_e,o| | 4_, | ._,| _,
. (_S : /

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Sunni references:

Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic-English, v6, Hadith #43
Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic, v2, p375, v6, p34
Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, v4, p436 on the authority of 'Imran Ibn al-Qasir
As we pointed out, Mut'a can be of two kinds: Mut'a of women (pleasure marriage) and Mut'a of Hajj (Hajj-at-Tamatu). Both were practiced at the time of the Prophet and Abu Bakr and the early days of Umar's rule. But they were abolished by Umar. Thus basically, the above tradition refers to both types of Mut'a which were prohibited by Umar. Moreover, as we gave evidences in Part I, many Sunni commentators have put this very same tradition of Imran Ibn Husain under the commentary of verse of Mut'a marriage (4:24) showing that this Mut'a refers to Mut'a marriage.

It is interesting to know that in Sahih Muslim as well as in the commentaries of Sahih al-Bukhari and Sahih Muslim it is mentioned that the "man" mentioned in the above tradition ("But a man expressed what he wished") is Umar:

"A person said according to his personal opinion, and it was Umar."
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter CDXLII, Tradition #2825
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p898, Tradition #166.
Also:

"The man intended here is the Caliph Umar Ibn al-Khattab."
Sunni references:

Fat'h al-Bari fi Sharh Sahih al-Bukhari, by Ibn Hajar Asqalani, v4, p177
Sharh al-Nawawi on Sahih Muslim, v3, p364, Dar al-Sha'ab print
The reason that in the original tradition, Imran Ibn Husain did not mention the name of Umar is that he was mindful of the bad temper of Umar, and because Umar said he will stone anyone who does that.

It is also narrated in Sahih Muslim that:

Abu Nadhra said: Ibn Abbas commanded to do Mut'a while Ibn Zubair forbade to do it. I mentioned this to Jabir Ibn Abdillah and he said: It is through me that this Hadith has been circulated. We did Mut'a (of Hajj and women) at the time of the Messenger of Allah. When Umar was installed as Caliph, he said: Verily Allah made permissible for his Messenger whatever He like and as He liked. And its command was revealed in Quran. Thus accomplish Hajj and Umra for Allah as Allah has commanded you, and confirm (by reverting to permanent marriage) the marriages of those women (with whom you have performed Mut'a). And any person would come to me with a marriage of appointed duration (i.e. Mut'a) I would stone him.
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter CDXLII, Tradition #2801
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p885, Tradition #145.
Again the above tradition has references to both Mut'a, and Umar said that Allah made permissible what he wished at the time of the Prophet and its corresponding command was revealed in Quran, yet he will stone any one who contracts the fixed-term marriage.

Also, both al-Bukhari and Muslim narrated the following tradition from Abdullah Ibn Masud who was another companion of the Prophet:

Narrated 'Abdullah Ibn Masud:
We used to participate in the holy battles led by Allah's Apostle and we had nothing (no wives) with us. So we said, "Shall we get ourselves castrated?" He forbade us (to castrate ourselves) and then allowed us to marry women with a temporary contract (Mut'a) and recited to us:
'O you who believe! Make not unlawful the good things which Allah has made lawful for you, but commit no transgression.' (5.87)
Sunni references:

Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic-English version, v7, Tradition #13a
Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic, v6, p11, under Tafsir of verse 5:87 of Quran
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1022, Tradition #11, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3243
Following the above tradition in Sahih Muslim, it is narrated that:

This Hadith has been narrated on the authority of Isma'il with the same chain of transmitters (but the words are): "We were young so we said: "O Allah's Apostle! should we not have ourselves castrated? But he (the narrator) did NOT say we were on an expedition."
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3245
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1022, Tradition #12, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
One side comment here is that, based on the above authentic traditions, masturbation is forbidden, otherwise the Prophet (PBUH&HF) would have ordered his companions to masturbate instead of contracting temporary marriage! The above action of the Prophet (PBUH&HF) proves that if one is in danger of fornication, he should contract temporary marriage and avoid masturbation. The prohibition of masturbation is also supported by the verses of Quran, as we will discuss in Part V.

Some claim that the Prophet used to allow temporary marriage in a particular expedition and then prohibited it on the day of victory. This allegation falls apart when we see that some of the famous companions said that Mut'a was widely practiced from the time of the Prophet till the time of Umar, and was continued to be promoted by some companions even after the death of Umar. Moreover, if Mut'a was just for an expedition, the Prophet would have mentioned it at the time he allowed it. They, of course, did Mut'a in the expeditions as well, but certainly it was not limited to that. Moreover, the verse of Quran does not have any limitation of this kind. This leads us to believe such allegation is just a mere excuse to justify the present situation. As we will witness in the following traditions, the companions supported Mut'a without mentioning the battle. They did not mention that we ONLY did it during the expeditions.

Beside what was quoted at the beginning, Sahih Muslim has more traditions with reference to the prominent companion, Jabir Ibn Abdillah al-Ansari (RA), which are as follows:

Narrated Abu Nadhra:
While I was in the company of Jabir Ibn Abdullah (RA), a person came to him and said that Ibn Abbas (RA) and Ibn Zubair differed on the two types of Mut'a (Mut'a of Hajj and Mut'a of women), whereupon Jabir said: We used to do these two during the life time of Allah's Messenger (PBUH&HF). Umar then forbade us to do them, and so we did not revert to them.
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3250.
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1023, Tradition #17, also v2, p914, Tradition #1249.
Again the above tradition emphasizes that both Mut'a were abolished by Umar, and some people did not return to it at least publicly, because Umar threatened people that he will stone any one who does it. Below is a more straight forward tradition:

Jabir Ibn Abdullah reported: "We contracted temporary marriage giving a handful of the dates or flour as a dower during the life time of Allah's Messenger (may peace be upon him) and during the time of Abu Bakr until Umar forbade it because of Amr Ibn Huraith.
: : . |. /
e_,o,w, |,)
(_

Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3249
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1023, Tradition #16, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
Again, in the Arabic text of the above tradition, the verb "Istamta'a" has been used for the temporary marriage which exactly what Quran has used. Also as we see, there is no mention of its restriction to battle. It was being widely practiced at the time of the Prophet and the rulers who came after him. Also:

Ibn Juraih reported: Ata' reported that Jabir Ibn Abdullah came to perform Umra, and we came to his abode, and the people asked him about different things, and then they made a mention of temporary marriage, whereupon he said: Yes, we had been benefiting ourselves by this temporary marriage during the life time of the Holy Prophet (may peace be upon him) and during the time of Abu Bakr, and Umar.
/ | | | | | | |. : : |
o_c q _), ,| q 4|| | | q_w ]_8_c _|_c |,e,o,w |
/ / / . (_S. / (
| / / (_S

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3248
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1023, Tradition #15, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
As we witness here again, the verb "Istamta'a" has been used in the above tradition for the temporary marriage which in conformity with the verse of Quran.

Another person who opposed Umar's idea in this regard, was Abdullah Ibn Abbas (RA) who was one of the great companions of the Prophet (PBUH&HF). Al-Bukhari wrote in his Sahih:

Narrated Abu Jamra: I heard Ibn Abbas (giving a verdict) when he was asked about the Mut'a with the women, and he permitted it (Nikah al-Mut'a). On that a freed slave of his said to him, "That is only when it is very badly needed and (qualified permanent) women are scarce, or similar cases." On that, Ibn Abbas said, "Yes."
Sunni reference: Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic-English, v7, Hadith #51

Do you see anything about battle as a condition here? Moreover, if Ibn Abbas relied to what others alleged that the Prophet later prohibited it, he would not allow himself to give Fatwa in this regard. He did that since he knew these allegations are false and are solely to justify Umar's opinion. Also Muslim narrated in his Sahih that:

Urwa Ibn Zubair reported that Abdullah Ibn Zubair stood up (and delivered an address) in Mecca saying: Allah has made blind the hearts of some people as he has deprived them of eyesight that they give religious verdict in favor of temporary marriage, while he was alluding to a person (Ibn Abbas). Ibn Abbas called him and said: You are a rude person and devoid of sense. By my life, Mut'a was Practiced during the life time of the leader of pious (he meant Allah's Messenger, may peace be upon him), and Ibn Zubair said to him: Just do it yourself, and by Allah, if you do that I will stone you with your stones.
Sunni references:

Sahih Muslim, English version, v2, chapter DXLI (titled: Temporary Marriage), Tradition #3261
Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p1026, Tradition #27, "Kitab al-Nikah, Bab Nikah al-Mut'a"
Did Ibn Abbas say, just during a battle? certainly not. This is what some Sunni scholars invented simply to justify the action of Umar. In the above tradition Abdullah Ibn Zubair insults Ibn Abbas (RA) by saying that his heart is blind, simply because he believed that Mut'a should be promoted since it was the Sunnah of the Prophet (PBUH&HF). Ibn Zubair forgot that he himself was born out of Mut'a! (See Sahih Muslim, v1, p354; al-Iqd al-Fareed, v2, p139). Then Ibn Zubair threatened that he will stone Ibn Abbas (RA). This is while Ibn Abbas (RA) was one of the outstanding companions of the Prophet (PBUH&HF), and Abdullah Ibn Zubair wanted to teach him his religion, after he fought both Imam Ali and Ibn Abbas in the battle of Camel, and shedding the blood of innocent Muslims.

Also in Sahih Muslim it narrated that:

"Muslim al-Qurri said: I asked Ibn Abbas about Mut'a and he permitted it, where as Ibn Zubair had forbidden it. So Ibn Abbas said: "This is the mother of Ibn Zubair who states that Allah's Messenger had permitted it, so you better go to her and ask her about it. He (Muslim al-Qurri) said: So we went to her and she was a bulky blind lady. She said: Verily Allah's Messenger permitted it.
Sunni reference: Sahih Muslim, Arabic version, 1980 Edition Pub. in Saudi Arabia, v2, p909, Traditions #194-195. In Tradition #195 the subnarrator said: "The narrator used the word Mut'a alone, and I do not know if it was Mut'a of Hajj or Mut'a of women." However it is known that what Ibn Zubair used to forbid was Mut'a of women as is clear from the traditions mentioned earlier.
Even after the death of Umar, and even after Uthman, many companions did not accept the order of Umar and insisted that temporary marriage is lawful. These advocates of Mut'a never mentioned that it was restricted to a battle.

Some people believe that a certain individual did Mut'a with one of the daughters of Umar during the Umar's rule, and when Umar got to know of it, he decided to prohibit Mut'a.

Let me clear the fact that we do not have hatred toward Umar. We believe that he was one of the companions of the Prophet, but we do not put him in a high position since, as you witnessed partially, there are strong proofs that he did some innovations based on his own Ijtihad which were terribly wrong. We strongly believe that Fatwa does not work when there is explicit text of Quran or authentic Hadith to the contrary. Abolishing Temporary Marriage is just one example of such innovations. Even according to Sahih al-Bukhari Umar himself straightforwardly confessed that he did some innovations in prayers and said: "What a nice innovation"!!! (See Sahih al-Bukhari, Arabic English version, v3, p227). He also did change the regulations on Tayammum and many other rules of Islam.

Another companion who opposed this innovation of Umar, was his own son!! His name was Abdullah Ibn Umar. He was in favor of both Mut'a of Hajj and Mut'a of women. I give two traditions expressing each Mut'a. It is narrated in Sahih al-Tirmidhi that:

"some one asked Abdullah Ibn Umar about Mut'a (of Hajj), he said: It is permitted (Halaal). So he was asked: your father forbade it. He said: Do you think that my father can forbid what the Prophet did? Should I follow what my father said, or should I follow what the Prophet ordered? The man said: Of course the orders of the Prophet (PBUH&HF)."
Sunni references:

Sahih al-Tirmidhi, v1, p157
Tafsir al-Qurtubi, v2, p365, reported from al-Darqunti
Another report in the above source:

"When a man from Syria asked Abdullah Ibn Umar about the Mut'a of women, he said it is Halaal. The man said: Your father had made it forbidden! Ibn Umar said: Do you think that if my father was forbidding it and the Messenger of Allah used to (allow) its practice, then you should leave the Sunnah and follow what my father said?"
Sunni reference: Sahih al-Tirmidhi

What I provided here was just some traditions, out of many, available in the six Sunni collections of Hadith in support of Mut'a. There are much more available. In the next parts, Insha Allah, we shall briefly review the Sunni History/Fiqh/Misc. books, and then we will study and analyze the few traditions which allege that the Prophet banned Mut'a towards the end of his life.