Mut’ah is a practice in Shiaism, which is like a contract marriage. IN which you agree to marry a person for certain about of time(depending on the time, 1 hour, 2 months 3 years, etc.) in order to fulfil your physical needs.
It was made lawful, but than after its need was over, Allah made it UNLAWFUL till the day of judgment.
I think, marriage is suppose to be a life time commitment and not a 2 hour show just for you to continue to have sex because you happen to be away from your wife.
Watcher salam. How are you friend? Nice to see you again.
Interesting links, though the topic has been discussed many times over here. The Sh’ites cherish this custom with all their hearts. It is interesting to know that a Shia boy can marry a non-shia girl without a formal nikkah or a wali and there is no formal talaq formality and after that the boy has no responsibility. Surprisingly all this is legal and Islamic. I was going through a thread on this forum sometimes back and I found a shia belief that it is a practice of our beloved Prophet Mohammad Mustafa (sa). Astagfayrullah hay rabbi. Imagine the height of tauheen-e-rasool.
Here is what a guppie says on this issue:
PannMasala says: “Mera hi example lo yaar, main 23 saal ka hun, aur amreeka main akayla rehta hun. I don’t have any family here. Now, we all know how its over here. Its really hard to control oneslef. Aakhir insaan hain, ghalat taraf toh dimaag jaata hi hai. Toh is liye agar (maan lo) main yahaan kisi gori se 2-3 saal ke liye shaadi kar lun, aur uss ka kharcha uthaaun toh iss tarah, it just makes my stay easier. Now if I were married, I’d have had to consult my wife before doing this. I dunno… TUM LOG MERI BAAT KA MATLAB SAMAJH RAHE HO YA NAHIN???” (Reference)](http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/001441.html)
Anyways here is an interesting article published in NY Times couple of months back.
Thanks for the input. I really don’t care what guppie has to say or what excuses they have to use in order for them to commit something immoral. What I really care about is what QUran and SUnnah have to say about this issue. And Sunnah and quran clearly prohibbit such acts.
If a person lives in a society where exposure to sex is excessive and that person cannot control him/her self they should move out or try to lower their gaze when they see a self-exposing women. That is whats in Quran right?
God has made sex before marriage unlawful, correct me if I am wrong. Now, if you have a women in your apartment and she comes up to you and tells you to have sex, does that mean you are going to do it? Just because she is asking you to?
That is called forgetting and abandoning ALlahs words and making your own choices which are not soo that good.
im not shia and believe me i dont mean to offend anyone but this concept just doesnt seem Islamic…
Watcher ji, how widely practiced is this among shias?
my shia friends have never even mentioned this to me
HK they will NEVER tell you what their actually believes and practices are. They will only tell you its in hadith and its in this book and that books, but they will always practice "taqiyyah" in front of sunni to make them look as if they and Muslims are same!
Its widely practice in Iran and amonge the shias.
The big ulema(moulivies) who promote this practice do not let their daughters make "mut'ah" isn't that shocking? I mean they say Mohammad said its ok to perform mut'ah yet they do it with daughters and sisters of other people but they do not let their sisters and daughters do such thing? Isn't that hypocricy or what!!!
I guess shias won't answer my question, why don't I slap them with another spicy question:
ANy shia who supports this practice of Mut'ah, would you let your sister, daughter, mother, etc perform mut'ah for 2 hours, 2 days, 2 months, 2 years???
how come shais do things like this and neva admit to it or keep it a secret, i mean if they think that it is in there religion y do they feel ashmed and not tell no1 about it
Because those things do NOT exist and never were carried out by MOhammad or his companions! They have created lies against all of them in order to continue their campaign to creat new ways of worship and new innovations into Islam.
Go take a look at this post: Are those Hazrat ALi’s words…" they created lies against their first Imaam as well!!!
ANyway, how come no shia wanna be is answering my questions? Too logical questions for you my friends? Yeah what you 13 and 14 year old kids know about Islam and logic…
Before I go on to Muta I have somthing to say about having knowledge(for a 14 year old)
Now can someone say that because he is older that he has more knoledge?
True being older will get wisdom within yourself but knowledge is not what you see but by what your brain can understand.
take the example of Hazrat Ali and Abu Jahal
Hazrat Ali when he was only 9 he understood that mohammed was rasool and said before anyone that "you are the true rasool".
But on the flip side we see Abu Jahal(the most welknown guy with wisdom)who I think when he went into his grave and then gaind the knowledge that Prophet Mohammed was a true prophet!!
Never say that because someone is younger you have more knowledge than him!!(and yes this is a warning)
Now on to Muta!!
I say muta is allowed and is very good(maybe I will do muta and see how things work out)let me show you the ways:
The husband and wife can really see how the person is in real(eg. drinker,womanizer ect.ect)
if you are not satisfied with that person you finish the marrige on the arrived date!!
Better that Talaaq(which allah says is the worst of allowed things!!)
Shia really don't perscribe adultation in Muta(we all know why) but you can as you have had you nikkah and you are leagal!!
Muta is contravt marrige and no whaere in Quran does it say that contracts are not allowed!!
This is another way the Shia women has more freedom(as the man does not have to divorce her for her to get rid of him)
Feel free to criticize!! as you will be my best friend!
I say muta is allowed and is very good(maybe I will do muta and see how things work out)let me show you the ways:
… u will only do it yourself or like your friends and in family members to do that. I cant think it that u would nor would I…so isnt it a double standard..
The husband and wife can really see how the person is in real(eg. drinker,womanizer ect.ect)
This is another way the Shia women has more freedom(as the man does not have to divorce her for her to get rid of him)
what a freedom… I cant think my family women having this freedom nor they would like to have that. Do u like your family women to have this graet freedom.. ?
Feel free to criticize!! as you will be my best friend!
I am not criticizing… dont u think mutaa was something like slavery that is in the past as conditions nowadays dont need those. Its not those things in Islam that are farz and we need to follow them in all ages.
this whole Muta issue reminds of this discussion we had in family studies last year. It was about people choosing to live together for years before they get married, in some cases they never do. It shows a total lack of trust and faith between the man and woman, "i dont know if i'd like u enough to marry u so why dont we live together first"
I know thats not the same as muta but its very similar.
marriage is about commitment and responsibility. Like everything else in life, it involves risks and it can fail for some people. I dont think u can avoid those risks in anyway. Im sorry but to me, it sounds totally un-Islamic. Besides, we know all about marriage from the Holy Quran itself. Why the need to invent things? If Allah(swt) had wanted us to practice Muta, dont u think it would've been prescribed by Him?
Al-Imran-3:160 **~~"If Allah helps you, none can overcome you: If He forsakes you, who is there, after that, that can help you? in Allah, then, Let believers put their trust."~~ **
The big ulema(moulivies) who promote this practice do not let their daughters make "mut'ah" isn't that shocking? I mean they say Mohammad said its ok to perform mut'ah yet they do it with daughters and sisters of other people but they do not let their sisters and daughters do such thing? Isn't that hypocricy or what!!!
I guess shias won't answer my question, why don't I slap them with another spicy question:
ANy shia who supports this practice of Mut'ah, would you let your sister, daughter, mother, etc perform mut'ah for 2 hours, 2 days, 2 months, 2 years???
Originally posted by The Watcher:
** Shah Jahan, my question???
As I have said before Mutah is contract marrige and you will be married if you are in Muta(nikah and all)
I really would tell my sis, daughter to think it over twice(so would I)and if she still prsists I will let her go ahead as she will be married and will be in the bounds of mmarrige and will be leagal and plus she has her own sense of thought!!
I don't really know muta is not wajib it is just a way to see how things work out!!
Instead of two people coming closer out of marrige why not in marrige and when it's leagal and if somthing happens than they will not have anything against them as they will be married!!
I usually try to avoid to go indepths of a shiasm or any other religion where you would find alot of contridictory and controvercial topics , I try to follow the fundamental practices which has been prescribed in Holy quran
back to the topic mutah ,
mutah is a "temporary marriage" which is done legally that is nikkah etc.. It was practiced in olden days mostly in iran especialy during the times of war, I dun wanna go indetails(I will if you want to know why it was practiced) .. But its nothing like living with a women before marriage or anything like that..
I'm no one to criticize as I'm afraid of God maybe they are right maybe they are wrong
Its not practiced anymore, being a shia and coming from a religious family I have been told to avoid such practices which was only permissible under extreme circumstances. I cant even imagine performing mutah .Frankly speaking I havent seen any shia practicing mutah perhaps in some parts of country it is still followed...
kutta ban gaya houn tairay pyar mein sunnah chahti ho to sunoh BHOW BHOW!!
It can't be to control Fornicating.. cos you can fast to control your desires.
Do you think it might have been allowed by men just for the pleasures of men? I can't see what benefit a woman would get out of a temporary marriage. After all the 'Nikah' has been designed so that women have the security of a man by their side to support them and their children...