Sibling relationships in your culture.

Re: Sibling relationships in your culture.

In Hinduism and Sikhism, all people of same gotra (male lineage) are brothers and sisters

In case of both hinduism and Sikhism, it is same. It is intially Brahmin understanding to not to mix people with same code.

Last allowed in some cases are Mama ki Beti as they have different Gotra. But in South, some castes(non-brahmins) allow marraing of Bhanji with Mama.

Nail on head. I was raised the same way where my female cousins are like my sisters. I agree with your other post as well, and like you I know what religion says as well but thats how I was raised.

Bhabhi is not na mehram:hmmm:

Are your sure?

A Hindu friend told me they don’t do cousin marriages as well.. I asssumed something similar.. that it was frowned upon..

I’m not absolutely certain about this but this is what I’ve observed in other cultures and have heard from a couple of imams.

Borther-in-laws/sister-in-law’s are not mehrams and you do have to do pardah in front of them. Brother-in-laws are not mehrams because, if your husband were to pass away, it is permissible to marry his brother.

The imam at our mosque mentioned that the view of seeing siblings’ spouses as mehrams is a cultural view, most common in South Asia, influenced by the fact that joint families are the norm there. The imam at our old mosque also said the same thing.

Did you know you a guy can marry his Maami and Chaachi too? :faizy:

Acha very interesting. I just know that in mythology that people did marry cousins. But i know now it's not accepted.
What of Sikhs and Hindus marrying? Do you find people in your area would support that or be against it?

What is view in Afghani culture of calling older strangers sister or brother as form of respect? How are those bonds seen in long term? @Mezghan

But I never heard of anything like people marrying with their own paternal cousins? Please quote a case for such thing?

I don’t know if paternal or maternal. I know it’s not allowed by law but there are some exceptions people use. Maybe these are maternal examples.

Hindus - supportive of cousin marriage? (sorry for forum link but this is what i found..when i searched cousin marriages. I do not know the specifics of the epics).

n the Mahabharata, one of the two great Hindu Epics, Arjuna took as his fourth wife his first and cross cousin Subhadra, the sister of Krishna. Arjuna had gone into exile alone after having disturbed Yudhisthira and Draupadi in their private quarters. It was during the last part of his exile, while staying at the Dvaraka residence of his cousins, that he fell in love with Subhadra. While eating at the home of Balaramaji, Arjuna was struck with Subhadra’s beauty and decided he would obtain her as his wife. Subhadra and Arjuna’s son was the tragic hero Abhimanyu. According to Andhra Pradesh oral tradition, Abhimanyu himself married his first cross-cousin Sasirekha, the daughter of Subhadra’s brother Balarama ..

It’s strange in India. Despite above stories if someone is desperate they cannot marry their cousin but they can convert and then marry..even when Christian countries like UK, US don’t allow it either.

People who are not getting support to have their marriages recognised by law are deciding to become live in couples. Let us live in: Man who married first cousin moves court

^ I know Subhadra-Arjun will be reasoned, but first, Kunti was Krishna's Bua. Kunti was sister of Krishna's Father Vasudev. So it is case of two different gotra, Arjun was Pandav and Subhadra was Yadav :) it is case of marrying mama ki beti anyway :)

I guess. Pyar karne walon ko aise umeed chaiye. What about second case situation of Sasirekha? But that is more oral tradition not sure if true.

Very close to all my siblings and good terms with most of my cousins as well but they cannot be a replacement for my real siblings, ever!

Personally don't like the idea of mun bola behn/bhai. They are friends. Now friends can call each other whatever they like even bhai or baji.

As far as culture is concerned, its quite common to address other elder cousins or friends as bhai and baji.

In any case, all paternal cousins, cousins from same lineage on Father sides are brothers and sister,

Like My children's gotra is Vashisht, so all who originated from Vashisht are brother and sister.

Acha. What happens if people of same gotra want to get married? Like 2 Vashsht people want to get married

Acha. Interesting. Humne kuch seekha yahan.
Also tagged u on another culture thread :P

In extreme cases, Khap Panchayats kills both of the violators, may be same was the way in past.
Now, in arranged marriage it is not possible.

Interesting world of relationships. Bhai, behn, dost, saheli, sakhi. Kya farak padhta hai kis ko kya kahein. Ek din sab ko dhoka dena hai. All that differs is how and when they do it

Yes I call my elders cousing my brother and sisters while not the younger ones

Because I have spent some quality time with them and are very close to them