Sibling relationships in your culture.

People say siblings are closer in east then west. What do you think? What are relationships of siblings like in your culture? Do you call your cousins brothers/sisters? Do you see them same as your real life brothers/sisters?

Re: Sibling relationships in your culture.

I find this story really interesting. 2 people from conservative, extreme totally opposite political/religious backgrounds and countries have a brother/sister relationship which people even in same family might not be able to maintain. They visit each other every year, celebrate important events of their family eg. marriage, bdays with each other. Some even blood brothers and sisters may not maintain such ties.

I wonder why this is. Does this happen between any 2 such countries or people of differerent political/national backgrounds? Could you see this happening between 2 countries in West who are rivals or in Middle east which are rivals even if they are same/different background? Why does it happen between 2 political figures in India/Pakistan like Shatrughan Sinha and General Zia’s daughter Zain Zia.

In Jan this yr he visited Zain Zia on her bday. I’ve not heard that much criticism from either media and others about this relationship. Even when there is criticism it does not affect their relationship which has been going for 25 years.
Shatrughan meets Gen Zia’s daughter - Newspaper - DAWN.COM
Shatrughan Sinha keeps date with ‘sister’ in Pakistan

**Islamabad: **Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha kept his date with Zain Zia, daughter of former Pakistan President General Mohammad Zia ul Haq, with whom he had an emotional meeting here on Wednesday.

The special [BROTHER

http://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/items/it/img/arrow-10x10.png](http://post.jagran.com/Shatrughan-Sinha-keeps-date-with-sister-in-Pakistan-1326903729#)-sister relationship, which the two have nurtured for the past over 25 years, was rekindled with a warm get together at the latter’s residence in Islamabad.

[THE BOND

http://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/items/it/img/arrow-10x10.png](http://post.jagran.com/Shatrughan-Sinha-keeps-date-with-sister-in-Pakistan-1326903729#) which developed when General Zia was alive continues till date, the ups and downs in Indo-Pak ties notwithstanding.

Taking time out from the visit of Indian parliamentarians to Pakistan, Sinha accompanied with his BJP colleagues Yashwant Sinha and Syed Shahnawaz Hussain and NCP leader
Supriya Sule went to General Zia’s residence on Tuesday to meet his daughter, who regards him as an elder brother.

“She was very happy after seeing me…** she is my darling sister and I love her very much,”** the Bollywood actor-turned- BJP leader said.

Zain Zia hosted us warmly and served “lajawab” (delicious) food including biryani, fish fry and lots of vegetarian dishes which she herself had cooked, Sinha said.

She enquired about Poonam Sinha and showered praise on their daughter Sonakshi for her performance in the Bollywood hit movie “Dabaang”, Sinha popularly known as Shotgun Sinha said.

General Zia’s daughter said she and her family had watched Sonakshi’s debut movie opposite Salman Khan several times.

**“Love and emotional attachment knows no boundary… this is a special relationship of brother-sister between us which is deep rooted unmindful of relationship between the two neighbours,” **he added.

Besides, Zen Zia, her brother and former Pakistan minister Ijaz-ul-Haq and his family were also present on the occasion.

**(Agencies)

on twitter Zain Zia mentions Shatrughan Sinha

munh bhole behn bhai are common in desi culture

Jaise ke aap mere munh bhole bhai hain :) I wonder if this trend of munh bhole bhai/behn is in all part of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan as well.
will have to ask Mezghan about Afghanistan @Mezghan
Are there some people in Pakistan who mind being called baji/bhai by someone they have not met or who may be stranger? Like some people mind being called Aunty/Uncle do some people mind being called baji/bhai

Generally not, if the person himself / herself is not elder than you

Mun boley sons exist :bummer:

muNh bole bhai bahen kaa concept bhii Khoob hai...aksar Bollywood meN dekhne meN aayaa hai k muNh bole bhai bahen men achaanak shaadii ho gaii...!!! they did to avoid unnecessary prying eyes, criticism and/or gossiping about their relationship.

true..you can only say it if person is older. Or if you do it to give them extra respect.

really? yeh kaunsa naya silsila. do mun boley betis exist as well? :confused:

woh baat bhi hai. Thoda ajeeb to lagta hoga to say that just to avoid gossip. but im also talking about guys calling other older guys bhai and girls calling older females bajis even if they are of different background.

Don’t know about betis, but my nana has mun boley sons and I don’t like that :bummer:

acha thats a new one. Nana ko mun boley sons ki kya zaroorat hai aap to hain. Ek beti sab sons pe bhari :slight_smile:

Zarorat tou nai hai... He has 8 kids and so many grandkids mashaAllah, but still he has mun boley sons.

I come from a very close knit big family and yes I call my cousins my brothers and sisters because that's what they are. I'm extremely close to them and we've spend a lot of time together as children and adults even when we lived in different countries. Our parents have made great effort to make sure we got to see each other regularly. Basically family is important to me and that's how I've grown up. Adult problems or politics have never effected the relationship between us cousins. That's also how I want to raise my children and as far it's working fine, my kids are close to their cousins and inshallah it will stay that way :) ..

In my religions, even people of same gothra are brothers and sisters :)

i believe you are a Muslim and in Islam cousins are NOT like real brothers and sisters...[only in faith]...marriage is allowed between them so saying this with conviction is like going against your own religious teachings. right?

Wow kya baat hai. MashaAllah. he has a big dil to call more kids his mun boley songs. Lekin mere khayal se woh 8 kids aur grandkids zyaada important honge unke nazar mein

I'm aware of the fact that cousins are na-mehrams, just like a bhabhi is to her devar. I don't believe my sentence should be taken the way you're trying to paint it, but I should probably had clairified that I meant in my feelings for them vs my brothers, there is no difference. I treat them with the same respect and love. So no I don't think I'm going against my own religious teachings, I'm pretty well aware of what my religion says on this matter.

Maybe they are not like brother and sisters but if she is not intending to marry the cousin brothers, then what is harm in calling them brothers? Why is it going against teachings? Aren't we all brothers and sisters..and apart from person you marry you shouldn't think of anyone else in such way.

Ofcourse, his mun boley sons live in another country / city.