I do have some reservations with all this shut down, but there are some positive things to appreciated as well.
They didn't close the shops by force. The business remain closed as people could not move from one place to other and in many areas I saw shop opened and thele walas were there. on social media PTI leaders were mocked for not even closing the dhabas near their dharna points as they were themselves having nashta from these dhabas. Such people should be ashamed, as PTI's leader didn't claim that they will get closed the shops by force (as done by MQM other gunda parties).
To me statment by IK for 'maazrat from Karachiites for any disturbance' means a lot. Otherwise, there is a trend that Ghuna leaders of MQM just thanked for closing their business and there is no apology for destroying a business day from Altaf Hussain, uske baap ka shehr hai na.
they ended their sit-in before time in many areas. I liked their decision to end dharna near Numaish Chorangi as this area was going to be sealed by the evening due to Chehlum e Imam Hussain (RA) and ending their dharna by Maghrib would have created a messive traffic jams in that area.
I hope this will not be made routine like MQM made it.
Protests are fine but this pattern of shutting down cities is only hurting the working people of Pakistan, not the feudals who are the real corruption of the country. They have their farms and their crops will continue to grow and harvest regardless of these strikes. All these strikes do is halt education, halt business and hurt businessmen. Not to mention the people that won't make it to hospitals tonight for care.
Nowhere in the world does anyone pull nonsense like this. Protests need to be peaceful but not maim economic activity.
Its quite amusing to watch folks so harshly criticizing PTI's one day peaceful shutdown call, while these same folks have been enduring MQM's almost weekly shutterdown strikes at gunpoint. Hypocrisy at its immature worst. The shutdown was advertised well in advance. There was plenty of time to make alternate arrangements for anything. And for those thinking this was done with the blessing of MQM, think again. PTI has more than enough street presence in Karachi to manage this without MQM support....just like they do in Lahore, which is supposedly PMLN's 'qilla'.
I don't see anyone supporting Mqm in Karachi and even the Urdu speaking crowds that are educated see him for the charlatan he is that altaf Hussain.
Every house in Karachi has been robbed by Mqm gunmen and their idiota collect bhata Khori that's well established.
The only good Mqm guy was that mayor of Karachi a few years back and guess what? Even he left the party.
esi tyre buring faislabad aur lahore main kar kay dikhao to mano ga.. khi ka kirdar to aik tawaif ka sa hai… jo bhi ata hia aur iskay sath khel chala jata hia…
Imran Khan arrived in Karachi to address his party workers who were holding protests in several locations. He has vowed to paralyse major cities in a bid to topple the government.
Activists of Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) party burn tyres on a street during a protest in Karachi. (AFP PHOTO/ASIF HASSAN)
KARACHI: The latest round of protests against the Pakistani government led by cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan disrupted life in parts of Karachi, the country’s largest city and economic heart, on Friday.
Major shopping areas were closed and there was no public transport available as Khan arrived in Karachi to address his party workers, who were holding sit-ins in several locations, an AFP correspondent said. Khan has vowed to paralyse major cities around the country as part of his efforts to topple the government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, who he accuses of poll rigging.
An opposition party worker was shot dead in Pakistan’s central city of Faisalabad on Monday as hundreds of protesters clashed with riot police armed with water cannon and batons during a rally by Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) party.
“We decided not to bring public transport to roads after a senior PTI member threatened his party would not allow any public transport to come to roads,” the city’s transport union president Irshad Bokhari said. He said roads in the city had been blocked by protesters burning tyres.
But it was business as usual in certain areas including Azizabad, the stronghold of Mutahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), the dominant political party in Karachi.
Though Khan has so far failed in his aims of toppling the government, his party has continued to stage major rallies around the country. He has warned that he and his supporters will paralyse the country on December 18 if their demands are not met.
Bhai sahib aap insanon aor qatilon ko mix kar rahay hain. Here are the glimpses of strike by MQM. These are the glimpses of just one day strike on May 12, 2007.
Well 12th May 2007 was certainly the darkest day of recent past I'd say. Nothing can be compared to that deadly venture by then govt and its alliance. I've zero doubt in saying that both Musharraf and AH should be hanged for all the murders that day.
They didn’t burn public property (3rd party property) to attempt ‘blockage’, right? Yes, instead of burning tyres they could’ve lied down on the roads to “block” the traffic, I agree
I do have some reservations with all this shut down, but there are some positive things to appreciated as well.
They didn't close the shops by force. The business remain closed as people could not move from one place to other and in many areas I saw shop opened and thele walas were there. on social media PTI leaders were mocked for not even closing the dhabas near their dharna points as they were themselves having nashta from these dhabas. Such people should be ashamed, as PTI's leader didn't claim that they will get closed the shops by force (as done by MQM other gunda parties).
**To me statment by IK for 'maazrat from Karachiites for any disturbance' means a lot. **Otherwise, there is a trend that Ghuna leaders of MQM just thanked for closing their business and there is no apology for destroying a business day from Altaf Hussain, uske baap ka shehr hai na.
**they ended their sit-in before time in many areas. **I liked their decision to end dharna near Numaish Chorangi as this area was going to be sealed by the evening due to Chehlum e Imam Hussain (RA) and ending their dharna by Maghrib would have created a messive traffic jams in that area.
I hope this will not be made routine like MQM made it.
So,
If person says to a woman,
"I am going to rape you, sorry for the inconvenience" .....will that make you support the rapist?
If a person stops raping a woman before his intended time, you will support the rapist?
" My lord! The rapist should be 'appreciated' for ending his rape 15 minutes before his intended time of one hour or so".
"I am going to rape you, sorry for the inconvenience" .....will that make you support the rapist?
If a person stops raping a woman before his intended time, you will support the rapist?
" My lord! The rapist should be 'appreciated' for ending his rape 15 minutes before his intended time of one hour or so".
He should be pardoned for this "good behavior".
That is what you are saying.
itna ghussa. never seen such kind of ghussa for MQM from your side. Well in your terminology and considering statements of MQM, us waqt 'rape' nahin 'consensual sex' hota hai.
My point was sense of regret that people don't like this shut down and apology which was not shown by other parties and they keep on raping the city for so lng. read last line of my post.
**It is a shame on part of IK who is struggling against rigging of 2013 elections, knowing that in Karachi, it was MQM who rigged the elections not Nawaz Sharif and killed his senior female leader in Karachi. Getting their help in closing Karachi was like celebrating the killing of that lady rather paying any tribute to her sacrifice. Again shame on him playing this third class politics already played by NS, Zardari or AH. What’s the difference then? So now MQM will be the next “Super Permanent Lotay Joining Imran Khan”. I could never imagine that IK would go downward spiral on such a low gutter class moral journey. If this his tsunami/revolution, God save Pakistan such demons already there are many to ruin this country.
**PTI sets sights on Karachi amid Muttahida turmoil - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
**Senior analysts and political pundits agree with the PTI’s popularity but don’t see the party replacing the MQM in the near future. With weak organisational structure against the strongest party in terms of street power in Karachi, the PTI can only grab its electoral share and that too only when fair polls are held.
**“I don’t think the PTI’s successful show was possible without the unspoken blessings of the MQM.”
**Dr Jaffar Ahmad of the Pakistan Study Centre at the University of Karachi thinks differently. He says he is concerned that the PTI is practising the conventional politics of shutdowns in Karachi. **