Re: showing bari
no need to make a big event out of it. At the most, maybe close cousins, aunts should be included, but no more than that. just my opinion
Bari or Jahaiz??
Bari is a collective word for all the clothes and jewellery the Grooms side gifts the Bride.
I dont think Im going to put things on display...especially to avoid people who would try to out do me. Thats just mean. I did go to a wedding recently though where it was done and it was fine.
In the past, none of my sisters' bari or jehez was on display on their weddings. Plus, its an extra burden to worry about...stationing a couple of people at that table to watch over things.
i have started to buy things for my barri/ jahez what ever it's called, but i wont be putting it on show to show everyone, not only is it stressful putting up all the outfits and other things, but ur just showing it to other people. for what? i mean not everyone wants good for you, i have known people to just buy things to make their "barri" look good and show it off to others. im not up for tht.....
everytime someone talks about showing off the bari… this is what comes to my mind!!! lolzz
I've been to a wedding where they showed the girls.. sweaters/shawls and TOWELS blv it or not! sigh
I have girls in my family who'd be quite annoyed if I didn't show my jahez. It'll be like, what do you mean...why not???
My mom is strictly against it and of course I could use this as an excuse. I would want to show my stuff to a FEW of them but the it'd be like, how come I didn't get to see it! There is this one girl who asks about the price of EVERYTHING. ..so just imgaine how annoying it'd be. I will most likely take my mum's advice and not show anyone. They'll see it when I wear it.
i remember, as a child, i attended a wedding which was quite grand, had tons of fun.
the larkay walay's mehendi was held at their house. on the day of the mehendi, they used one of the rooms in their house to show the bari they were taking. the room was full of kapra, jewelry, furniture, sandals, chooriyan-- the whole lot. every tom dick and harry who attended the event was checking out everything.
i dont understand to this day, what the whole point of that was.
if someone wants to see what i have, they can come check it out in my closet, with my permission ofcourse.
^NO! lol they check it out when they invite u to their house after the wedding.. and u wear it
Uff I dunno, it doesn’t seem right. Has anyone been to a wedding where the person displaying the clothes also announces who gave the outfit…?
Re: Showing Baree
so wait, the bari is shown off to the groom's family, right? i think we're only showing it to immediate khala's and phuppo's and that too at home before they're packed- so very informally. then we'll pack it all up nicely in boxes and deliver it to the dulhan's house. no one else needs to see what we're giving her- they can see it when she wears it.
When I went to a wedding in India this past fall, on the day of the nikkah/rukhsati, the groom’s family took two suitcases plus a carry-on with the brides clothes and jewelry to show to all of the guests. At the venue, instead of the bride getting a place of prominence and everyone oohing and aahing over her, the barri outfits and jewelry were displayed on the stage (I kid you not!) for the wah-wah reaction ![]()
If I went through so much trouble to get stuff and put it all together, I sure as hell will show it off....but only to a few people that I know will appreciate it. Not every idiot will get the chance to poo poo all over my mainat.
But its better to focus on the quality of the stuff...rather than the packaging. Nobody wants to end up with garbage wrapped in shiny and glittery paper, know what i means.
The concept of showing bari at the wedding is completely outdated. My brother's getting married and the most we're doing is showing what we got the bride to my mom and dad's sisters and sisters-in-law at home a couple days before the shaadi. I think the older generation likes to see the clothes and jewelry to see what's in, how much things are, what kind of kaam and fabric combinations there are.
WOW
I didn't know that people still do this. I remember when I was a kid (about 7-8 years old), I was at this shaadi, were they had arranged everything in the shaadi hall, were people would look at it, touch it etc ... I've never been to fond of the idea of showing such private things to just anybody and everybody ...
i m not showing anything.
its just crazy.
koi haal nahi traditions ka bhi!!! ![]()
i m not showing anything. its just crazy.
LOL changed your mind?