Should Pakistanis be a part of South Asian organizations?

Should Pakistanis join the South asian organizations in North America or elsewhere in the pakistani diaspora??

Most south asian organizations such as South Asian journalists association (SAJA) are dominated by hindu indians. They use the disclaimer of being south asian but only promote the agenda and interests of hindus. Also many so-called south asian blogs such as sepiamutiny.com are very anti-Pakistan.

I personally think that pakistanis should stay away from south asian organizations and only join the muslim organizations instead. Muslim students associations like MSA and organizations for muslim lawyers and journalists etc can better represent pakistanis, address our concerns and promote our interests.

"hindu indians"...

Hmmm.... are there any "muslim indians" too? Just curious.... if the problems is with "indians" or "hindus" or both.

Re: Should Pakistanis be a part of South Asian organizations?

i think Pakistanis hsud join the couth asian organizations and protect Pakistani inetrests

By isolating, you only provide them greater chance to spew against you what they wish to. You should actually be there to defend and present the 'right' perspective of your community instead of letting them color you with the brush of their liking to deteriorate the 'secluded community's' image further more.

Perhaps, more number of people from your community can at some point dominate the opposition rather than being dominated due to its' smaller number.

*BBC investigates 'anti-Muslim bias' - on its own Asian network *

Last updated at 23:59pm on 19.07.08

The BBC has launched an investigation after complaints from staff of anti-Muslim discrimination by a ‘mafia of executives’ at the Corporation’s own Asian radio station.

At least 20 past and present BBC employees, all Asian Muslims, have lodged complaints that its digital radio station, Asian Network, is operating with an anti-Muslim policy.

They claim Muslim presenters and reporters are sidelined or sacked from the station, which began 12 years ago, in favour of Asians from other backgrounds – mainly Hindus and Sikhs.

They also complain that attempts to persuade the station’s upper ranks
to play Pakistani or Bengali music for its 500,000 listeners are ignored in favour of a strict diet of Bollywood and bhangra tunes, which are more popular among the Hindu and Sikh communities.

Their case has been taken up by Labour peer Lord Ahmed of Rotherham, who campaigns on discrimination issues.

He wrote to BBC director-general Mark Thompson last month.

He had originally raised the issue with former director-general John Birt, now Lord Birt, more than ten years ago.

Now the BBC has taken the unusual step of having the inquiry conducted by an external expert, Stephen Whittle, chairman of the Ofcom-linked Broadcast Training & Skills Regulator.

Mr Whittle, who was controller of editorial policy at the BBC from 2001 to 2006, is believed to be taking evidence from tomorrow.

Lord Ahmed said: ‘I have been making these representations to the BBC for
the past ten years.

'I am disappointed that not much has changed.

‘There seems to be a small mafia that is promoting their version of a culture which is contrary to the diversity within the Asian community.’

One former employee said: ‘There used to be a much higher representation of Muslims on staff.

*‘Now there are seven daytime presenters and only one is Muslim. *

*'There are about eight reporters and half were Muslims – now only two are.’ *

The inquiry is also expected to focus on complaints that listeners who want to hear Muslim-influenced music are short-changed because of a bias towards music from Hindu and Sikh cultures such as bhangra, Bollywood films or black artists.

Another former employee said: ‘This is a deliberate policy but people are too scared to speak out because they are worried they will be victimised if they do.’

A BBC spokesman said: ‘We take these allegations very seriously and have launched an internal investigation into the matter.’

I am not South Asian. I identify with Afghans/Persians more than desi Indians.

really? what are you?

Thank god :)

You counter the fire facing it you cannot turn your face away from fire and extinguish it.
If you know that Pakistan or Muslims are targeted in those forums it is all the more reason to join and try to counter those defamation attempts , if any. If someone is spewing hate on the podium you have th option to go to the podium and counter it , instead of being an ostrich.

I can't believe that i have to explain this to a Pakistani like yourself

It is the hindus who have been our enemies for over 60 years. Indian muslims are not our enemy. Infact indian muslims themselves are victims of persecution by the hindus

Please kindly continue to indentify yourself with Afghans/Taliban/Persians/etc.....though I am not certain they would like to have you in their team.

Bechaare Pakistanis -- naa idhar ke...naa udhar ke.

if they're benefits to be gained... sure.

if it is diluting your identity, or giving people the idea that we are similar.. then no.

Fact of the matter is we look nothing like hindoooos; our facial complexion matches more with Afghan and Persians than it does with South Indies like your self. We eat a nutricious meal filled with proteins and lipids that enhance our look;

Edit

Have heard that before.

Okay.....even if we were to assume that Pakistanis do look like Greeks.....unfortunately "looks" is not the only thing that determine which "team" you should belong to.

A society that dances to the tune of Bollywood cannot call itself persians my friend.

We also dance to the tune of Britney Spears, Madonna, Linkin Park, Aerosmith, etc, etc. So that point is irrelevant.

It is plain fact that aside from those Pakistanis who came to the 5 provinces (inlcuding OUR Kashmir) the avaam of Pakistan look more like our western neighbors than we do like hindooos.

That's the most intelligent thing I have read in a long while in this place.

Totally agree with you here. Tell them stupid Pakistanis what they're proud of is actually something the whole indian nation laugh at them for. I have seen so many cases but do these Pakistanis learn their lesson? NO, baba. Pata nahi kiss matti kay banay hein. No self respect! They still religiously go all bollywood.

^ What are u talking about?

Who would have guessed that from the banner - "Remove the Musharaff, Save the Pakistan".

Do Persians actually accept the Pakistanis who go around claiming themselves to be one of them? Persians seem to insist they are caucasians and just as white as any other gora.

^ Irrelvant!