Please vote.
Poll requested by Gohan.
Please vote.
Poll requested by Gohan.
RIAA and BPI copyright does not apply to pakistani music.
so no point closing.
I would love to have mp3 sites of Pakistani music as it gives you a chance to listen to all kinds of singers and bands that you never knew of. Logically thinking a person is not going to buy every album of each and every singer. So if there is some website providing a service and giving everyone a chance to get their hands on quality Pakistani music, I am all for it.
Unfortunately a lot of people don’t look at the other side of the picture. Just because our copyright laws are not as strict as some other countries, it doesn’t mean our singers/bands dont work as hard to produce their music. They depend on the sale of their record to earn a decent living. Of course this could always be argued with the fact that there are a lot of companies in Pakistan producing unauthorized copies of Pakistani albums and selling them. The bands/singers don’t get any royalty from those sales either so why bitch about the internet. Well the internet has a global audience, if songs are available freely on the internet eventually no one will buy cassettes or cd's. We don’t like the fact that English songs are getting hard to find on the internet due to the recent law suits but just because the Pakistani bands/singers cant do anything about it so lets take advantage of that??
So looking from a selfish point of view I'd say Pakistani MP3 sites should be up and running, but looking at the big pictures and taking in consideration the effect it will have on our bands I think the Pakistani MP3 sites should go down.
NO
*Originally posted by digitalsurgeon: *
although ppl say no !!!
but this is NOT what web hosts think of
for example www.pakmusic.com was an excellent music site
but when the web hosts got a call from some angry musician they closed down www.pakmusic.com
and now it's gone ... :(
DIGITAL SURGEON its not gone there was just a temporary bandwidth error and the website Pakmusic.com will start within a month being better than ever with more videos
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
:( :(
plz talk about the subject of mp3s. dont involve pakmusic.
Musab & I are working very hard on bringing it back, and like he said we will have good news soon.
dont worry about it folks. I have 400+ GB of pakistani mp3s ready to be uploaded with exclusive videos, and Musab&I are working hard, so all u guyz can do is pray that it all goes well.
its all a mater of time.
I agree with Lahori Cheetah. This thread is about mp3 sites in general not about pakmusic.com. They are gone or will be back or anything could be discussed somewhere else. Anyway LC and Musab best of luck. You guys did a fine job while your site was up.
NO!
wuts the other website for pakmusic.com?
or from where i can download Anarkali by Shoaib Mansoor?
No Becuz we need to lsiten to our muzic ya know and if u close mp3 sites like now when there isn't a single mp3 site no one listens to paki music and goes back to being a hinuized desi.
so yeah unless you have relatives coming everyweek from paksitan u need mp3 sites.
No and Yes.
Yes, full songs and all the songs of an album allow people to burn cd's or listen to the songs on their computer w/o buying the cd. Hence, its a loss of profit for the musicians...and they do a lot of work to make the music they make.
So this causes musicians to turn to sponsors for money, and hence you've got mostly commercialized music on the scene. Not surprisingly, the underground bands are producing the most non-commercialized music, because they do not have sponsors breathing down their necks, making them stick to formulas to sell the product.
No, because if websites do not put up this music, no one will know about Pakistani music. A major reason why overseas pakistanis know about the music (cd sales have actually gone up out here), is because of the internet. People hear the music on the internet, feel they like the music, and many go out and buy the cd. Some do burn the songs.
A good solution to the problem is:
PCG
Yes. These sites say they're promoting Pakistani music. But I think otherwise. I think ppl who download Pakistani music are well exposed and aware of it. These sites only rip off artists for their own personal gains.
We have sites like muziq.net, muziqpakistan.com, fm100.com, pehchaan.com and many others who're doing great job promoting Pakistani music by allowing ppl to listen to the newest albums.
I think it's about time we started paying the artists and not the crooks.
*Originally posted by PakCanada: *
No Becuz we need to lsiten to our muzic ya know and if u close mp3 sites like now when there isn't a single mp3 site no one listens to paki music and goes back to being a hinuized desi.
why? are mp3 sites the only way you get access to Pakistani music? go to muziq.net or muziqpakistan.com. They have such a huge collection of songs up for listening.
I personally enjoy the streaming option provided by muziqpakistan.com, that way I can listen to a song (without downloading it) and if I really like it, I can buy it... This way the artist will get the benefit, and I will get the music I know I enjoy.
*Originally posted by Gohan: *
why? are mp3 sites the only way you get access to Pakistani music? go to muziq.net or muziqpakistan.com. They have such a huge collection of songs up for listening.
mere bhai jaan my real player is always messed up so i can't acces da stuff on those sites :) if they started serving stuff in windows media format it would be way better and ppl can still burn this music on cds too so it's not helping da paki artits and da hungry record companies.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
I personally enjoy the streaming option provided by muziqpakistan.com, that way I can listen to a song (without downloading it) and if I really like it, I can buy it... This way the artist will get the benefit, and I will get the music I know I enjoy.
thank you, sir. that's exactly what i said a post obove mine. mp3 sites do nothing but rip off artists. Who's gonna buy a cd if they have the whole thing downloaded from mp3 sites and burned onto their cds? No one. All that promoting music talk is nothing but crap. If ppl want to demo or test a cd before buying it then muziq.net or muziqpakistan.com are there for you. Go, listen then buy or not it's up to you.
But there is one problem, Gohan.
Its difficult to buy Pakistani cd's abroad. I've been to desi concentrated cities in america, and I swear, there is more variety in Pakistani music cd's in my little hometown in florida than there is in the middle of these huge american-desi hotspots.
These store-wallay don't keep the cd's in their store, either. And many people do rely on getting their cd's from when a relative visits...by the time you may get a cd, its already old. And frankly, even though the shop near my house has all the new cd's ...they're mostly the popular paki music (the hadiqa kiyanis and faakhirs) rather than underground music. Its hard to find underground music even in Pakistan.
So, these artists, if they want to make money, really ought not complain about how internet music sites are "stealing" from them...they need a lot of work in their own promotion area as well. Pakistani music websites are doing them a SERVICE by getting their music to people out here. Prime TV is certainly not doing it, and neither is ARY.
However, I agree that it should be livestreaming files rather than download files.
*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
Its difficult to buy Pakistani cd's abroad.
well, that ain't a problem on my side. Aur waisay bhi I buy my cds online. I suggest you do the same.
*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
Its difficult to buy Pakistani cd's abroad. I've been to desi concentrated cities in america, and I swear, there is more variety in Pakistani music cd's in my little hometown in florida than there is in the middle of these huge american-desi hotspots.
These store-wallay don't keep the cd's in their store, either. And many people do rely on getting their cd's from when a relative visits...by the time you may get a cd, its already old. And frankly, even though the shop near my house has all the new cd's ...they're mostly the popular paki music (the hadiqa kiyanis and faakhirs) rather than underground music. Its hard to find underground music even in Pakistan.
So, these artists, if they want to make money, really ought not complain about how internet music sites are "stealing" from them...they need a lot of work in their own promotion area as well. Pakistani music websites are doing them a SERVICE by getting their music to people out here. Prime TV is certainly not doing it, and neither is ARY.
However, I agree that it should be livestreaming files rather than download files.
Youre right about them not keeping underground artists in their collections, but in places such as Chicago, NY etc, you can easily find excellent variety.