Should Pakistan lift the ban on Indian TV channels?

its pretty funny... that most (if not all) are saying they want the ban to stay.. and the only ppl who are fighting for the ban to go are "indians" if im right.

I guess if the current generation takes the office of governemt.. tehre are chances of makeup... but who am i kiddin.. their all the same.. only few are nice..

any way.. india itself has lost its culture.. "JISM" movie... heard its pretty close to "Western" S**... so y u wana change us.. anyway.. Western programs.. well some "not most" are explicit materials.. but some are educational programs. I wouldnt mind if india does some educational.. like Geographic... but then.. y shouldnt PTV or other do that..

Long live the BAN.. again.. y are non-paki's so much against the ban.. coz ur own country is stuffed.. and u cant see ur neighbour be better?... comon.. tell the truth

By the way.. i do listen to indian music.. and wouldnt appreciate bannin that.. coz it is not stuffin the culture.. so if u can produce some... affordable clothing (i know u guys are running out of cloths)... ill like the ban to be off.. but until that is not possible keep the ban

Allah hafiz

What's funny is that Pakistanis here are claiming to represent Paki viewpoint when the fact that a ban is needed on Indian tv shows that Pakistanis in Pakistan would watch it if given the chance. Not that Indians aren't pathetic either with their selective morality when it comes to bans on playing international cricket with Pakistan, but that's a seperate issue.

Bhai, the truth is always unpalatable.

As for running out of cloth - d’you know the price of cotton these days? Anyway the producers are happy because semi nudity is getting popular with the masses and he gets to save money too! :rotfl:

true… tooo true:D

And for u MR Xtream.. nothin can be said… y do u think they have smoke age, adults movies age… and by the way.. indian movies dont even haev the print that can tell if that movie is adult movie.. or family.. thas y i consider not watching…

any way.. i still dont know y u guys are arguin when most pakis..( well in this forum).. are sayin stay the ban…

Still banned? Explains why msuhraf shows up in US every other month. I bet they pipe Z, Star, B4U etc to his hotel. And this time Jamali can enjoy too. And I don't grudge them that.

But what gets me is the poor farmer that tills the fields from dawn to dusk in the hot son, the cobblem eking a living from tattered shoes, the postmaster that's made an art out of stamping dates and the thousand other comrades working roti kapda or makan ....these peopel are denied the most basic need of it all - no bollywood, to 300 pounders running around trees......musharaf, do you not have a sympathy gene?

*Originally posted by TomSawyer: *
Still banned? Explains why msuhraf shows up in US every other month. I bet they pipe Z, Star, B4U etc to his hotel. And this time Jamali can enjoy too. And I don't grudge them that.

But what gets me is the poor farmer that tills the fields from dawn to dusk in the hot son, the cobblem eking a living from tattered shoes, the postmaster that's made an art out of stamping dates and the thousand other comrades working roti kapda or makan ....these peopel are denied the most basic need of it all - no bollywood, to 300 pounders running around trees......musharaf, do you not have a sympathy gene?

i agree with u taht they dont get their basic needs... but how is "bollywood" their basic need.. can u actually define me in ur context what is basic need... coz from what i can say.. basic need is food, clothing., water, and other things.

*Originally posted by cheebu: *

any way.. i still dont know y u guys are arguin when most pakis..( well in this forum).. are sayin stay the ban...

That's the whole point; it's the Pakis in this forum who are claiming to speak for Pakistanis in Pakistan. The very fact that it needs a ban to stop Pakistanis watching Indian channels suggests that you aren't representing the people of Pakistan.

And FYI I don't watch Indian or Pakistani channels, I have better options in case you think I have a bias. It's not the case it's just calling a spade a spade. Pakistanis watch Indina channels because they provide better entertainment. It's not my fault for pointing it out, it's up to those in Pakistan to give the public what they want or someone else will. Got it?

*Originally posted by cheebu: *

i agree with u taht they dont get their basic needs... but how is "bollywood" their basic need.. can u actually define me in ur context what is basic need... coz from what i can say.. basic need is food, clothing., water, and other things.

What? Bollywood is not a basic need? This is how things like French revolution happen. Who cares about roti kapda makan?

Pak operators defy ban on Indian TV channels

Friday, 12 September , 2003, 16:33

Lahore: Cable operators in Pakistan have defiantly taken on the government and are reported to be showing banned Indian television channels, movies and CDs with impunity.
Channels like Star Plus, Star Gold, Punjabi dances, CDs and Indian movies are being screened on the cable network, mostly at night, and the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) has failed to inhibit their broadcast.

Cable operators have admitted to showing the Indian soaps and movies after 10:00 p.m. citing viewer demand. "This (violation) is due to the pressure on the PEMRA by the cable operators, and it may be a part of undeclared deal between the government and the cable operators," PEMRA sources claimed.

The channels, movies and CDs are being played round the clock in Iqbal Town, Model Town, Township, Gulberg, Defence, Ichraa and Band Road areas, The Nation reported.

"Everyone knows they are showing the channels and movies, but nobody can dare take any action against them due to their connections with high-ups", one cable operator alleged.

"We cannot ignore public demand. So, we have no option but to show the Star Plus and Indian movies to save our business. Operators who do not want to show the banned items have been asked to and are being pressurised to do so by their viewers," he added.

"The government had allowed the cable operators to show the Star Plus channel, Indian movies and dance CDs on cable during the wee hours to provide entertainment to their viewers", some informed sources claimed.

A Cable Operators Association representative, however, said their group is not violating the rules, and was awaiting permission for showing CDs on cable. The process of legislation is under way, he added. ANI

it’s the bhindians jin k seino pay sanmp laut raha hai. :hehe:

*Originally posted by durango: *
Pak operators defy ban on Indian TV channels

Friday, 12 September , 2003, 16:33

Lahore: Cable operators in Pakistan have defiantly taken on the government and are reported to be showing banned Indian television channels, movies and CDs with impunity."This (violation) is due to the pressure on the PEMRA by the cable operators, and it may be a part of undeclared deal between the government and the cable operators," PEMRA sources claimed.
**"Everyone knows they are showing the channels and movies, but nobody can dare take any action against them due to their connections with high-ups", one cable operator alleged.

"We cannot ignore public demand.

Oh there's public demand is it? Really, govt made an undeclared deal to ban but let it continue? And the cable ops ignore the ban and show the Indian stuff any way?

Pakistanis have finally one-upped Indians on this. They seem to like Indian TV & Bollywood better than Indians!

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
The ban hasn't given Pakistanis new channels, it's just stopped them watching Indian ones. And the argument that it's prevented children from watching porn is ridiculous. No Indian channels broadcast porn unless you know something I don't. According to the Dawn article above, over 90% Pakistanis would prefer to watch Indian channels. So that means your view doesn't even reflect 10% Pakistani viewpoint. Who are you then, to decide what Pakistanis watch?

Extreme, you are sadly mistaken about the absence of Pakistani channels, and quite frankly, I dont think youve ever even seen the listing of channels in Pakistan. As soon as the ban on Indian channels was initiated, cable operators shifted to channels such as HBO, ARY, Mnet (Excellent 10 channels from South Africa), IM, GEO etc etc... Thse channels are ten times as better as idiotic channels like Star Plus, Zee TV. Also, you probably blanked out during the period when after 9/11 Indian media started a prolonged and detailed attack on Pakistan, which was the reason Musharraf said those two words 'Back Off'. This ban was initially aimed at blocking channels that had news programs.

I didnt say Indian channels were transmitting porn, I said children would watch porn, even if its not good for them, it was an anology, try to think a little more intellectually.

This sort of State control over the media is what has led to Pakistani channels stinking the airwaves in the first place. ARY was launched in the UK because the stale Prime tv (PTV) was hopeless and the fact that there is no ban on Indian channels has led to Pakistani channels having to upgrade the quality of their product to compete. Something they can do here as there is no State interference meaning they can produce quality entertainment. Shame tv companies in Pakistan aren't allowed to give their viewers what they want leaving them yearning for Indian channels instead.

I guess youre a big fan of Indian channels and the stupid soap operas that they put up that run for multiple years without a storyline. Hopeless. Any guppies who have been in Pakistan from 1992 onwards and had satellite would know what I am talking about. Those relying on news can belive all they want about how entertaining these 'star plus', 'sony' channels are in the first place.

Oh there's public demand is it? Really, govt made an undeclared deal to ban but let it continue? And the cable ops ignore the ban and show the Indian stuff any way?

Pakistanis have finally one-upped Indians on this. They seem to like Indian TV & Bollywood better than Indians!

Most of these cable operators are already in deep $hit. Most of them ran without legal licenses in the first place, started dedicating special channels for broadcasting newest bollywood movies the day they came out, putting video rental shops out of business.

The bigger, licensed cable operators like Jang-Info, worldtel etc, dont even show Indian channels to begin with.

Ban will not be lifted, jalney walloon ka mo kalla

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Ban will not be lifted, jalney walloon ka mo kalla

The cable ops don't seem to care whether there's a ban or not. That was the entire point of that article. Is there public demand to see Indian programs? Yes. Are the cable ops serving the Indian programs up? Yes. Is there a ban? Yes. End of story.

hahaha, none of the cable operators are serving Indian channels munney, atleast none of the licensed ones are... If they do, their licences will be revoked... The ones that are serving Indian channels have a very small area of coverage and are not licensed, its just a matter of time they are caught and fined for violating the ban and operating without a license. You think showing Indian movies from CDs on cable is legal in the first place? Even in India that would be illlegal Tommy Boy.

Like it or not, Indian channels in Pakistan are a thing of the past...

^ I'm also doubting the credibility of the last article posted (god knows where that came from). 'Cuz I was chatting with my cousins last night in Lahore and Pindi and they said indian channels are banned and no one is getting it.

Spocksy and / or Gohan - both of you are missing the point of the article. Focus on the "pakistanis demand Indian programs" part. Frustrating init?

This imaginative demand only exists in the minds of Indians and a handful of illegal cable operators...

*Originally posted by Spock: *

I guess youre a big fan of Indian channels and the stupid soap operas that they put up that run for multiple years without a storyline. Hopeless. Any guppies who have been in Pakistan from 1992 onwards and had satellite would know what I am talking about. Those relying on news can belive all they want about how entertaining these 'star plus', 'sony' channels are in the first place.

I don't have any Indian channels but I know plenty of Pakistanis that do. If noone wanted to watch Indian channels in Pakistan then there would be no need for a ban. It's just plain logic to most people. There again if you're in plain denial logic's not going to make much impression here so you're free to think what you like.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *

I don't have any Indian channels but I know plenty of Pakistanis that do. If noone wanted to watch Indian channels in Pakistan then there would be no need for a ban. It's just plain logic to most people. There again if you're in plain denial logic's not going to make much impression here so you're free to think what you like.

Your plenty of Pakistanis includes just one category of people in Pakistan, probably the middle classed people, starved for entertainment, and most of these include people who do not like/understand western programming and vouch for Indian programming. The outrage and shouts by this vocal minority has been so vocal that people like you think Pakistan wont survive without Indian entertainment. If this ban wasnt in place, we probably wouldnt have channels like IM, Indus etc right now. And those of you who cant get enough of stupid indian soap operas like 'Tara', 'Kabhi Saas Bhi Bahoo' thi, nearing their 1000 episodes, get a life!

Oh, and you said the need for a ban does not exist. Well buddy, apparently you do not know why the ban was imposed in the first place, do your reading. It was enforced to cut off channels which had news broadcasts from India, for instance Star Tv, Zee Tv etc.

Its easy to live abroad and present made up facts, but then again, living in Pakistan and knowing the truth is much more simpler.