Should Pakistan cede the FATA?

Brother!!! you have taken the words out of my mouth :mash: :k:

DS, if a person’s family member or close friend gets upset with them, you don’t just let them leave you and go, you make ever effort to manaofy them rite? FATA ppl r our brothers n sisters, integral part of our country, we have to address their concerns, and compromise on our stands even to achieve unity, everyone in the country should be happy, the answer is not to SEPARATE, the answer is to NEGOTIATE, but staying together is a must :k:

Fard Qaim Rabt-e-Millat say hay, tanha kuch nahi
Moj hay Darya may or bayroon-e-Darya Kuch nahi

• Allama Iqbal

and Islam also teaches us UNITY!!!

Pakistan Zindabad :jhanda:

p.s. Bhutto stood up, he was killed, Zia stood up, he was killed
Mushy is prolly just playing it safe ?

Nope, we should not but we should abolish the medevial system that plauges the FATA area!!!

*Originally posted by The_Jackal: *
Nope, we should not but we should abolish the medevial system that plauges the FATA area!!!

What about the medieval systems in Punjab and Sindh. Just to name one- karo kari, and the vadera system.

MAD SCIENTIST YOU SEEM TO BE QUITE IGNORANT OF THE SITUATION & THIS POLL IS VERY VERY IMMATURE....ENLIGHTEN YOURSELF BY READING THE FOLLOWING ARTICLE....FROM THE NEWS...

Pakistanis in Waziristan

Ahmed Quraishy

The real problem in Waziristan is that we are on our way to winning the battle and losing the hearts of the people in an important part of our homeland, maybe even creating a dangerous schism and dividing loyalties. Our government and some people in our media are finding it hard to balance the two. Our country and its interests are dear to us all. And so are the lives of our fellow citizens, especially our noble and gallant compatriots who live in the magnificent valleys of Waziristan.

The Father of our nation, Quaid-i-Azam Mohammed Ali Jinnah, had a special respect for this precious part of our country. Recently, some of our respected columnists such as Mr Hafizur Rehman and M A Niazi brilliantly took us back to how the Quaid resisted our civilian and military bureaucracies who wanted to maintain a military presence in Waziristan after Pakistan’s independence.

The Quaid believed the people of Waziristan were capable of rising in constructive ways, through development work. "The Quaid," wrote Mr Niazi, "had confidence in his people." Our tribesmen repaid the Quaid’s trust in kind. The people of Waziristan embraced their compatriots in the rest of the country. As astutely noted by Mr Niazi, on the very day our bomber planes began pounding Waziristan last week, resulting in the displacement of thousands of our people, a proud son of that region was leading Pakistan’s team to a precious victory in Rawalpindi.

The international media, possibly in ignorance and good faith, is dubbing Waziristan as another version of America’s ‘wild wild west’ and its people as outlaws. Some of our own commentators, by picking up the international news coverage, are inadvertently contributing to showcasing the Waziris as ‘bad people’. This is already alienating scores of Pakistanis across the nation especially those who have family and blood ties in Waziristan.

It’s important to stress that the vilified tribesmen are loyal Pakistanis. They fought the first Kashmir war and have shown their mettle in all our difficult times. If some of them find themselves today facing off with their brothers and cousins in our armed forces, it is not because the tribesmen are disloyal but because they are simply sticking to their honour and hospitality. Apart from a misguided minority, the majority’s fervour is not ill intentioned.

Most Pakistanis have trust in the able leadership of President Musharraf and Premier Jamali. Most of us know they’ll always do a good job of protecting our interests. And they have demonstrated this by doing the unthinkable: They introduced unprecedented development work in places such as Balochistan and FATA, including Waziristan. And they have fairly convinced our American friends that one way of dissuading people from providing sanctuaries to potential terrorists is through development work, not just the wanton use of force. And President Musharraf flew down to Peshawar to personally engage tribal elders and convince them of the need to purge their areas of potential terrorists. Here’s where the government is right: The possible terrorists hiding in the area must be expelled. Their presence unnecessarily undermines the interests of the tribal areas and gives the excuse to others to interfere in our internal questions.

But here’s where the government is wrong: The operation in Waziristan should have come hand in hand with a media PR campaign targeting our domestic audience to dispel two impressions: One, that the government is not attempting to kill its own people and, two, that the people in Waziristan are not outlaws. It is not too late yet. The hunt may slow down in the next few days before it picks up pace again. The people running the show in Waziristan must bring Waziri faces, both tribal and educated, to our television screens to talk to our nation and show them that the people in Waziristan are not evil and that they share the government’s belief in doing everything that needs to be done to dispel the impressions that terrorists are hiding in our country.

It will not help just to have government spokesperson repeat rehearsed lines. The government must put a Waziri face to its official line. The main task of this effort must be to show Pakistanis that the operation is not against the people of the area but is meant to assist the people get rid of unwanted infiltrators.

A second important element of the Wana operation is the question of the presence on our territory of Chechen and Uzbek opponents of their respective governments. This might be the most distorted and under represented facet of the whole argument of alleged terrorist presence in our tribal areas. Most of the Chechens and Uzbeks in our tribal areas are probably not even terrorists and have nothing to do with al-Qaeda or Taliban. These are basically political dissidents who cannot return to their homelands where they will be persecuted by ruthless governments. These Chechens and Uzbeks have no ill will toward our country. In fact, the contrary might be true. Many of them came to this region relatively young and have married into our tribes. Many of the Pakistani tribes and these Chechens and Uzbeks are actually relatives now.

It is some of the Arabs who are diehard al-Qaeda. They are the ones we’re after, not the Chechens and the Uzbeks, who are not involved in any anti-state activities here. This of course does not mean tolerating their unusual presence. A solution must be found to put them out of their business without turning their local Pakistani relatives, who are entire tribes, into enemies of the Pakistani state.

Our American friends must also understand these real and genuine constraints. The Pakistanis are keen to expel any possible terrorists if they happen to be on our territory because it enhances our national security. American-style hot pursuit in our territories can be good for the Americans who are facing tough elections ahead and need quick victories. But this will be disastrous for Pakistan’s long-term integrity and stability. Such measures will plant the seeds of future conflict in a sensitive part of our country and might push our fiercely independent minded people into the arms of terrorists.

The best course is a policy of carrot-and-stick combining development work with intelligence gathering and isolation and punishment for the wayward. Our armed forces are already doing this. And it is encouraging that our American friends are joining hands in this effort. But it must be expanded. Washington must show more trust and faith in Islamabad’s own methods of dealing with the alleged terrorist presence in our tribal areas. This is the best recipe to achieve joint Pak-American goals without harming anyone’s interests.

The writer is a freelance contributor

[email protected]

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *

What about the medieval systems in Punjab and Sindh. Just to name one- karo kari, and the vadera system.

Atleast most of punjab and Sindh is developed unlike the FAT area, where we have lost some very brave and young soldiers.... May we succeed.

{No personal insults please}

Who is responsible for keeping them under-developed??????

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Who is responsible for keeping them under-developed??????
I know this is a rehtorical question, but its the maliks supported by the ruling establishment.

Such anger. Where was your anger when zia and isi were supporting the same terrorists?

YAR how about you go and clean up all the mess uz created in my FATA. the most developed states of Pakistan are Sindh and Punjab which are both Punjad dominated states, whereas Baluchistan and NWFP are left backward because we are Pashtuns.
THe truth has come out my friend, we now know who is our blood brother and who is our enemy. only almighty GOD can save them from our vengeance.

Sister Irem
Please, continue the good work
thanks.
take care

Why is there even a FATA? Time for FATA to be integrated into the NWFP and time for this tribal thing to be over with. Time for the locals to decide if they want to be Pakistani's or not.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *

Sister Irem
Please, continue the good work
thanks.
take care

You are most welcome brother, jazakallah kulla khayr and mehrbani for your kind words :)

*Originally posted by Aryan_Shponkai: *

YAR how about you go and clean up all the mess uz created in my FATA. the most developed states of Pakistan are Sindh and Punjab which are both Punjad dominated states, whereas Baluchistan and NWFP are left backward because we are Pashtuns.
THe truth has come out my friend, we now know who is our blood brother and who is our enemy. only almighty GOD can save them from our vengeance.

Hahah, dont make me laugh!!! I am a Pathan, but i am a pakistan first... To me Pakistan come before anything!!! And i hope and pray to god that people with the same ideals like you fail in your attempt to destroy pakistan.... Pakistan Zindabad!

*Originally posted by xguru: *
Why is there even a FATA? Time for FATA to be integrated into the NWFP and time for this tribal thing to be over with. Time for the locals to decide if they want to be Pakistani's or not.

Bro, you should know that our territory is illegaly held by Pakistan. We want to have our own government, i don't want to live under anyone elses rule than our own Pashtun.

Every nation has a territory named after their intial ethnic name, but look at us. As i told you before, we do NOT want to change our life style, for us that is the luxuriest of all. I love the way we live, and pray Almighty GOD that it shall remain as it was and as it is now.

:wave: the greatest sin someone could ever do would be destoying a nation, and that is not what we are rying to attain. People like me only want us the Pashtuns to unite, got it.
And if you are proud of being Pakistani first then be it like that, doesnt concern me at all. As long as the Tribals agree with our ideas i do not care about Pashtuns like you.

and wait, you called yourself PATHAN, this means you are not even a Pashtun, because for a Pashtun to be called a Pathan is very offending.

Inshallah pa yad lara, che day ayenda wakhto ke ba zma maqsad pora she. Tol Pashtun qawm ba sara yaw zai she.

Aseel Pakhtun Pashtunistan Khwakhawee
Che Pakhtun Nawey Pakistan Khwakhawee

Regards

Da Pakhtun Sardar

We had an agreement with FATA 50+ years ago at the time of independence, and both of us should honor that agreement. No changes should be made. And oh yes, all this talk of Pakhtunistan is crap, its already died out about 15 years ago when the Russkies invaded Afghanistan. The people of NWFP would rather continue to be a part of a prosperous nation than a dwindling one.

*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *

Side note, but the ISI brigadier (Mohammed Yousaf) who controlled the Afghan resistance proposed in his book "The Bear Trap" the theory that General Zia-ul-Haq was assassinated by the USA because he was privately beginning to promote a union of Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran into a single Islamic Republic once the Soviet Union was ejected from Afghanistan.

Consider how powerful a union of Pakistan (nuclear know-how, agriculture, advanced weapons facilities) + Afghanistan (strategic trade routes into Central Asia) + Iran (Oil, oil, and more oil) would be. Couple that with the creation of a balanced, cross sectarian 50% sunni, 50% Shia (by area) population, and you'd have the basis for one hell of a superpower. Oil, agriculture, and the definative trade route to central asia, all rolled into one nation with a powerful military and a strong Islamic ethos.....

No..He was assassinated by RAW undoubtly.If USA had wanted this alliance not to take place,they could have over thrown Zia.It was RAW that masterminded and executed his killing.

Remember,Zia was killed along with a few Ameriacan officials.(The bomb was placed in a fruit basket which had been placed in Zia's plane).

I strongly belive Zia was killed by RAW co-ordinating with KHAD.

To Abdail ... Please stop Spouting Pushto at me and asking for a real Pashtunistan. It will not effect me, i am a Pakistani and dont care much for people who see themslefs as being different from Pakistan even though thet are a part of Pakistan. I see you all as a joke! Pushtun pride? you said it not i !!! Remember!

Just go home and lick your wounds and stop smoking what ever it is you all smoke, because its making you dream of things youll never get....

And another thing! your mouth is writing cheques that you cant cash! so just stop there! Please, before you get shunned completely!

*Originally posted by Aryan_Shponkai: *

Baluchistan and NWFP are left backward because backward tribals don't want to move with the times and they want to live their own way like you said yourself.