Should MIL receive gold?

Is it typical for MILs to receive gold on the wedding as a gift?

Re: Should MIL receive gold?

I heard from my mom (a few months ago) that MILs do receive gold. She told me how when it was her turn to get married...her youngest sister (my khala) had given her bangles to be traded in for a gift for the MIL (my dadi).

I personally think it shouldn't be a necessary or mandatory thing. It's better to keep things simple....people just complicate things for themselves like this.

No.

I'm not sure what the tradition is but my mom decided to give gold to my sisters mil and the sister of the mil ( the khala of that family) because she was so involved with this rishta process.

But like RV said, people complicate things for no reason.

Agar aap key ghar mein bohot sona uchal raha hai toh sure why not. Otherwise you have to pay zakat on it :hmmm:!

I know its a tradition in a lot of families. But with the current cost of gold I don't think such traditions should be continued.

Hmmm...so it seems like its a tradition but not one that many like.

Gold is ridiculously frickin expensive these days....making the idea of buying gold for MIL seem even more absurd...especially if one knows that it's going to be very hard to afford it. Why complicate things for yourself.

And I agree with Nikki. The more gold you have, the more zakkat you pay......do people not consider that when it comes to wedding shopping?

I think often times...people try to "match things" up when it comes to giving gifts. Like "Oh so and so gave me gold...so I have to do the same in return".......I've heard that said many times....and I can even understand that. BUT.....if gift giving is based sort of on mimicking or copying....is it possible to "break the cycle" if one or two people do things differently? For example....you decide to give MIL some nice clothes as a gift........and if she thinks "Well, they didn't give me gold...so I don't have to do it either then".......could it alleviate pressure?

i feel like with the price of gold its an unnecessary burden ...and i dont care for the practice

what about silver jewelry?is it considered an acceptable gift?

i doubt it... simply because then you get comments such as jewelry deini hi thi toh sone ki dete silver ki deine ki bajaaiye na dete

i think if you cant afford gold you should skip the jewelry altogether...but you can gift other things such as clothes or fragrance sets etc

^good point!!i agree

yeh dis is tradition of my family as well

Thanks God there is no such tradition in our family !!!

apkay 20 gram bach gaye :D

mei to bohat kuch bachany k mood mei hun :mehr:

ggood grl sugher bache

we have this tradition in our family too unfortunaely. My youngest nand is getting married and i said that maybe we shouldn't give her mil gold as it's too expensive. and she got upset and angry that in my time and her older sister's time the MIL's were given gold and why can't she have all the traditions. Now they're all angry with me that i hurt her feelings. Her fiance said he doesn't want a gold ring, so i suggested i will buy them umrah tickets, and they got angry at that too, ke log kya kahenge, gold to phir bhi dikha sakte hai.... losers

Should... NO! if you WANT to give your MIL gold.. sure why not. I gave my MIL a small gold set when I got married. My parents didn't break their bank for this. Gold is expensive nowadays so not everyone can afford it. I don't see why someone HAS to give gold to MIL. If they have money to buy and they want to give something small to MIL I don't see a problem with it.

Yes!