Should I or shouldn't I?

Neighbours allowing their kids to throw eggs at my home, breaking the bike of my son and then stealing both his bike and my daughters bike? Calling me ‘whore’ and keep ringing my doorbell? Beating my son and using different ways to try to make him fight them, using different ways to try to fight with me?

This Saturday, a bunch of kids, apparently of my own neighbourhood, had permission of everyone to throw eggs at my home, even found pieces of apple! They were making a lot of noise when they threw those eggs and apples at my home, they screamed and cheered so much, I’m sure people in other streets must have heard it too and probably wondered if there was a party or a fight going on in my street…

None of the neighbours in my own street stopped those kids! Those kids must have taken the eggs and apples from their parents kitchens, yet nobody stopped them, and while throwing at my home they were making so much noise, yet nobody stopped them. They kept ringing my doorbell all day, and everytime yelling ‘whore’ really loud, everyone could hear it, I could even hear it without answering the door, they kept saying ‘whore’, called my son even ‘whore’ and one even called me ‘pijpenslet’, they also broke the bike of my son and then stole both the bikes of my children. They kept making a lot of noise even then, yelling and screaming. It was impossible not to have heard them! And now my neighbours are claiming they ‘didn’t notice’. Yeah, right. Well, I didn’t react at all, I didn’t do anything, only one thing, when those kids called me and my son whore, I told them their own mother was a whore and when they called me ‘pijpenslet’ I told them their own mother was a ‘pijpenslet’. That’s it. For the rest, I didn’t do anything back.

My neighbours definitely knew about this, because those kids had made a lot of noise while they were breaking my sons bike, and a lot of noise when they were throwing eggs and apples at my home, and a lot of noise when they were calling me ‘whore’ and ‘pijpenslet’. None of my neighbours stopped those kids. And their own parents even gave them permission, because how else did those children get so many eggs and even some apples to throw at my home?

My appartment is such, that to enter the building, someone has to open one main door with a key, or ring a doorbell so someone inside can open that main door, and then, when you’re inside, then you come across the different appartments. Mine is on second floor. This morning I discovered eggs and paper smeared on my front door. Someone must have let those children in! None of my neighbours are willing to tell me which one of them let those children in to put those eggs and paper pieces on my front door. They all deny knowing what those children did. That is impossible, considering all the noise those kids kept making.

I didn’t do anything this time. Last time, when I did open my mouth and asked that my son should be left alone when kids kept beating him up, I was beaten up myself. I didn’t even start a fight. I haven’t started any fight with anyone in my neighbourhood.

My experience is that when I do say something about it, when someone does something to me or my kids, everyone denies and blames me instead. Even now my neighbours claim they didn’t know those kids threw all those eggs at my home… Which is impossible. If I do complain, nobody is going to do anything about it. I don’t even know those kids. And if the neighbours deny, those kids will deny too.

I stopped doing anything about it, I stopped complaining. I always get the blame anyway. And if I will react, they will always keep doing something, because that’s what people like. If they see you become sad or angry, they get what they want and then they keep doing that.

I can’t prove anything, despite the fact that my neighbours did hear and see those kids yelling and screaming while throwing eggs and apples at my home. It was impossible to not notice…

If I don’t complain, they will get away with it. But if I do, I’m not sure all the kids who did will be found and punished, they probably won’t even admit it. And even the neighbours of my own building lie that they ‘didn’t notice’. I keep shutting up now more often and I stopped becoming angry. But I don’t like what they did. While they were doing that, not just Saturday, they even tried to harrass us Sunday, but we didn’t react, while they did that, I told my children not to look outside because that’s what those kids and the neighbours obviously wanted. I told my kids not to say anything, because that’s what those neighbours and their kids wanted. I told my kids not to react at all. I just stopped reacting. I even enjoyed myself with my books and my children kept playing computer games. I kept comforting them. And kept telling them not to react at all and keep doing the nice things they like inside our home. On Sunday, when those kids noticed that nothing helps, that I still don’t become angry, that my kids and me still stay inside our home, well, then they did stop sooner. On Saturday, they spent almost the entire day harrassing us. Today, they only rang the doorbell once. I’m sure they were told to again. But again my neighbours could see I wasn’t angry, I did ask a few who were home, which one of them let those kids in the building to smear my front door with eggs. Of course, nobody ‘noticed it’.

I’m not sure what to do. There isn’t much to do about it anyway. How can my neighbours claim they ‘didn’t notice’ all that screaming and yelling that accompanied the eggs and apples throwing?!

I’m just myself now, I don’t react and do nothing. If people keep trying to fight, I don’t go near them anymore. Allah has seen everything. I keep thinking, should I do something about it? But obviously my neighbours were behind those children and now the few neighbours I asked about it, claim they ‘didn’t know’. Is it any use if I decide to do something about it? I don’t know what to do about it. I could just leave it to Allah then.

Last time when I was beaten up by two women I don’t even know, I went to the police station right away and they asked me if I wanted to make it up! They didn’t even file a rapport against those women, I wanted charges against them, I had decided that for the first time in my life, I would actually do something against people who do something awful like that to me, so I went to the police station and they didn’t even take me seriously. Angrily I went a second time, that day they gave me an appointment to file charges. Then afterwards I got a letter from a police department, in which it said I should call an police officer who wants to know something more about it. That was strange, because there was nothing more to know about it. Yet, I called, and they claimed that person wasn’t there and would call me back and afterwards I heard nothing about it.

I get the feeling they still didn’t even take that seriously, just like the police officers who were there the first day, when immediately after I was beaten up I had gone to the police station. For the first time I actually tried to do something to get justice for me, and it seems they won’t do anything about it! When I saw the reaction that first day, when I went to the police station, one of them was laughing and clearly not taking me seriously. That day I lost my respect for my local police station. I had always thought every police protects everyone, but that day, when I went there, trusting on the help of the police, that day when I saw their reaction, how they didn’t even take me seriously, after I told them I was beaten up, that day I started to loose my respect for my local police… They wouldn’t help me, there were two or three kind ones, but the rest of them clearly showed me they didn’t take me seriously at all.

So is it really usefull to do something? I don’t know what to do or what not to do. All I know is that my children and me only have Allah and perphaps only after death one day we’ll get justice. It would be nice if during our lifetime we could have justice too. Or perhaps it isn’t meant for us.

Re: Should I or shouldn’t I?

i only read first few sentences…

where do u live gal :konfused:

very scary place

Re: Should I or shouldn't I?

oh my god! this is serious.

would be hard to move away?

LOL. Man, you’re h.i.l.a.r.i.o.u.s.

I don't have money to move away. And it's no use anyway. I'm fine and happy inside my home. Outside world slowly matters less and less. It's just that I have to raise my children and hope that they do get a normal life. So for them, I have to try something. I don't know.

Such a horrible situation sister HUGS

man :smack: yeh aaj kal ke bacchay :mad:
Damn, feel like beating them up, along with their parents :hoonh:

do you have family members, parents or anyone you can turn to or go and live with?

what does your husband do or say about all this? this must be so frightening esp for the kids! cant believe they beat you up! you cant put up with that! go to another police station? contact some support agencies because you and your kids are in danger.

you cant stay where you are! you need to get out of that place! what country are you living in?

*Notorious,

Patience and tolerance are admirable......but only up to a certain point. You know how the saying goes, "Too much anything is NOT good." You've taught your kids patience....but you don't want to send them the message that one should continue tolerating injustices that jeopardize one's safety.

Time to teach your kids the importance of taking action. I would not recommend talking to the parents of the children. Because..........they might twist it around you.......or even encourage the abuse further. So here are some ideas:

1) PICTURE TIME, baby! Well, maybe not. But consider the option. Take pictures of damage that was done to your house. And if you see these kids doing damage on your property...............try to manage getting a picture of the children and the crime that they are committing. Perhaps you can hide somewhere and take the pictures. Pictures are EVIDENCE.

2) Here's another idea: Other witnesses. Perhaps a couple of trusted friends or FAMILY MEMBERS would be willing to be WITNESSES to the children's delinquent behavior.......and go with you to report the crime.

3) **Whether you use PICTURES or WITNESSES..........go to the POLICE. These kids and their parents will be TERRIFIED to see the cops standing at their front door. The IMBECILE PARENTS of these demons need to know that their kids can be charged with **THEFT, VANDALISM, and VIOLENCE. Enough is enough. Fight fire with fire. Let the authority of the Law put these denizens in their place. Perhaps these heathens think you're too weak to do anything, so let them see that you're not. But please use EVIDENCE (pictures or witnesses) to BOLSTER your case.

**4) **Consider installing a security alarm system in your home. Or consider moving to a better neighborhood.

OK first off where do you live? I guessing some where non-muslim, and from your post it looks like its religious discriminations that you have to deal with from all your neighbours. Hun you need to get justice against these people. If you live in the US, you are forgetting you have rights, that no one can take away from you. You do need to stand up. Do you have friends near by, or even family. How can the entire town be against you and your family. You need to look out further. There have to be groups you can join for minorties. Last but not least ACLU, can also be very helpful. But that will only be helpful if you are in the US.

Re: Should I or shouldn’t I?

O..M..G! What is this world coming to :smack: Your neighbourhood seems to be full of a bunch of sh!theads, that are refusing to witness anything!

We are also having problems with our neighbours who also happen to be a bunch of kids, so I understand how tough it is for you. However what we face is nothing compared to what you and your kids are going through. No matter what, you should NOT have to put up with this!? HOW can they get away with it? When we would initially complain about our neighbours (who also would throw eggs, mud and rubbish in our back garden), we found that the police wouldn’t do anything.. because firstly they were under-age and also, they only had our word for it. So we had to gather evidence, and whenever any of them would be about to throw something in our garden, we would video it! When we showed that to the police, they decided some action had to be taken against them. We’ve just been told they’re about to move the family out of the neighbourhood very “soon”.

So yeah, think about getting a camera installed outside your home, or just film everything yourself. Please take care of yourself and your kids.. don’t go out alone or anything.

It’ll be fine, i’A :hugz:

well i didnt read the whole thing u wrote. but i no that if neone were to do that to my mother she would have freaked out in front of the children nd rambled nething that sounds remotely scary nd make an angry face for the kids.
but i think u oughta a) admonish them nd threaten to take action against them or b) drag them by the ears to where they live nd talk to thei parents nd tell them if they dun do sumthin about their brats than u will (in a legal way ofcourse) nd maybe call the police for the missing bike of ur kids which they deserve back

Sounds like a Pakistani drama I saw about an AIDS patient.

i didnt read past the first paragraph

However 'Notorious'

i wonder why always you?

Contact the authorities. Even if neighbours are unwilling to help, take photographic evidence on your own accord. Be extra cautious. These days we do not know what weapons etc people may be carrying on their person (even children), thus it is best to inform the authorities and pressurise them until they actively take a stance against these people.

Do you have a neighbourhood watchdog programme? Local councillor? Someone who can mediate?

We pay taxes, these in turn pay the wages of the police and other public services. They encourage us not to take the law into our own hands, thus they should do their job better.

Collect as much evidence as you can. Document every incident- time, place, see if you can get witnesses etc.

Inshallah things will be fine.

Your wellbeing and that of your family come first, so don't feel ashamed, regardless of the experience you had with the police, to keep going back to them. At some point they will see the seriousness of the problem.

You are worried about raising you childeren...do you want to raise your children in that area?

which country do you live in?

In the uk you can definately contact the local authorities and your local council for help!

this is extremely disturbing. where are you? germany?

i would definitely call the cops every time this happens.

hmm why are they bothering you though? you must have slight clue? i mean are you the alien being in your environment or any of your family members did something? i have had people tell me tales of harrasment because some people wanted that house they lived in for its locality and thought the best idea was to scare them ****less to have them eventually move out. Which they did because it got all bit too much for them. You can take the pictures, video and go upto council but i know in some scenarios the best option is to move out for the sort of huge hostility you are describing even the council would be hard put monitoring an entire neighbourhood. I wouldnt advise you to sit on your hands and do nothing, that means they will grow bolder and do something inside your house eventually.

Read half of it, you seem to be very frustrated (which is obvious, anyone will be in such a situation), cuz I saw one thing repeated 3-4 times. While i was reading the post, I got only one solution for it. As queer said, call the cops. Plus, i guess your not from Pakistan. Cuz a Paki kid can tease you by ringing the bell, and by throwing eggs, but I dont think that any paki kid will call someone a whore. So you are definitely from any other country. Rite?

call the police. ring council to get another place. wheres your husband.?

hope your ok, your name howevernotorious doesnt sound like your being serious with us. please do not be joking, because these things do happen.

^ had the same Q in my mind... abt her husband, but then bcuz she didn't mention a v important person in her post, thought maybe if they are Khuda na Qaasta not together, then i better not remind her abt him, or else she'll get sad.

Oops stupid me, esa bhi ho sakhta hai k he mite be abroad/out of city for work i guess.