Should I Get this Car????? Urgent Advice Needed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

salams

an Arab Muslim grad student on my campus is graduting and moving to NY with his wife and children by the end of this month so he is selling his car.

i think i might go for it as he’s Muslim and well respected among our community so i think he’ll be honest with me and also i really am finding it soooooooo tough to look for a car and its such a difficult process :crying:

its a little above my budget but if it saves me hassle i’ll go for it coz i really dont wanna spend any more time looking for a car :crying:

here is what he said abt his car:

A nice looking and reliable car at a great price.

-Green '95 GXE Nissan Sentra
-Options: Fully loaded (Automatic, power door locks,
power windows, cruise control, stereo cassette, dual
front air bags, tilt wheel, etc..)
-Mileage: 73,000 miles
-Price: $3,000 (price offered by Nissan dealer). Blue
Book retail value is $6,760

Current problems with car (none urgent): AC not
working, brake light always on, dash lights sometimes
go off and come back.

Car runs very well, and still has a great and new look.

All I can tell you is that this car has given me no
trouble since I bought it in '96. This is of course no
guarantee of future performance. I do think however
that as long as you take care of the basic
maintenance, i.e. oil change every 3,000 miles, and
some occasional and timely fixes, you’ll be just fine
insha Allah.

The car runs well and looks good, and is an excellent price. You shouldn’t expect to buy any car from around this area that’s trouble free for $2,000. It’s simply not realistic.

I must sell by Dec. 30 or else it goes to the dealer.
Call or email me if intrested.

i’m consulting other ppl too but i thought i’d get advise from all of you as well. what do you all think? should i go for this? i am so confused esp coz i was originally thinking around 2000…

but i might as well pay the extra 1000 if its a good deal, and if i know the person selling me the car is an older Muslim brother, and also coz i just DONTTTT wanna look anymo :crying:

I haven’t looked at the car yet…actually i dont have my license yet…i am planning to get my license this winter break inshallah…so i’ll ask my friends to just drive it and if they say they think its good then i’ll make istakhara inshallah and go for it…but some of my friends are also not around campus cuz its the break so i’ll only have like three ppl test drive it and i’ll ask them to take it to a mechanic as well…

but i’m really really confused though what should i doooooooooooooooooooooo :crying:

well, nissan makes nice cars, but i think you can get a better caR.

as i said, look into Nissan Maxima. If you fall in love with this car when you see/drive it...call a mechanic to look at it, and ask him how much it would cost to repair the problems...then make up your mind.

the sentra, is very weak , and very small as you'll probably guess. other than that its very dependable, just ask anyone living in pakistan. its one of the top selling cars there.(called sunny in pak)

Don't go for the Sentra Irem : )
Look further, you can get better cars than a Sentra.

before you buy…sentra recalls

i’d personally go for something else, but its her choice…remember..its SMALL!

guys thanks so much for the replies…danggg looks like u guys dont think its a good deall???

i dont mind small..infact i dont want a big car how’ll i manage a big one!! small is better

hskhan - what do u mean by weak yaar??

coconut - why not sentra? is it a bad car? what other cars do u suggest? do u think i should spend more time looking and that this is a bad deal?? :frowning:

guys :crying:

*Originally posted by irem: *
hskhan - what do u mean by weak yaar??

by weak i mean it has no engine. for a student like you, i recommend you get a car with a powerful and dependable engine.

also by weak i mean the workmanship. the quality of the car isnt great. the sentra was made to compete with the civic and corolla, and it failed.

lets see what coconut bhai says.

coconut - why not sentra? is it a bad car? what other cars do u suggest? do u think i should spend more time looking and that this is a bad deal?? :(

You need a car from point A to B, buy a Honda Civic hatchback. Remember that this is your first car, your first license and khuda na khasta you get into an accident all that money is gone. Buy soemthing thats not beaten up but not too expensive either and it should be reliable. It would be better to stick with a small car rather than something bulky. Honda in my experience teaches you the feel of the road.

hskhan and coconut - yup thats the kind of car i am looking for too, reliable and strong engine with good resale value…other ppl recommended honda too, cheegum in my other thread recommended nissan sentra too btw, but the thing is that i havent come across any deals nearby where somebody might be selling a second hand honda..

coco- is the sentra considered bulky? whats a hatchback? and why would i get into an acc. khudanakhasta…is the car that weak?? :eek: :crying:

btw thanks so much guys :slight_smile:

but..sighz…more confused than ever :crying:
irem

this is a civic hatchback 1993 model :

http://photoserver1.trader.ca/autotrader/photos/large/2002/11-08/ded/11-08-02ded05-17.jpeg

you can probably get a 1996 for 5kUS. i recommend this over the 93, as its very desireable, and has a high resale value.

a 96:

http://photoserver1.trader.ca/autotrader/photos/large/2002/12-20/tfx/12-20-02tfx31-08.jpeg

sentra ain’t bulky but its not worth it.
a hatchback is a car which is curved from behind, it looks like a bug from behind.
i didn’t say you would but you’re a new driver : )

hskhan - thanks so much for the pics :):)

Coconut - i see what u r saying...thanks so much for the answers :)

so basically u guys think this car is kind of weak, the engine might die on me soon or start giving me problems, and also i could get a better car in this price...isnt it?

:(

hskhan - thanks so much for the pics :):)

Coconut - i see what u r saying...thanks so much for the answers :)

so basically u guys think this car is kind of weak, the engine might die on me soon or start giving me problems, and also i could get a better car in this price...isnt it?

:(

true.
well, not in THIS price, but if u spend a bit more right now, you'll get peace of mind and a better resale value. go for the civic. you wont be dissapointed.

*Originally posted by hskhan: *

true.
well, not in THIS price, but if u spend a bit more right now, you'll get peace of mind and a better resale value. go for the civic. you wont be dissapointed.

hmm...yaar there's no way i can spend more than 3000 on this...even 3000 is a stretch, my orig budget was 2500 or so...cuz after getting the car there's other stuff like DMV registration and a ton of other expenses...insurance and all too...

so u think in 3000 i could still get a better car than sentra?

not a good deal if AC is not working!!

you will be paying extra to get the problems fixed .. and dont forget .. u have to sell it in the future .. so think about it before you buy the car.

Search in the classifieds .. you might find a better deal!

good luck :k:

thats pretty expensive for a 95 car :p (may be second hand cars r in usa)

Aatif - thats right even the AC is not working :( oh well i guess then i'll leave it...
thanks for the reply :)
waleed - yup thats what someone else told me too :( oh well, thanks for the reply :)

** GUYS, THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE FEEDBACK :flower1: even my friend’s father told me that I shouldn’t get a Nissan and some other ppl told me that its too expensive and then all of you have given me negative feedback about the car so I think

I’ve decided I won’t go for this car. **

But thanks so much again for the help, it was really useful to me :flower1:
When I find some other good deal and if I’m considering buying the car, I’ll post about it here again inshallah.

thanks soooooooooooooooo much :flower1:

:wave:

sure irem .. do post it here .. you will definitely get a good feedback. Seriously that car was not worth it at all!!

Good luck with your search!

Aatif thanks bro :slight_smile:

ju kno wat i emailed the brother and told him i don’t think i’ll get that car anymore and here’s what he wrote…

and now i am wondering if i made the right decision and i am going just :mudhosh: :teary2: :smack: :mudhosh: :crying:

That’s fine sister. I myself had a Honda Civic (new)
before I bought the Sentra, and I found the Sentra a
lot more reliable and the steering was a lot easier.
Honda’s are well known to have the weakest engines
when compared to Toyota or Nissan.

I wish you the best in your first vehicle; that’s
always a drenching decision, especially in light of a
small budget.

HOON MEIN KEE KARAAN :crying:

This soo called “brother” will be a good salesman!

Sentra is a piece of sh*t car .. and that too a 8yr old!! Reliable my a$$. Ask him to throw it at a junk yard!