Re: Should I feel insecure?
I know what you mean. The main reason I let her have her way is bcoz I’m terrified of her drama. She seriously cries like Allah na kare someone died! She goes from room to room yelling out qayamat ki nishani hai beta maa ko nahi poochta and all that crap. It’s seriously torturing to be in that type of a situation every single day. She does this at any chance she gets. Even if he’s inside his room doing whatever, and I’m in the closet (meaning we’re both doing diff things) she’ll come inside the room (of course w/o knocking every time) and say stuff like “han beta, biwi ke saath hi bethoge saara din, maa ke saath bhi beth jao”. It’s gotten to the point that even if I need something from the room and he’s in there doing something, I avoid to go in there so MIL doesn’t say anything!! Of course he doesn’t say anything back to her or corrects her that we’re both doing separate things or my wife came for two minutes to get something or anything but instead he says “ji ammi aata hun”. Like, what kind of response am I supposed to give, if any? Of course I can’t go out with him alone. They have to come along, esp MIL. Even for groceries. And not to mention the 50 extra things she picks up, randomly saying, mere bete ki kamayi and all that…even if the things rot in the house later. She just has to show that she can do anything which I can’t do. Coz hubby won’t let me buy extra stuff saying fazool kharch and she can pick up anything even if it’s not needed or is gonna rot later in the house!
The problem is I don’t know how to beat her at her own games or even think of doing so, for that matter. I just feel like if I ever say anything to her politely or firmly, I won’t have anyone to back me up. Hubby will humiliate me in front of her for saying anything, which will cause me to get more degraded in their eyes.