Should I feel guilty

for thinking of iftar menu items all day after 11 AM?. I mean this is not good. Alli can think of is what I can buy on my way back home. I will stop by the desi store and pick up samosas, pakora, chaat, and may be some jalebi. then I will stop by the regular grocery store and get some fruits and stuff.

Some things never change.

I know, I mean pakoras will be pakoras.

You mean stop by a desi resturant? Since when did the desi store start selling all of the above? I can feel your pain FG. I wish .....

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I know, I mean pakoras will be pakoras.

Iv been making samosas all day.

Should I be feeling guilty because of all the close contact with food while Im fasting.

Re: Should I feel guilty

I just had a conversation with my mom for half an hour on the phone from work on what to make for Iftar tonight. You are not alone. :bummer:

I made 15 samosas yesterday too. Waisay they were supposed to be 30. I bought these long sheets of samosa fillers. I made some qeema filling using Sahar's (pata nahee 02 wali thi yaa ~ wali). Anyway, took the frozen sheets home and thawed them for 30 minutes. Then I cut open the wrapping and followed the instructions and placed it in wet cloth.

OK, now I started separating the sheets and the first couple of them went really well. I used corn starch glue for the last fold. The sheets were disappearing very fast. And when I picked the last one I counted and I had only 15 samosas instead of the promissed 30!. And only then did I realize that I was picking two sheets at a time!!!!! No wonder the samosas looked so moTay and kuuppay.

Anyway, the good part was that double sheets helped while frying. They didn't absorb too much oil.

Mazay kay thai. I ate 8 of them. 7 for tonite.

Re: Re: Should I feel guilty

:hug: (after iftar ofcourse)

Should I be guilty because I have all these half naked girls around me and everywhere I see is one of them :confused:

*Originally posted by mahnoor@lahore: *
You mean stop by a desi resturant? Since when did the desi store start selling all of the above? I can feel your pain FG. I wish .....

Lagta hay aap america may nahee hain :p

Desi stores carry everything from cow feet to Hamdard kaa Soorma. I mean they have calling cards, khajlaa pheni, Taj Cake Rusk (paapay), moti choor kay laddo and also the moTay daanay waalay. I don't liek the ones with almonds. So, yes they have samosay, pakoray, chaat. It's usually home-based small business operated by Aunties that would drop off such items at these stores. So basically, you are getting home cooked food.

Nazr neechi rakh, Naamaaqool insaan. And remember the first look is OK. Just make sure it lasts long enough. :smiley:

FG I made 80 today.Also keeme wale.I think I put too much mirchi in it- but khair.I usually use maida and water mixture to glue them together.And I get the large roties so one of those makes about 3 samose.So far Iv made a few hundred- apparently we're going to have a lot of Iftar parties.Im too tired, but Im thinking I'll make some channe ki chaat today too, along with the pakoray,samosay etc.Goodness Im hungry now.

MQ ( Maulana Qayyum) - I don't like mirchi walay samosay. They should be plain and simple. Qeema, namak, some redi chilli and thats about it. No peas, onions, aloo, shaloo.

No mirchi? Mai toh har khaane mai bohut taiz mirchi dalthi hun.And samosey just arent the same without hari mirchi.

MQ, I figured. People who don't know how to cook usually cover their tasteless dishes with mirchi or oil. :p

Yeah if I recall correctly, your gosht dish was filled with tael and had two kachi hari mirchis sitting on top of it.

:mad: :rocketup:

So not only you are inept at cooking but you have no knowledge of ethnic dishes. That picture you saw was that of Frontier Karrahi. You don’t add ANY oil in karrahi (may be a lil bit to start off). It is the fat from the charbee of lamb. And did you notice harri mirch was WHOLE?. It’s only for flavor and not ‘mirchiness’.

Aajaatay hain aik durjun samosay lapait ker. :hoonh:

Uh oh roza laag ga hai Fg ad MQ ko. :p

FG you brought up oil and mirchis ,and it was my job to remind you what your dish looked like.Ethnic dishes or not, you do admit that it had tons of oil in it and mirchi sitting on top of it, enjoying the view.And btw next time, try to take the charbi off the gosht before you cook it.And how the heck does a whole/kachi mirchi give any flavour.It was just sitting there I tell you.

Who knows what your samosay look like.

hey belle.

MQ, wait til the connoisseurs of ethnically rich foods come and take the charbee off of you for making fun of Frontier karrahi It is supposed to have cherbee.