is it true?
I’m planning to move to canada if this is the case. I’m a chemical engineer and was wondering how easy or hard would it be to move to canada and secure a job there?
obviously i would need some sort of offer before hand.
is it true?
I’m planning to move to canada if this is the case. I’m a chemical engineer and was wondering how easy or hard would it be to move to canada and secure a job there?
obviously i would need some sort of offer before hand.
Re: shortage of workers in canada?
I heard the same thing...i think it is either montreal..or vancouver- they're hiring engineers..and that too with good pay.
any1 else with any info?
not to discourage you, but i am not aware of any "great" prospects in canada for engineers - for chemical engineers, its possibly true for eastern canada - i'm thinking calgary/edmonton (province of alberta) where they have natural resources to work with (oil, diamonds etc) - certainly not true for the big metropolitan cities like toronto...i personally know of 3 engineers (one of them is a chemical engineer) who have been employed on and off, but aren't happy at all - the chemical engineer had to work in sarnia (4 hrs away from toronto)...
my recommendation would be to search first before you decide to move...checkout monster.ca and other web-sites for possible employment opportunities, apply to a few, see what the response is like...perhaps even get something secured before moving...don't move and then look for jobs...it'll be tough finding something unless u r extremely lucky...
^ He is right. Don't buy the hype.
Have a look & decide
Canadian Government is the biggest liar on the earth telling people that there are loads of jobs in Canada.
They always ask for canadian experience.. even thought if they are dying cause of engineer shortage but still they won't hire unless u have a canadian/bristish or american (atleast) experience :(
You'd do yourself a big favor if you can secure that!
DM is right… don’t come with too many expectations… do your research before hand, talk to other people in your field – network with some Pakistani Professional organizations to get a feel for what you’re in for… and be prepared to spend up to a couple of years looking for a job in your area of expertise.
In response to the website that’s been posted by Najim, it’s a good reality check… but at the same time, I am of the opinion that if you are willing to persevere and if you do things right, then sooner or later, you will find what you’re looking for. The problem is with the desi population mindset – why would you not expect to learn the way of life in a new country before you… we know you have a graduate degree, but what’s wrong with attending a few more classes. The country has been munificent enough to have offered you a chance – now what you make of the chance is up to you.
Yes… I’ve seen people with Masters and Ph.D. degrees driving cabs and delivering pizzas… there’s nothing wrong with doing it for a while but if you were to talk to those who are perpetually stuck in it, you might feel sorry for them but also think that they could have tried harder.
Of course you’re going to have to prove yourself here before you can expect to find a good job. I’ve seen many people who have successfully transitioned into gainful employment of their own liking, but in most of these cases, there were a tough couple of years of attending Language & Communication classes, Employment Coaching, Job Networking and Career Planning to overcome any social barriers, and to network with the right people… doing Volunteer work to get an idea of how the workplace here is different than abroad… and struggling in an odd job to make ends meet at the same time. Canada is certainly not a castle in the sky – but for people who have it in them to succeed, can certainly make it !
Dear brother
Asslam olaikum
I believe that every one has right to try for improvement in life and every one has different opinion about improvement.
My experienece about Canada is like a suicide. If u talk a bout shortage of workers? there even is not at all shortage of labourers in big cities.
I graduated accounting from Montreal and believe me i was not even able to find free internship.
As brother Najam advised check www.notcanada.com for a better view about canadian prospects. this is true their are some examples of success in Canada but dear their are also s ome examples of success in Pakistan. So every body should try for better but just don`t plan to migrate canada with a bundlle of expectations.
Do a lot of home work before deciding to migrate Canada.
ALLAH pakistan aur pakistanion ko ess qabal kare keh hum ess hell of snow and hunger jesse countries mein tabbah hone se bach sakein.
ALLAH HAFIZ
Guys I am not from Pakistan
I'm from the United Kingdom, London
I regulalrly see postings for work in Canada in our newspapaers over here, thats why I asked...
I am not going to move to canada without work... that would be foolish..
I will carry on looking, I'm in a job in my chosen field (Oil and Gas) already so there is no panic..I'll just wait till the right time comes.
In the mean time, thanks for your input.
Another thing is most of these people are coming over from Pakistan/India.
Even if these people came to the uk they wouldnt find a job...
Why u want to move to Canada if u have a job in UK ? U will find better job in Pakistan at the moment! If there are other factors for u and ur family to move to Canada thats another case..
The money in Pakistan is not all that great..
The quality of life is also not that great...Whats the point of going to Pakistan if my children will have to go to foreign universities to secure a job in pakistan?
Well rizwan sahab it looks crazy to leave UK for Canada . Secondly my dear may be you did not watch that site carefully. there are many many people from Europe and Australia who faced same problems like us.
Third with due appologize, i after graduating from Canadian universities, believe that w e pakistano students and people are more intelligent and hardworker than natives. If we have same resources in our educational system, w can produce more and more than them.
And Finally, brother if u don`t have enough resources then life is even worst in Uk and Canada than Pakistan. If there is no welfare system in these countries, people cannot survive. Again just the difference of resorces.
so ALLAH BLESS YOU in your plans.
Asslam olaikum.
I kow this is not a proper way to ask any thing t o some one but as i have watched your very positive attitude in rooms, so i am going to call for guidence.
Dear here in Canada some one asked me repeatidly that i have to move Uk as being a canadian citizen i can apply for work authorization in uk , is it possible? some one claims that we can apply for citizenship exchange in Uk??(i guess it is only for EU residents) and can i apply for HSMP on the basis of my previous job and experience which i have left more than three years ago.
I shall appreciate if you can reply and guide me. If u remebr u have already asked me to change the country after citizenship.
my e- mail id is [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
i shall wait for your advice and advise.
Thanks and ALLAH HAFIZ
I guess we are always going to have a mixed opinion
There are those that say life in canada is better than life in the Uk and vice versa.
no there is no shortage of workers in canada! trust me!
There are those that say life in canada is better than life in the Uk and vice versa.
Yes very right.
This is reality that everybody evaluate things with the current circumstances.
so people living in canada evaluate with different ways and in Uk with some other views.
This is very natural that there are various positive and negative factors every where either pakistan uk canada america or elsewhere. we used to see the negative points where tghere we r and positive where we want to migrate. Again the human nature and right to struggle for better.
so we need to make a balance sheet for every step we want to go for.
ALLAH BLESS YOU AND EVERY ONE OF US
AND KEEP IN MIND WE ARE PAKISTANIS.
Thank you very much for your inspired speech
rizwan,
I am presently located in Pakistan (though not for long now as I'd be leave soon), assisting my brother to Establish an IT related business here (he needed my help because of my experience). I was working for a bank in Canada before coming here & stayed in Canada for more than 17 months. During my 17 months stay in Canada what I have realized that
1) Their first priority is Canadian born, Canadian educated, Canadian citizens with related experience.
2) Second priority, Canadian born, Canadian citizen, Canadian educated.
3) third priority, Canadian Citizen (born outside), Canadian educated, Canadian Experience.
4) fourth priority Canadian Citizen, British/American Educated, Canadian experience.
Somewhere in the line .. priority, Asian/British/whatever Immigrant, American/British Educated, American/British Experience.
Then again below in the list .. .. priority, Asian Immigrant, Highly Pakistani educated, American/European Experience
In the bottom (That is rarely reached for the table of Interviewers to call the candidate) .. no priority, Asian Immigrant, Asian Education, Asian Experience.
So unless u have a job in hand, dont even think of moving to Canada.
BTW, I am a British National, and had British/Dutch/Austrian/Belgian/American work experience before moving to Canada for job. I am educated for Degree/Master in UK (and further education for PhD is still in process in Netherlands). Even then I found it difficult for myself to find the positions frequently unlike Europe where head hunters usually ring me almost on daily basis.
Another problem in Canada is ... u are laid off with a 15 minutes notice & u can be out of job. The radiculous thing is ... the same company that laid you off will ring u after few weeks & ask you to rejoin & this can even continue until u get 65.