shopping in Birmingham

Not a regular in Birmingham and needed some help.. Il be visiting this weekend and Im looking to purchase some ready made clothes ideally some pakistani ones formal wear.
Can anyone suggestions any names of shops where I should head to plz? Also If theres a shop in Birmingham that sells unstitched branded clothes ie gul ahmed lakhaani etc?
Any help will be appreciated
Thank you

Re: shopping in Birmingham

Check out Stratford Road. Lots and lots and lots of shops all together.

shopping in Birmingham

Thank u but are there any particular ones that sell pakistani outfits gul ahmed maybe sana safinaz?

no none of the above, there is a Junaid Jamshed on stratford road though i think :/

Yes, there is a shop called Insaf fabrics which sells unstitched branded clothes eg Sana Safinaz/ Lakhany etc, its further down Stratford Rd (opposite direction from main City Centre).

There's a shop right at the other end of slum rock, about 2 miles from the main bit called rewaaj, she sells beautiful Pakistani formals, they are pricey but gorgeous. Don't bother with main alum rock, if u like delicate Pakistani stuff, u ain't getting it from there. The majority of stuff is overpriced tat!

Thank you for your replies ladies

Brummiebird I love the slum rock thought it was a typo hehe.. Do you know what road rewaaj is located on ?

Hi shazzy, it was a typo lol but its true! I'll pm u the address when I got him hun

^ thank you! x

HI Shazzy,
heres the address: 712 Alum Rock Road, Birmingham, West Midlands B8 3PP , Phone:0121 326 0505

They've got a facebook page but they dont seem to upload any pictures of stock , pretty pointless BUT they get all their stuff from the khan variety in Pindi and their stuff is beautiful. My mother got all my wedding stuff from there (many moons ago), all of my bhabis stuff and always gets me a couple of outfits when she goes back to pakistan.
They sell ready made everyday wear, its ok but nothing special. There is a shop a couple of doors up that also sells casuals and i have seen Zunn prints bering sold there.

Birmingham is full of the stuff you see in Asiana magazine, if thats the kinda stuff you like, you'll love it But if you prefer the delicate pakistani stuff I'm afraid you will be disppointed. YOu've got a better chance of finding stuff on Stratford rd then alum rock.
If you want indian stuff head over to Soho rd.

shopping in Birmingham

Brummiebird thank u very message for the information defo not looking for that sort of Asiana indian stuff southall is also perfect for that. i was hoping to get some pakistanis outfits gul ahmed sana safinaz lakhnai etc
I will check the places out and hopefully il be able to find something nice heres hoping. X

shopping in Birmingham

I guess il just stick to stratford road

Alum rock, stratford road and Soho road.

As mentioned above, it’s not that common to find the latest Pakistani designer clothes in Birmingham, there’s mainly all the indian stuff but there’s a shop on Stratford road which has recently opened. Here’s a link to their FB page Facebook

I’ve been there a couple of times and they seemed to have decent stuff, although whatever I liked was sold out :\ Lol

Hi shazzy, how did u get on?

thank you all for your suggestions & help.

Brummiebird my trip to Birmingham was brief. I paid Rewaaj a visit and they certainly have some gorgeous clothes.. I had a look at their formal outfits but nothing caught my eye.
I then popped along to Insaf fabrics this shop it was around 4pm on Saturday and the shop was rammed with people. I really wanted to get some Gul Ahmed winter outfits so I waited patiently for what seemed like ages finally I was served and lets just say this particular woman needed to brush up on her customer service skills. She literally flung the catalogue at me and said take a look and il be back! charming. Anywho I finally picked out some I liked only to be told no don’t have that :(

Everything looks different in the catalogue so when I asked to see the actual suits she wasn’t to pleased to help! Anywho I finally came away from the shop with 4 gul ahmed outfits.

This is the funny bit  I went to the shop with my cousins husband who is an English revert and he wanted to buy his wife an outfit so he tagged along. The lady serving us asked if we were friends or if we were cousins! I felt to say that’s not any of us business but I just chose to ignore her..

I wanted to go to Junaid Jamshed but didn’t get the time  inshallah next time and Birmingham definitely has a lot of indian outfits! And not many Pakistani clothes which is a shame..

Anywho good news I now have some winter outfits yay 

Thanks for updating shazzy, Yaar there are lots of these stupid jahil types in shops here, there was one who asked me last week about my hubby "yeh aap keh Kya lugtai hain", I was like why do u want to know? You'd think that was her key to shut her mouth but she still continued to ask questions, in the end I said if she didn't stop I would complain to the manager!

I haven't been to insaaf but might have to as my mum wants some gul ahmed suits. If u don't mind me asking what sort of prices where they charging? Well done for finding some suits

shopping in Birmingham

Defo jahil they jst dnt know when to shut up nosey..
Their gul ahmed ranged from £30 plus i brought 2 pashmina shawl gul ahmeds they were for £40 i also got a normal khaddar for £30 and this fancy embroidered one for £45 :-) hope this helps. X

Thanks Hun, really appreciate the feedback. I'm going to try and go down next week.

I have to agree with what you said about Insaf fabrics, Shazzyuk. The first time I went in, the lady was extremely rude and also just chucked a catalogue at us and was generally very unhelpful. We were also reluctant to ask her to show us the suits from the catalogue in real because she seemed annoyed whenever we didn't like something - they do look very different in real compared to the pics so what did she expect?! In the pics, they are styled in a certain way, with extra bits and pieces to make them look better obviously..

Anyhow, I got so frustrated that I actually left the shop with nothing, even though I had planned on buying a few Gul Ahmed suits. I assumed maybe we had just come across her on a bad day but obviously that is not the case. Hmm some people really need to brush up on their customer service skills..as soon as they see that the customers want something and their items are in demand, they suddenly become arrogant..