Shoaib woolmer bust-up

The bs news never stops…everyone is trying to earn some money and fame at the expense of our team. Again the question arises why did the officer not bring this up earlier?

Ruckus on the team bus?

Liaison officer claims Shoaib-Woolmer bust-up

Cricinfo staff

November 8, 2006

As if he wasn’t embroiled in enough controversy, yet another has sought out Shoaib Akhtar © AFP

A liaison officer with the Pakistan team during the recent ICC Champions Trophy has made the sensational allegation that Shoaib Akhtar struck Bob Woolmer, the Pakistan coach, after they quarreled over what music should be played on the team bus in Jaipur. The claims have been rubbished by Shoaib, Woolmer and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Colonel Anil Kaul, security-in-charge of the Pakistan team, claimed to Delhi-based channel NDTV that there was more to the sending back of Shoaib than just the doping charges, while also alleging that the fast bowler, facing a two-year ban for doping, misbehaved with girls in a discotheque and caused disturbance at the team hotel.

Kaul said, “These boys were listening to Hindi songs when Bob Woolmer removed an iPod and put on an English song. Shoaib got up and again changed the music, putting on a Hindi song. Woolmer first kept quiet and then started making fun of the song. This was too much for Shoaib who suddenly got up and gave Woolmer a tight slap. Everyone was stunned and quickly intervened.”

The allegations have been vehemently denied by both Shoaib and Woolmer. Shoaib responded to the same channel: “Why would I slap anyone? I have never argued with the coach and neither do I have any thing with Woolmer on which I would argue. There was probably an argument, a difference of opinions but never anything as serious as raising my hand on someone. There is nothing to this, these are all concocted stories. I have a very good relationship with Bob.”

Woolmer confirmed this version and denied that Shoaib was sent back for any reason other than the doping charges. Speaking to Cricinfo, Woolmer said, “The story just isn’t true. I don’t have an iPod and anyway it was a cellphone with music on it. I didn’t have any way of changing the song. We joked about the music but at no stage did Shoaib slap me. We were just having a laugh. He was sent back because of the doping issue and nothing else.”

The PCB are unlikely to let the matter rest here either as both Woolmer and Salim Altaf, director operations PCB, say they will contact the ICC about Kaul’s allegations. Altaf told Cricinfo, “He is employed by the ICC to look after the team. He cannot go around afterwards giving fabricated stories to news channels. Action will be taken and we will take it up with the ICC.”

If action is taken, it is likely that Kaul’s comments about an incident in a discotheque as well as the team hotel, both involving Shoaib, will also be looked at. “Shoaib also misbehaved with some girls in a disco which led to a brawl,” Kaul alleged.

He added, “Shoaib went to the floor where the Indian team was staying and started banging on the doors. He accidently banged on the door of the India coach Greg Chappel and his wife came out. She was dressed in her night clothes and Shoaib made some comments about her. The next morning I was having breakfast with Talat Ali, the Pakistan team manager, when Woolmer stormed in and said even Greg Chappel has complained about Shoaib and strict action must be taken.”

Both incidents have been denied by Shoaib and the PCB. Altaf said that Talat Ali’s report had made no mention of any such incidents.

http://content-aus.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/267267.html

Re: Shoiab woolmer bust-up

Colonel (Anil Kaul) sahab is retired. He cant get fame on battle field now so he just want to get some fame on cricket field and may be earn some money :rolleyes:

This “cricinfo staff” should be sent to gitmo :devil:

Amazing the revelations and stories coming out and making people forget about the dreadful performance of their team.

I think PAK should lodge a complaint with ICC and ICC should punish the concern security personal. There is no need for ICC to investigates in the matter. It is not about the truth or lie, it is about why some one is doing something which is not his job. He was a security personel and should have kept himself to security.

I think in future Pakistan should keep their own security personal in the bus and around their players, and only allow Indians to provide security in broader sense.

Pakistan should also lodge a protest with BCCI.

Typical bogus lobbying against Shoaib.

those are some highly detailed accounts.

if they are fabricated, then the colonel sahib must be a very imaginative individual.

If you read the details minutely, you can see from woolmer’s words that there was something going on. May be kaul is wrong in releasing the details to the media, but that does not in any way reduce the seriousness of the incident. I think that might explain why shoaib got 2 years ban ?

How hard is it to make up such stories? Hell, over half of India can make movies if provided with the budget! It’s not rocket science.

I've just watched Kaul's interview on Aajtak, he was looking very confident and said, this was defintely happened in front of him and he is willing to speak openly coz no one can ingore this. Shoibe also abused indians by saying "bloody indians", he said.

Shoibe also abused indians by saying "bloody indians", he said.

It wasn't Shoaib who said bloody Indian, it was Woolmer. as per aajtak news Woolmer is known for using this term quite frequently and casually.
It is confirmed by other sources that incident took place and there was an arguement and Shoaib "grabbed Woolmer's gareban".
But I don't understand why the cover up by Woolmer?

woolmer has made it clear that it was a cheap publicity stunt by that indian kaul guy....
or kissi ko pata nahin chala or hazrat kaul ko wahee aayi thee keh bus me in dono ka jhagrra huwa....
he was probably never present in the bus to be so sure of what happened....

Look Bob Woolmer is no pushover, and n e self respecting man would never allow some1 to do what the proclaimed col., i always tell people this, they will never be our friends, because they hate us! even in the 2004 euphoria of india Pakistan dosti, i was saying this! they are opportunistic people, and every chance they get, they will do whatever 2 defame Pakistan! this just underscores there hate for us!

Woolmer ko phir sazaa-e-maut denge hum :kursi:

^ not hazrat Kaul…swami jee Kaul sarkar bolo!
aur unko wahee nahee ayee…he read it in woolmer and shoaib janam kundlee !!:smiley:

pehlay SA say ijaazat lo…he is their citizen not a “b***** indian” as Woolmer puts it…
:clown:

Just open Times Now Indian media channel and watch exclusive interview of Shoaib Akhtar, he is saying mera saara career chopat kar diya tum logo ne :hehe:

"The issue is not whether the allegations are true.* It is that Kaul has violated a strict secrecy code which is a must for all match and team officials at any time," Saleem Altaf, the Pakistan Cricket Board's director of cricket operations, said on Thursday.*

Re: Shoaib woolmer bust-up

lol.well i dont know how true all this is,but shoaib is known for his misbehavior.i remember an incident involving shoaib akhtar and mahela jaywardane a few years back in a match in Sharjah where Shoaib lost his temper completely, starting cursing at Mahela and showed him his middle finger,he was actually going to punch him had Wasim Akram not intervened,so you can expect the worst from Shoaib.

Re: Shoaib woolmer bust-up

^ although most of us would like our pace attack to have shoaib back as an option ...but really...with all the stuff about his persona now coming to light, one wonders how much of this was destiny (qadr of Allah) catching up with him...I mean you can push the odds as far as a rock on the edge of a cliff..then it has to fall.....