Shoaib shooting for 100 mph again?

I was hoping to get some thoughts on this topic again. For those of you who watched the recently concluded 4th ODI, you may have noticed that Shoaib bowled the last ball of his third over at a whopping 158.9 kph (thats 98.78 mph). The ball that he bowled just before that was at 152.9 kph (95.0 mph). Was he again shooting for the 100 mph? One interesting twist to this story is that in the last world cup in the match against England, he also chose the last ball of his 3rd over which was clocked at more than 100mph.

I think he's just bowling his heart out this time around unlike the one in the match against England.

Re: Shoaib shooting for 100 mph again?

*Originally posted by Jayzee: *
I was hoping to get some thoughts on this topic again. For those of you who watched the recently concluded 4th ODI, you may have noticed that Shoaib bowled the last ball of his third over at a whopping 158.9 kph (thats 98.78 mph). The ball that he bowled just before that was at 152.9 kph (95.0 mph). Was he again shooting for the 100 mph? One interesting twist to this story is that in the last world cup in the match against England, he also chose the last ball of his 3rd over which was clocked at more than 100mph.

Usually his 2nd & 3rd over are his fastest.

He tries to set himself into rhythem in his first 2 overs and bowls extremely fast from then on.

Its good that he is bowling fast & accurate like Lee.

i dont think he is shooting for it again...its his 3rd and fouth over that are fastest in his spells . He is just a great guys gives his 100 % all the time, and it was just one of those times...
I look at the commentry at cricinfo only to check the speed of Sami and shoaib but they did not mention it there.

yea his 2nd and 3rd overs are fastest:D

Let him shoot, let him shoot, if he can maintain accuracy then why not?

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Let him shoot, let him shoot, if he can maintain accuracy then why not?

Looks like Ehsan bhai is finally a passenger on Rawalpindi Xpress.
Welcome aboard.

Oh BTW - If you didn't watch yesterday's game, he is now known as World Xpress

Because he is the fastest bowler in the world, not just Pindi.

How much money is a one way ticket on the World Xpress to Calcutta?

Wait till Feb2004…wouldn’t that be wonderful?

Can't wait man!

Have they came out with the extact schedule yet? Like dates, day/night fixtures, venues, etc.

** Shoaib shooting for 100 mph again? **

he has gpne mad again.We know what happened whe he tried it last time.It will be better if he concentrate on his line and keep doing what he is doing right now.

isko khujli kyon hoti rehti hai yaar.

Most important thing for him is to keep his line and length. But as long as he's accurate there's no harm in going for 100 mph.

shoaib-e-babi has broken the 100 miles per hour mark 2wice so i don't think he should concentrate on breaking the 100 mph mark but he should concentrate on his line and length.

Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Shoaib shooting for 100 mph again? **

he has gpne mad again.We know what happened whe he tried it last time.It will be better if he concentrate on his line and keep doing what he is doing right now.

isko khujli kyon hoti rehti hai yaar.

Maybe if you watch the match next time, you can say the right thing for once about Shoaib's bowling, he has been dead accurate.

I still thinks he chucks when he strives for red hot pace....No, not all the time, but when he bends in for that 100 mph yorker, his arm bends that little bit....Yep Brett Lee too.

Dont really think he needs all that pace, if he hits the right line and length, and a bt variety, may actually help him in playing longer

Shoaib has a hyperextension problem with his elbow. Going by standard cricket standards he probably chuks even when bowling at normal speeds. But thats not intentional. he was born with it and ICC doesnt have any problems with his bowling action.

*Originally posted by ChthonicPowers: *
Shoaib has a hyperextension problem with his elbow. Going by standard cricket standards he probably chuks even when bowling at normal speeds. But thats not intentional. he was born with it and ICC doesnt have any problems with his bowling action.

Just a comment...In any case the ICC better not have any problems against Shohaib, cause Brett Lee has the same problem and never heard of him being called...

no matter what we say about this man!:k:

hes our World Express:jhanda:
:jhanda:

Its always a sight to behold when Shoaib is trying to bowl so fast... and the best thing is that his speed is backed up by accuracy as well these days, which makes him unplayable most of the time. Lately, he has also allowed his bowling to do most of the talking, which is a very welcome sign.

*Originally posted by Jayzee: *
.. and the best thing is that his speed is backed up by accuracy as well these days, which makes him unplayable most of the time.

Exactly who has been 'playing' him these days? My prediction is that he'll get walloped in NZ and creamed by India in March. The Kiwis are used to better accuracy in the form of Bond. It's easy to spoil Shoaib's line and length in just one over as Sachin proved. His mood too.

But he definitely is a brand name...not a very useful one, but a glamorous one.